We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great people.”
Review of El Sushi de Holbox

El Sushi de Holbox
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: El Sushi de Holbox is the best asiatic restaurant in the Island. Our starter, fresh tuna tiradito won the first price on the holbox gastronomic awards. The terrace has a wonderful atmosphere as it is hidden from the noise of the street. Come and enjoy of our chefs rolls as sakana roll, niguiris or just a delicious margarita!
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great people.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

In four days of being on Holbox we have eaten here 2 nights . . . that is because, while the selection of sushi is small, it is So Fresh and So Delicious - i keep ordering extra pieces. Other offerings are also worthy - my pal had a lightly seared tuna rolled in sesame seeds and another time the arachera with grilled vegies . . . so there really is something for everyone. The restaurant sits above the street and is very simple yet comfortable. And the people that run the place are just very welcoming, casual and generous - which is to also say that this place isnt overpriced as are many on this island. We really love El Sushi and undoubtedly will go back again during this stay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    56
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, outstanding flavors!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We visited El Sushi de Holbox twice during our stay in the island, both times we were impressed with the quality and flavor of the food we ordered. You definitely need to try the "Sanaka Roll"

We would recommend this place to anyone visiting Holbox!

Helpful?
Thank Guillermo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkland, BC. Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Above and beyond expectations”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great atmosphere and the coldest beer on the island. The food was delicious, but it was so well displayed I didn't want to eat it. Seriously, I took pictures of every dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJRobnoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Delicious food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I went here with a friend during our last night on the island and it was the perfect way to end our trip. The food completely outdid our expectations, as we weren't entirely sure what to expect from a Mexican sushi bar. The seaweed salad was a delicious starter, and the tuna roll was made-to-order and wonderfully fresh. The ambiance was casual but thoughtfully designed and perched on a second-floor covered balcony that overlooks the street. Surrounded by treetops and glowing lanterns, the place has a charming, slightly whimsical feel. The staff were attendant and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. A wonderful last dinner in Holbox!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a chance to visit this cozy restaurant during our visit and enjoy their specialty, they offer a 2 x 1 promotion in Caipiriñas and it's conveniently located a few steps from the main square inside El Pueblito, a unique shopping mall in Holbox. Prices are very reasonable =)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mau-Cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Sushi de Holbox also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Sushi de Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing