We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the wait and the cost!”

Raices Beach Club and Marina
Ranked #18 of 98 Restaurants in Holbox Island
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait and the cost!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant during our stay in Holbox Island. Unfortunately we did not have a very good experience as the food really took very long to arrive and once it did, the "parrillada de mariscos" we had ordered contained very little shrimp and octopus and was instead filled with rice and salad. The fish had an abusive amount of garlic and the taste was awful. The worst part was when we got the check since the cost of the food was not really worth it and on top, they charged a ridiculous amount for a guacamole plate that they initially had offered to compensate for the long wait for the main course.

Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    76
    34
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
247 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A simple, on the beach Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Raices is a "true" beach front restaurant. It is located on the beach, on the beach front road about 250 meters from the Centro square. Look for the sign, noting "slow cooked food", which is cooked over a wood fire. You will be sitting at plastic tables, and you will have choices offered on a menu, but we asked for whole fish broiled on the open grill. We were offered choices of grouper, corbina, red snapper, or Chilean sea bass. The preparation we had was "achiote", which is a local Yucatan fruit which has been dried into blocks of rich, unique flavor, and the reconstituted into a thick, red paste and served on your choice of whole fish. Wonderful, and very different.

I have eaten at a few small Mexican beach front restaurants, some are good some are just OK, but Raices is excellent. If you're in Holbox don't pass it bye.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor portions”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

After a nice day in the beach, we decided to stop and grab a bite at Raices, they are nooot joking when they say "slow food"!!!
The what I asume is the manager/owner cleand a table for us and gave us the menu, of course you are expecting over priced food, but you are right there at the beach! For starters they didn't have the shrimps that I wanted, but he sugested shrimp tacos, and it sounded ok, my couple ordered fish tacos. It took a long time to finally get the food. When it arrived, the plates where awfully presented, not even a tinny slice of organge to garnish it uo, portions where to small and on top when whe got the check, 10% tip was included. Don't get me wrong, Im a good tipper, usually 12-15%, but I just don't think its appropiate to make in mandatory.
I wouldn't recomend this place at all!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank fergusParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slocan, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“From the Ocean to your Plate!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I love this place because the seafood is fresh daily!! They call it the "Slow Food Restaurant" because everything is cooked on on a wood burning grill and it takes a little longer then most restaurants, but it's worth the wait! if your really hungry have a ceviche or guacamole while you wait for your main meal. The whole fish is a must!!!
You can't beat the location, it's on the beach, and is the best sunset spot on the island!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Still.....a favoriate in Hol Box”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Low key restaurant/bar on oceanfront. Great place to hang out and have a few ice cold beers. The second visit to Raices for pescado frito (for 2) and beer; the third visit for shrimp ceviche and, of course, more beer. Ceviche was good but the onions and tomatoes need to be diced into smaller pieces. Friendly staff and can't beat the view especially at sunset. Moderate prices on food/drinks. A lot of locals come here to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raices Beach Club and Marina also viewed

 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Raices Beach Club and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing