We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Beach House”
other travellers have booked this property
House exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House exterior
Beach Front Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
House exterior
Beach
Front Beach
King Size Bed Sleeps 2
Outside Private Pool
Kitchen View
Queen Size Beds
Bathroom
outside
Beach
House view from the beach
outside 1
living room
Nice View
Kitchen view
bedroom view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Holbox Island, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kern22101
D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Overpriced and singy”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
7
people found this review helpful

My family of 6 rented Puerta Azul in December 2017 based on positive reviews and were very disappointed. The photos are lovely but they appear to have been taken a long time ago. Since those photos, the house has fallen into disrepair. Is it uninhabitable? No. If you get it for very little money, it's fine. But it's advertised as a, "beautiful beach house," and is rather sad.

There was trash on the beach,
there were weeds around the pool,
the exterior paint was peeling off in big chunks,
there was very little hot water (and none in the kitchen),
the refrigerator is falling apart,
the kitchen counter has no grout,
the sink area was dirty especially behind the faucet,
the windows were all so dirty that it was like looking through a fog,
there was dust on some of the appliances,
parts of bathroom and bedroom walls need to be patched and repainted,
the fans were dusty,
there are enormous cobwebs under the master bathroom sink,
all of the faucets need replacing,
and the couch is filthy.

Furthermore, the house is quite remote and requires a walk-through and some arrival instructions neither of which we got so we were effectively stranded until the cleaning lady called us a taxi..

We ended up leaving 2 days early.

Holbox is a lovely island and there seem to be lots of nice places to stay however this is not one of them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2018
Sorry you didnt like it..thank you for youre comments.
Holbox is not for every one...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisDCol...
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Beach House”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in July 2017 with my family. This is a great beach house for a family or couples.
It is clean, nicely decorated and has an ideal beachfront location. The patio and yard and pool are wonderful - comes with 1-3 yard iguanas :) Kids can play in the pool all day or walk over and swim in the ocean. All three bedrooms are spacious and comfy. The kitchen was very good, no oven, but everything else you need to cook great meals during your stay.
Just a short, easy walk to town (a mile). Even closer to Punta Cocos.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hae-Lin C
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in paradise”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect location - family friendly - amazing beach house with private pool

We just spent a week in this incredibly amazing house on this wonderful island. I have no words for how beautiful, relaxed and paradise like Isla Holbox is. Upon our arrival from the ferry, Jesus' assistant Pedro picked us up and not only drove us to the house, he even recommended places in town to us and made several pit stops so we could buy some basic things like water, milk and cereal on the way home. We (a family of four) were staying at the house with another family of four.

The house is absolutely gorgeous, not right in the center, therefore very chill, right by the beach, very spacious (esp. the bedrooms!) and well equipped. Everyday, someone would come and clean the pool, bring fresh water and the kind and nice Vicky would come to clean. We even hired her aunt one night to cook us food (breaded fish, salad, rice, ceviche, beans and homemade tortillas - absolutely delicious!) and one night we hired her sister to babysit, which the kids loved. We rented bikes on our first day and explored the island on bike, which is the best way to do it.

The best beach of the island, Punta Coco is just a 5 mins bike ride away, as well as the town center to the other side, which is also just a 5 mins bike ride away.

I cannot recommend a stay on the island more and you will have the best experience in this house, which is one of the few houses right by the beach, a little off the beaten path (meaning not surrounded by hotels) with a bunch of great amenities. I cannot wait to go back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks for your review we hope to have you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krisbill2...
Merrimac, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Private, Perfect”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This residence is a real gem, and provided everything that we wanted out of our Holbox vacation. This property is the furthest out from town center (headed west), yet is only a leisurely and lovely 20 minute beach walk to all the local restaurants. It was wonderfully quiet and private. The home is surrounded by a fence, beach wall and gate, making it even more private. You have the beach in front of the house all to yourself, with a palapa for shade and comfortable beach loungers. The home is spacious, the bedrooms are comfortable, there are plenty of bathrooms, and the outdoor patio and eating area provide even more space to spread out and relax. The kitchen was well appointed. It was wonderful to be able to eat a leisurely and simple breakfast "at home", fix our own guacamole (served with fresh tortillas purchased in town) and margaritas in the afternoon, and then walk in to town for an early dinner. Victoria arrived daily to clean, Freddy was immediately available if we needed anything, and Jesus was always only a phone call away to take care of absolutely anything that we needed. We felt very pampered! If privacy, space, comfort and beauty is what you're looking for on Holbox Island, please consider this special property!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2017
We really happy that you enjoy your staying

hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid S
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house was in a perfect location, on a quiet beach with a 20 minute,leisurely walk to town.The view was spectacular with pelicans on posts and iguanas roaming freely about the property and on the beach. There were plenty of shells to collect and the water itself was a pleasant temperature.
There were 6 adults staying in the house and all of the 3 bedrooms were very spacious and comfortable. Each bedroom was air conditioned as well as having a ceiling fan and a patio door which allowed the sea breezes in.Also all of the bedrooms had their own bathroom with a shower, although there was not always hot water but that was a small inconvenience.
The kitchen was a good size with a full size fridge, microwave, toaster oven, 4 burner gas stove top,blender and coffee maker. There was also a ceramic water dispenser that can be filled with bottled water.The kitchen could however use more utensils, serving bowls ,frying pans and wine glasses. Also a couple more bar stools would be handy.
The living room was small with a couch and a television, but we never did use this room. There was also a bathroom in the living room which was handy when you were sitting outside.
Outside there is a small pool which worked very well for jumping in after being in the ocean. The outside couch was very comfortable but there were only 2 lounge chairs and 3 plastic chairs if you were not wanting to sit under the canopy. I would suggest to having a few more outside chairs to be available.
There is also an outside dining table that seated all 6 of us very comfortable. It would have been perfect if the fan worked(the electrical was there but the fan only had 2 blades) and there was netting around the area to keep the mosquitoes away which seemed worse in the morning.We took Thermacells with us which seemed to work in the evening hours at keeping the bugs away.
The grill outside looked a little worse for wear but the guys just covered it in tin foil and our fresh fish dinner was delicious.
We would all definitely come back to the house again although it does need a little TLC and the only issue we really had was not always having the bottled water to refill the water dispenser.
Victoria looked after the cleaning and did a great job and she was available to cook us an authentic Mexican meal which we all truly appreciated. Freddy was also awesome and did his best to help us with whatever we needed.
If you are taking a golf cart taxi, which are plentiful and reasonable ,50 pesos, back to the house, tell them you are going to Chi May casa blanco or Casa de Jesus, it will save some confusion.
Just writing this makes me want to go back already. Book and enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the bedrooms.
Liked least: The fact that we didn't always have the bottled water
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
We appreciate your feed back we will definitely take care about all you comments to improve.

thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T
Troutman, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

From my initial contact about this property, I was extremely impressed with the service I received but will get to that later! The house is in a great location if you're seeking peace and quiet away from what is considered the more 'crowded' area of Holbox. It's just far enough away from Centro to feel remote but close enough to walk if you don't have a golf cart/bicycle. The house is kept immaculately clean and Jesus is available to help whenever you need something (such as scheduling massages at home!) The house has 3 bedrooms which was perfect for our group of 5.Each bedroom has it's own bathroom and there's also another bathroom off the living room. Bedrooms are spacious, offer plenty of room, and the AC units work great!. The living room was a little on the small side but it wasn't an issue since we spent our time outside. While the only cooking we did was preparing guacamole, the kitchen was sizeable enough to be comfortable enough for meal prep. There are only 2 barstools in the kitchen but plenty of space to dine outside on the patio.

The only negatives I can offer on this property would be: (1) lack of beach towels. The house sleeps 10 yet we only had 4 beach towels. (2) Bath towels could be changed out during the week and also would have been nice to have wash cloths and more hand towels. (3) Hot water seemed virtually non-existent after one person showered but it was hot enough outside that a cool shower seemed nice.

The house itself needs a bit of TLC but overall we had a great stay & found it to be in good working order. We did have to shorten our stay a day because of damage that previous tenants had done to the house but Jesus went above & beyond to secure us rooms at another hotel on the island which was a minor miracle since it was Christmas and everywhere was full. Again, Jesus was available whenever we needed him to answer questions or provide anything we needed. From the initial contact, he was always very prompt with responses and that didn't change once we got there. I can't say enough good things about his ability to provide a great experience! Freddy did a great job as well!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: house needs a bit of TLC
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Amy thanks for your feed back we will work on this points to improve experiencies on our future guests
hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina T
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - especially if you want privacy”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this house ! For 3 couples the setup was very spacious - especially the size of the bedrooms. The veranda with the view and immediate acces to the ocean is simply fantastic. The only downside is the distance to the centre of the island - you need a golf cart ( or bikes ); no problem ( and even fun ) but a golf cart is not cheap ( 1000 pesos per day ) so you need to add this to your rental sum. Transportation and the excursion to the whale sharks was arranged by Holbox adventures - very smooth and easy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing