We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Pizza”

Cariocas Pizzas Holbox
Ranked #27 of 97 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Italian Pizza”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

You summed it up, good real pizza, at a good price, we ate here like 3 times in 3 days (10days on the island). The wine deal at the time was great. Really enjoyed it if yourve had your fair share of tacos. Enjoy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    56
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Behind the Pine Curtain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Pizza We Have Ever Had”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is some of the best pizza we have ever had and we have had a lot of pizza. We were surprised that we could make that statement about a pizza place on a remote Mexican island. While on the island, we at at Los Peleones, El Chapulim, Viva Zapata, and La Parrilla Juan. Those are all a little more upscale than this place. They are all a little more expensive and haute cuisine. This is just a PERFECT pizza, italian place. No special drinks, just great pizza and pasta. It is run by a husband and wife. Their two little girls are also always present. They do their best to make you feel at home. The service is wonderful. This is the only place we ate at twice during our week stay. The lobster pizza was great as was the ham and pineapple. We also had the arrabula pasta, which was perfectly al dente, spicy and garlicy. It is slightly off the beaten path, but do yourself a favor and EAT HERE !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Holbox Quintana Roo
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“HANDS DOWN the best Pizza on Isla Holbox!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I've lived on Holbox for 13 years and have obviously tried ALL the Pizza offerings on Holbox. Cariocas is the BEST! Thin Crust, Real Mozarella Cheese, Generous toppings, & Great prices.

Some of the other Pizza Joints on Holbox are living on their reputations, not naming any names.

The Owners of Cariocas are REAL ITALIANS. Also to mention their Salads & Pastas are SUPER Good as well. IF, you like eating Pizza& not alot of Dough THIS IS the place. Staff helpful & friendly! Their nightly Specials are worth checking out. GO, you'll be hooked!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whale Shark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza i had in mexico!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We ate here on our first night in holbox and we were not disappointed! Our waiter was friendly and full of information. We shared the Capris salad to start which was big and very fresh, the only thing that would have improved this dish would have been some pesto. We both had a pizza as our main. They were delicious!! Thin crispy base, beautiful sauce and the right amount of topping. The best pizza i had in a long time. This place is a must when visiting Holbox.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tessamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was the first meal we could hardly wait but was not impressed it was quite tasteless simply pizza crust with cheese and some lobster. Expensive $40 pizza. Worth a try but nothing to write home about

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cariocas Pizzas Holbox also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Cariocas Pizzas Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing