We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Octopus to die for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosa Mexicano

Rosa Mexicano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Octopus to die for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The grilled octopus was excellent!! The chicken mole was dry & you couldn't even taste the goat cheese filling. Chocolate tamale dessert was it die for!! Waiter brought us a mexican coffee we didn't order, 95 pesos added to our bill. The mixed drinks are super expensive!! Drink before you go!! Overall good experience, would go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    103
    40
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere.......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went here for dinner only because my traveling companion said it was the second best restaurant on Holbox and we simply had to try it. So try it we did. Unfortunately, we were both very disappointed.

The guacamole to start was good. However the mains were both confusing and disappointing. I had the Mixed Grill comprising tenderloin, shrimp, squid and scallops. What I was expecting was a dish of grilled tenderloin, shrimp, squid and scallops. What I got was about five strips of tenderloin upon a bed rice. What happened to the seafood I asked myself? Then I realized that if I approached the rice with much care, I could see minuscule bits of shrimp and squid. It was hard to say what type of seafood the bits were as firstly, they were too small to differentiate between them and secondly, the flavor of any seafood was drowned by the thick flavored sauce comprising the rice.

My companions dish was the tostadas which easily looked liked it could if come out of any contemporary European cafe. Shame it didn't taste like it. Isn't a tostadas dish supposed to be served with a tortilla? This one didn't. Very confusing.

Lastly, I ordered a piña colada. This was the worst piña colada that I've ever had. Actually it's insulting to the customer to even misleading to even call it one.

In summary, a substandard meal which is expensive by Mexican standards. Much better more local places to have dinner which don't reek of a 'tourist trap' that this did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hoppy_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great location just on the south side of the square. Outdoor dining table. Menu was a bit Mexican fusion with an 80s American twist (e.g. Coconut shrimp). Some of the elements - sauces and rice - tasted boxed, not fresh. Overall the food was okay, but there are much better places, so I'm surprised this ranks so high.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaPintaStaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Fusion Food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at Rosa Mexicano in Holbox. They have very interesting items on their menu. The service was prompt. The food delicious. The ceviche was yummy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarloLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We ate lunch and dinner here during our week in Holbox. Both meals were excellent with attentive and friendly service. Highly recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosa Mexicano also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rosa Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing