We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fresh ceviche”
Review of Buena Vista Grill

Buena Vista Grill
Ranked #53 of 97 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super fresh ceviche”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I went here for lunch with my sister. We had a green salat each and shared a large plate of white fish ceviche. It was simply delicious. The salat had fresh and sun matured tomato and avocado. The ceviche was just simple and fresh. Onion, fresh tomato and plenty of coriander and lime. I can definitely recommend this place. Also for families.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DKstudent88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We ate here a couple of times. they do not open till 11am so we stopped and had a very nice meal...Our Waiter was so attentive, I had asked for Coconut water and he actually had someone go get one..and the next 3 times we were there it was available. on our 3rd time. he had it chilled. Now its my new addiction....ham and cheese omelet is good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great place for lunch, close to the beach and they have the best shrimp ceviche. We were hoping to go here for dinner but never made it. Good outdoor seating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find close to the beach”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We found this restaurant by mistake while hiding from the rain and we were not disappointed. The lunch was very fresh and the ceviche was delicious. Try the Banana leaf wrapped filet and the grilled shrimp.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YaronZ772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“From sea to table; you can't get fresher.”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What a find. This was the cheapest of the places we ate at but the food was beyond anything that the exterior might have led you to expect. On our first day we say the local fishermen taking their catch in here so thought that we'd give it a try. It closes at 8pm so a late lunch was called for.

We had Guacamole, very nice, and ceviche, excellent. This was followed by a whole grilled fish for me and a banana leaf wrapped fillet of fish for Marina. My fish was the best I had ever eaten. Served simply grilled and seasoned with pepper and a squeeze of lime it could not have been improved on. Marinas fillet was huge and moist with a hint of chilli and accompanied with a few veggies. We did have a plate of fries but didn't touch them as we were too full.

There was a problem with flies but It didn't take long to figure out that if you put a few bones at the edge of the table they stopped bothering you. Flies are a small problem wherever you eat so please do not think that they were only at this restaurant.

The owners speak no English but we got by really well with a lot of pointing and smiling. I also went behind the bar to choose my beer which didn't seem to phase out anybody.

Our meal plus drinks came to less than $20. Now that's great value!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlyFarly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buena Vista Grill also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Buena Vista Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing