We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location, Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barquito Mawimbi Beach Bar & Restaurant

Barquito Mawimbi Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 93 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Mawimbi which was wonderful but we did not expect that our favorite place to eat would also be ….Mawimbi. There was very little reason to leave the site for food -- you simply could not have a better view or nicer servers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    86
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at Mawimbi 5 days and ate there several times. Always fresh and delicious food. The service was fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank salridge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing beach setting with fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We ate at the Barquito numerous times. The service is terrific! It is adorable - right on the beach - casual and always perfectly clean. The food is fresh and simple. I think we had margaritas or mojitos and guacamole every day! The ceviche was very good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarterWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beach-side bloody marys and shrimp tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed a lunch here after driving by on a quiet Sunday afternoon. Even though the Mexico vs Holland World Cup game was going on, we still had excellent service and great food. Shrimp tacos top the list of our favorites!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NaomiHattaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
““Amazing food. Even better host””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pretty restaurant conveniently . Good breakfast with a pretty good espresso coffee (being Italian I am anal about my espresso!). Not bad either for lunch and or dinner. Free wi-fi highly appreciated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo-tess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barquito Mawimbi Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Barquito Mawimbi Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing