We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxed”
Review of Villa los Mangles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa los Mangles
Ranked #2 of 39 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

A beautiful little family run hotel within close walking distance to beach and town. The rooftop room is perfect for couples and has an additional outdoor shower, beautiful view, and private deck. There is no kitchen in the 'palpita del amor' but it has an outdoor sink, plenty of countertops, and a cooler for keeping your beer cold. It is a great place for kiteboarders as it is just a few min walk down to the kitebeach and the host has a small kite school as well so he is great at providing information about wind and beach access etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

Honestly, we enjoyed our 6-day sojourn at Villa Los Mangles so much that it is hard to know where to start. First, the hosts are very welcoming and energizing. The place is small (four rooms only), relax (surrounded by small trees with birds around), and the room is very comfortable. It is about 15 minutes walk from the center of Holbox and it is fun to bike around, for instance to the two extremities of the island. In sum, we had a great experience and if ever we have a chance to return to Holbox, we will definitely try to stay at Villa Los Mangles.

Room Tip: For a romantic experience, choose the Palapita del Amor room. It offers no kitchenette, yet at time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 426Kiwi426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is by far our favorite hotel in Mexico. The family is very kind and we felt right at home. We stayed in the rooftop room, the palapita del amor, and it had amazing views and a private rooftop deck. The room was very affordable and very nice with charming decor. We have nothing but excellent things to say about this place! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here. We got the Palapita del Amor, which is on the roof and has its own private terrace. The room was simple but nice, with a large shower, espresso/coffee machine, and nice linens. The bed was a little small for two people, but comfortable. They even provided after sun gel, which was much needed. The owners are very nice and friendly, and live on the premises but that is not a problem. The private terrace we had was large and great for sun and moon bathing, with a view of the beach and surrounding trees. We also saw lots of stars and fireflies at night. The place is not on the beach, but it is a 2 minute walk to get to the beach. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MV M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at los Mangles for seven days in June and had a great time. Antoine and his family were great hosts and the apartment was more than we could have hoped for, very clean and comfortable. I would highly recomend anyone looking to visist Holbox stay at Los Mangles.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were very lucky to discover this lovely establishment. My husband and two sons, ages 9 and 13, and I stayed here for a week -- my husband and I in Harmony 1, with a fully stocked kitchen and living area, and our sons in the Friendship room next door. It was lovely to be close, but still maintain some privacy, and the kitchen allowed us to have some meals at home. Villa los Mangles is a beautiful, clean establishment, and our innkeepers, Antoine and Liliana, have become our friends. They patiently and enthusiastically answered all of our questions, arranged a boat tour and golf cart rental for us, and Liliana even graciously gave us half her day to shop with us and teach us to prepare delicious guacamole, pico de gallo, and green salsa in our room. Delicious! Her good relations with the resort just down the road, Villa de Paraiso, allowed us to use their gorgeous pool one afternoon for the price of a few beers and snacks. The beach is just a few minutes down the road, and town center is a 10 minute walk or so. If you've not been to Holbox before, I recommend you bring plenty of bug spray, sun lotion, and a flashlight for walking at night. Our hosts provided everything else we needed, from a thermometer when my son was feeling ill one day, to excellent advice for great food, dependable pharmacist assistance, internet access, and affordable transportation back to Cancun. I feel we not only found a great place to stay, but also found friends to welcome us in this corner of the world.

Room Tip: Our Harmony apartment had ac available. We only used it one day when my son was feeling ill, because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you guys for the very nice review, it was very nice to meet you. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in our place and wish that you would come back soon, you still have to do the whale shark tour and we need to see if you have practised with the guacamole and the other salsas, next time you prepare it :)
Hugs Antoine Lili Vale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My and friends and I stayed at Villa los Mangles for two nights. We had found the place online, and booked it due to good reviews and very appealing price. Even before arrival, the owner was very helpful with all the questions I had and he organized the whale shark tour for us (the reason of visiting the island of Holbox).
At arrival we were shown to our room, called AMISTAD, it had three single beds, perfect for friends travelling together. The room was furnished nicely, and everything looked pretty new. The bathroom was clean and well appointed with nice organic amenities. There is no A/C in the room but that didn't bother us because with the windows open and the fan running it was very comfortable. Outside the room was a little table overlooking the garden and a hammock to relax. The garden was well maintained.
I also had a look at the other rooms, two little apartments with kitchenette and living room area, TV, bedroom and A/C - called ARMONIA, The last room was on the second floor, with a fabulous huge terrace, with outside bar area, overlooking the ocean and a smaller bedroom with a tiki roof - really mexican - that one was called AMOR. All rooms are really nice, and I wouldn't mind staying in any of them, but for next time I am planing in going back there with my husband and I would take the upstairs room with the large terrace.
The place is like two blocks from the beach, and about 10 minutes walk to the center of Holbox, really good location.
The only thing I would have liked was - a little more water pressure in the shower (but that is Mexico in general) and some breakfast in the morning in that beautiful garden. Unfortunately they don't offer breakfast, but than again, they are not a hotel.
All in all we really enjoyed our time there and will certainly return the next time we visit the quaint little island of Holbox.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellalinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Hola thank you very much for your positive review! It makes us very happy to read that you want to come back with your husband, the Palapita del Amor and its terrace would be ideal for you.
Hasta pronto. Antoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Pueblito
Hotel El Pueblito
#14 of 20 in Holbox Island
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#13 of 20 in Holbox Island
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa los Mangles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa los Mangles

Address: Calle Pampano, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa los Mangles is located on the quietest area of the Island, at only 1 block from the beach and just 10 minutes walking distance from town centre. Ideal for young or middle-age couples. There are 2 apartments with kitchen, living room and bedroom, 1 Studio with kitchen, 1 double room with 2 single beds + kitchenette and 1 double room with terrace and an amazing 360° view over the Island and the sea. Please contact us also to arrange transfer to the island. Here you can book fishing trips, boat excursions, horseback riding, snorkeling with whale sharks tours (15 may-15 sept.), Kiteboarding lessons and golf car/bikes rental. The little inn is family run and the most important feature of the service is the personal treat, to make you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa los Mangles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing