We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good but quite a climb!”

La Parrilla de Juan
Ranked #17 of 98 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a restaurant with a fusion of mexican and argentinian food with the touch of holbox locals . Our atmosphere is very romantic and cozy. It is an exclusive terrace where you can enjoy the sunset . Our specialty is seafood , steaks and vegetarian food.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Pretty good but quite a climb!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Ate at this restaurant when visiting Holbox. There were so many stairs to get up there, it's on the third floor of the building. But once we got there the view was beautiful. You could see the ocean and town. I got the honey shrimp and it was really good. Try the Amaretto Colada, I had never had this drink before but is now one of my favorites...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    48
    21
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quite a climb, but worth the effort.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Juan has put a lot of effort and carino into his restaurant. We have eaten here over the last 8 years and it has always been a very enjoyable experience. Some times as one of the reviews mentioned, the music is not the best, but all you have to do is ask the waiter to change it, and they will be glad to do so. Believe it or not, some great pasta if your a pasta fan, but being from Argentina, meat is the specialty of the house. The salads are great as well as the fish. So you have a chance to meet the taste of all in the group. The view is very special and the drinks and wine are very good. A night that you will enjoy, also, there is never a rush, so go, have a before dinner drink, talk, order, enjoy the meal and a long "sobre mesa" after the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FDG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of our best meals on Holbox.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at La Parilla de Juan. You have to look for it a bit - it's on the third floor of a building (seating is both inside and outside on the rooftop patio) about one block east of the square one the street headed toward the hotel zone. We had lobster risotto and one of the specials of the evening, a seafood lasagna with curry which was exceptional. Prices were right for the atmosphere and menu - a little more upscale menu than most we saw. Climb the stairs and enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank needtotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy music”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Food and location are great. The choice of music is not. Ate one dinner through an entire Macy Gray CD...yuck!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Totally enjoyed my dining experience here. Good food, drinks and Staff. Would recommend everybody visiting Holbox to dine here at least one night. Great balcony seating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy-Days-on-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Parrilla de Juan also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Parrilla de Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing