We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Paradise”
Review of Amaite Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaite Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beach Paradise”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Eduardo and the rest of the staff were friendly and hospitable. The location was perfection, on a beautiful and well maintained slice of the beach yet right at the end of the main road to town. The breakfast of fruit with toast and jam was a light but delicious way to start your morning and drifting back to sleep in a hammock on the beach was a perfect way to continue it! The beds were a little hard but the rooms were clean and well kept. A great value for the money and a wonderful stay on this delightful island!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyho8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    63
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
114
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I recently spent 18 days at Amaite Hotel and Spa on Isla Holbox, Mexico. For the past nine years we have visited this beautiful island and always have enjoyed our stay. This is not Cancun--no high rise hotels or late night parties (except for Mardi Gras). This is a beautiful island with sand roads and golf cart taxi cabs and this lovely hotel right on the beach. Entertainment includes: watching fisherman repair nets: local baseball games (every other Sunday); long, long walks on the sandbar and watching beautiful sunsets every evening.

Our stay was even more wonderful by the manager, Eduardo and the staff that did all they could to introduce us to even more of the island. The hotel is clean and located close to town and on the playa.

We started each day with a wonderful breakfast of homemade toast and a fruit tray of tropical treasures and coffee. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. I gave the hotel a four instead of a five because our friends who also stayed there complained that their beds were hard. Ours were fine and I think they are about to change the mattresses on the other beds.

I totally recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend time on a beautiful, peaceful island with wonderful friendly people.

Cathy Butler 123

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. Suites on first floor have two bedrooms and living room and kitchen area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyButler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was my ninth visit to Holbox, but my first stay at Amaite and I highly recommend it. The hotel is recently refurbished and has 5 suites on the ground floor and ten rooms of various configurations on the second floor. We stayed in a double room on the second floor. All rooms face the water. Second floor rooms have balconies facing the gulf for wonderful views. The beach is pristine and well-kept with plenty of sun and shade and comfortable lounge chairs and hammocks. There is a good restaurant on site and the hotel is very convenient to the town and all the other restaurant options there. Finally, the staff is outstanding, everyone friendly and helpful. Edourado, the manager, was terrific in welcoming us and offering advice and arranging tours. We were very pleased and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting this wonderful island. We return to Holbox because it is a quiet peaceful island, a combination fishing village and resort community. You don't feel isolated here from the community, but immersed in it. It is a low key place, perfect for tranquil relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luciledb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our third visit Holbox and the Amaite Hotel (formerly Faro Viejo) in 10 years. The hotel is significantly improved. It is in a great location at the end of the main road and is right on the beach, close to all of the restaurants.

The hotel is well run. The staff was great, especially the manager, Eduardo, who was quite helpful with local information. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which was magnificent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calerobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Amaite hotel Feb.13 to 17 2014.
The location in great - all rooms are facing the ocean. Service is great - hotel staff are nice and helpful.
The rooms are big and clean, the private beach is awesome.
The manager of the hotel is here all the time and very helpful with everything - his name is Eduardo.
The food in the restaurant in wonderful and very fresh.

Best hotel to relax during the day, and go out and about during the night!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdiGeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived by ferry at the island of Holbox after dark. We were transported to the Amaite' by golf cart which was a new experience for us. Upon arrival at the Amaite' Hotel & Spa, we received a very warm welcome from Eduardo and staff. (Eduardo was a treat to interact with our entire stay - ALWAYS a welcoming smile on his face). He showed us to our upstairs room complete with a/c, and a charming rustic decor. We were not aware of the beautiful view through the balcony door and huge window until the following morning. There in front of us was the beach and ocean just 100 feet or so away. A view we never tired of our entire stay.
The breakfasts in their resturant were a real highlight of our vacation on Holbox. Although the sights and views on Holbox were truly as pretty and beautiful as any we've seen, our time gathered around the breakfast table over coffee, tasty breads, conversation and the views across the beautiful beach and the ocean were times that were as good as they could get !!!!!!!!!!. What a treat !!!!!
We very much recommend the Amaite' Hotel & Spa and look forward to returning to this facility again in the near future.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room. You never get tired of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times, and have always found it to be a wonderful experience. It has become my "home" on Isla Holbox. The location, right on the white sand beach, and only a few blocks from the central square makes it the most convenient hotel on the island. The staff are always very friendly, and helpful, quick to respond should any problems arise. The rooms are clean, with adequate space, a balcony--and the newly renovated bathrooms are lovely. The beach is well kept, with comfortable chaise lounge chairs and hammocks. An all around excellent, quiet, beach vacation spot. On this trip I traveled with four family members who were on Holbox for the first time. All of them can't wait to return to the island, and to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaite Hotel & Spa

Property: Amaite Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Benito Juarez Playa s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Faro Viejo Hotel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaite Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbox beach Amaite Hotel graciously stands on the seashore of one Mexico's most beautiful and uncrowded islands, an oasis for travelers who enjoy comfort and the natural beauty of a destination unknown so far by most people. Holbox Island's bird watching, fishing and fine sand beaches will delight you while staying at Faro Viejo Hotel, our comfortable accommodations include double and triple rooms, with air conditioning or fans, and air-conditioned suites and flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amaite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Viejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing