We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hostel”
Review of Tribu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tribu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice Hostel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Everything is very clean, the stuff is super friendly (like everyone on holbox) and the place is realy nice. hammacks to chil, a nice kitchen with a eating area on a balcony and bar above with live bands, jam saisons and more stuff. i recomend this place to everyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    81
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
87
121
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Not too far to walk to from the port, this is a beautiful looking hostel with plenty of hammocks to chill out in! Good atmosphere in the bar and the staff are friendly.

Did the whale shark tour from here which was awesome! Only issue was the kitchen opening times; if you had to be up early for the tour or to leave, you can't get into the kitchen to make breakfast!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahNiemiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent five nights at the hostel and felt at home from the first night onwards. Great staff and an awesome house...no almost like a castle. Close to the beach for good morning swims. The staff is helpful with any questions you have and also provides you with whale shark tours etc.
I definitely recommend it:)!

Room Tip: As a backpacker you should definitely go for the dorm. You get to know people but the dorms at Tribu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 17 nights (originally 10) and had the time of the life, met so many amazing people good for socialising. STAFF ARE THE BEST! Rooms very clean, good location, loads of activities each night which are so much fun and help knowing people.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Unlike the most other guest on this hostel, we was a family of five. This is primarily a place for young travelers with a low budget who are looking for new friendships and a nice place to stay when they visit the beautiful Holbox Island.
Despite this was the Tribu hostel a very pleasant experience for us as well. The staff was superfriendly, the common area where nice with hammocks and the place was perfect to take down the speed for a couple of days.
The only problem we had was the room. The room by it self was good enough, but it was extremely hot during the nights and we had great problem with sleeping. There was three fans in the room, but this didnt help too much. When we ordered the room we knowed that there was no aircontidion, so we had expected it, but the warm was worst then we had imagine.

Except this was the Tribu Hostel a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludvig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragoer
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This has got to be one of me and my travelling partner's best experiences - and we've seen quite a few places! The place is one of the only real backpacker places on the island and the design of both rooms andcommon areas is quite unique. They organize whale shark tours with a good company at competitive prices.
I forgot something there and after correspondance through email, they managed to get it back to me safe and sound - to Denmark, of all places. Definitely a must-see-must-stay! When we arrived there weren't rooms available for all of us in the reception, so they offered to open up their cinema to accomodate the entire group. Such flexibility is hard to find elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobiasgress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

If you are visiting Holbox (and you definitely should...because it is amazing) you should be required by international law to stay at Tribu!! Easily one of the better hostels I've ever stayed at (which is quite a few).

-The staff and owners are amaizing, super helpful, and incredibly friendly!
-The location is a few short steps away from the beautiful beach!
-The hostel has a great bar with strong drinks and live music (the place quiets down by 11).. The best public hostel kitchen I've ever seen, open till 11.. An awesome wrap-around dining area.. A cinema.. And most importantly, a legendary hammock area!
- The 10 bed AC dorm is perfect, coldest room in Mexico (in a good way)

Overall.. Tribu gets a 10/10 and my very strong recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#13 of 19 in Holbox Island
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu Hostel

Property: Tribu Hostel
Address: Avenida Pedro Joaquin Coldwell 19 | Lote 6, Holbox Island, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tribu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing