We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We decided to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol
Ranked #1 of 34 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We decided to stay longer”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is our first time back to hotbox in 5 years. The island has changed dramatically. There are much more restaurants, hotels, and organized tourist operations. It is still very quaint and relaxing but it is easier to navigate, especially with a 5 year old.
Palapas del sol is lovely. The staff, Topo and Estella a amazing and treat you as family. Adriana will go out of her way to make you feel welcome. The open kitchen and large covered table for communal meals is amazing. Yesterday we went fishing and caught dinner for all. Topo Prepared the fish and Estella cook us a variety of dishes.
I would recommend eating meals that Estella prepares. She posts a menu for the day and for a little extra money you can have a fantastic meal. You can purchase beer and add it to the refrigerator. It is an amazing system.
The rooms are perfect. We stayed in a king sized bed with large patio facing the sea. There are ceiling fans and air conditioning which is perfect to put a 5 year old to bed in. There are Mosquitos at sun rise and sun set so be prepared with spray or lotions. Adriana supplied us with both. There seems to be a supply at the kitchen and eating area.
Adriana and Topo arranged our boat trip yesterday. We went fishing, snorkeling, and site seeing. A great day. I will place a review in trip advisor. Louis at toursticamoguel was awesome.
Topi and Estella have a little boy as well that was perfect for our 5 year old to play with. We have had such a great time that we are staying another night even though we have a hotel in cancun already paid for.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the sea. We liked the front ground floor as it has a large outdoor seating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you very much for your helpful and positive review! We are looking forward to receive you and your family again this summer, as we are striving to improve our installations everyday with dedication and great pleasure. Come back soon, as your paradise is waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    33
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
115
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nunhem, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

the people and the suroundings of this hotel makes that you never want to go home again...
thy make you feel at home frome the first second you arrive untill the day you leave...
you forget about time and all the worries you might have disappear into the turqoois blue ocean.
breakfast is great and the vieuw you have while enjoying it cannot get any better.
pelicans diving for fish,seagulls and even dolphins..
a dream come true.
so much relaxing that we even missed our plane :)

we left with tears in our eyes,love in our hearts and deep respect for the owners of palapas del sol.

thankyou for our super holiday

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianafromHolbox, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks so much for the review, and it was wonderful to have you both at Palapas del Sol, we try to make everybody feel at home, so you can truly enjoy a carefree and relaxing holiday. Hugs from Samuel, Estela and Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My boyfriend and I met Adriana (the owner) on the ferry over to Holbox. A snafu with our reservation at another nearby hotel left us without a room for our first night. We walked over to Palapas del Sol and were welcomed with open arms--quite literally--by our new friend. Adriana, Tomo and Estella were gracious and wonderful hosts. The room was large and clean with a gorgeous, unobstructed view of the ocean and a perfect hammock to watch the sunset. Estela cooked us a delicious Mexican breakfast that we enjoyed family-style with the other guests. The location is great--removed from the more populated part of the beach near town but close enough to town to walk to the restaurants and shops. It truly felt like we were staying in the guest room at our friend's home. If only our other friends had home's in such beautiful locations!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachSeekerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianafromHolbox, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you so much guys for this sweet and inspiring review. As Samuel (Topo) Estela and myself have begun this little hotelito just recently, we sure can use this review and hopefully will help to get the right people to the right places on the wonderful island of Holbox! We look forward to receive you again, hopefully soon and hopefully for a longer stay! The best comment you could have made was: don't change anything, all is perfect! That comment is still singing to me every morning since you've found your home of your newly found friends here on Isla Holbox!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This lovely hotelito has privacy and quiet within a walk to the center. You can fall asleep listening to the waves and wake up to a delicious Mexican breakfast, something different everyday. Estela is a wonderful cook, and Samuel can help arrange tours and/or transportation.

We love this island and especially this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachGirlNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianafromHolbox, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, our very first on Tripadvisor! We, Samuel, Estela and myself look forward to receive you again in our little hotelito on the wonderful beach of Isla Holbox. Samuel and Estela have been living in Palapas del Sol for over twelve years now, and last year expressed their wishes to turn our house into a hotel, since they love to receive guests and make them feel at home. They take care of every little detail, with a lot of dedication and great pleasure, and I (Adriana) couldn't have wished for better people to have come into my life. Samuel and Estella are co-owners of this hotelito, and we're all excited that guests as yourself feel at home away from home! Thanks again and greetings from paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
976 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol

Property: Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol
Address: Paseo Kuka | Playa Norte, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol is an ocean front beach hotel intimate and quiet with 16 rooms. All rooms have air-conditioning, private entrances, bathrooms and balconies or terraces with hammocks and seating area. A relaxed beach retreat for barefoot island living. Authentic and genuine Mayan hosts with the intention to make you feel at home At Palapas del Sol and in the restaurant the freshest local ingredients available on the island are used to serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. A beach front pool, beach palapas with hammocks and king size beach beds invite you to enjoy this so privileged spot. We happily assist our guests with transfers, tours, spa and beauty services, romantic dinners on the beach, honeymoon suite available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing