We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We loved Holbox, and CasaSandra was one of the reasons why. The structure is small, quite intimate and perfectly designed to suit the needs of the guests without altering the landscape of the island. We spent a week there, and loved it: our room was enchanting, even without tv, wi-fi or phone. Beach just in front, beautiful pool, the kindest, most sympathetic crew we ever met. And the food: spectacular in an island where the food is generally good. We'd love to go back, soon...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest: Your comment is much appreciated. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the premises of CasaSandra and love learning you will be back, we look forward to serving you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    83
    37
    24
    15
See reviews for
87
232
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Friendly faces, charming service. A restful experience. Food is fantastic and views breathtaking. Massages are nurturing and healing! The mosquitos here are dreadful, bring an effective repellant and remedies!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellastorm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for your review, we love that you loved it. Mosquitos can in fact be a bit of annoying specially during the rainy season, nothing repellent cant take care of. Hope to have you back in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Casa Sandra in Holbox. The hotel is pretty nice, best rooms are the bungalows behind the main building. Cheapest rooms are upstairs the lobby and restaurant, they are OK but nothing special. The service is not the best. The Spanish manager is not very welcoming, every time we asked him for something he seemed upset and not ready to give you a solution for whatever your need is. He is definitely not providing the good service Mexican hotels and restaurants are well known for.
Other than this, the hotel is very well located and close to town.

If you visit Holbox, don't forget to pay a visit to the very nice terrace at Mandarina restaurant! Great sunset views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for your review on your recent stay at CasaSandra. We understand that sometimes is not possible to meet everyone's expectations, however, rest assured our goal is to do just that. We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

At some hotel, they upgrade you, at CASA sandra you get a free Downgrade !!! We booked a king suite for 3 nights and we got a standard room. When we complained, they first tried to explain that it was really the room we booked, deluxe room and suite are the same we have been told. After 2 hours (great start for your holidays isn't it? ) they finally accepted that a king suite and deluxe room was 2 different sort of rooms. Issue is they did not have any suite available. We were furious and asked at least to be compensated, the room was 50 Euros less expensive per night, No way they told us, you will not get your money back ! what they propose is free dinner at their restaurant and an upgrade for the master suite for the last night only. And the best of all, They barely apologize.
Beside the money issue, the experience was completely different, their standard room are dark and small, with a tiny bathroom, they are awful value for your money. The master suite or the king suite (if you manage to get it) are nice and spacious and it would have been a different holidays for us.
The beach is nice with almost nobody, in a very good location close to the village walking less than 5 minutes and very quiet. But overall, instead of enjoying what should have been great holidays, we spend too much time arguing with the front desk.
Regarding th restaurant, the breakfast was OK even if little choices, the food was good. The restaurant itself is more sophisticated than most restaurants in the village, but also very expensive for Holbox standards, especialy the dinner menu (~60USD/person).
We spend a lot of time comparing the hotels in Holbox, and Casa Sandra is much more expensive than other hotels in the area. It only worth it if you take the suites (and finally get it). Otherwise, the standard room for the price does not worth it , there are better options at nearby hotels such as Tortugas or Mawinbi where you get master suite for the same price of a standard in Casa Sandra.

Room Tip: standard room (main house) are dark, little bathroom, and no private balcony (it is the corridor to...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank petitemetaphore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest: All comments are welcome and we thank you for the time you took to write yours. We sincerely regret that you spend most of your time comparing hotels instead of enjoying our beautiful hotel and the surroundings, there is so much to see and experience. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is supposed to be THE best place on the island, not even close. We did not stay here, but arrived for dinner, with reservations, and it did not even come close to the hype.
First we walked in by the pool area, pool was filthy and seemed to be falling apart at places. Not a good first impression. We went in to restaurant and no one greeted us so we sat ourselves outside after a few minutes. The waiter was nice, but not very seasoned. We had a drink and moved inside for dinner.
This is when it all went downhill. The chef informed us they had no fish....we are on an island....
We ordered apps bottle of wine and water, and began to wait, and wait and wait.... Had to ask for water after 15 min and apps came after 20. Terrible lobster dish with potatoes, so spicy we could not enjoy or even taste the lobster. 4 tiny shrimp in pesto sauce made other app. So far not even close to impressed. Main course after another 20 min wait, lobster risotto that was drenched in oil! Not even edible, I think they have it out for the lobsters....
We sent dinner back and said we were done and wanted bill without dinner plates included, they proceeded to try to make us explain why we did not want the food. After more then an hour wait with terrible service and worse food we were in no mood to be forced to explain ourselves. We waited 10 more minutes for the bill and it laws not coming, so we left enough money for the drinks, wine, and apps(which we should not have paid for either) and left.
We are on beautiful holbox for two weeks and every experience, meal, and wait staff has been exceptional except for here.
Don't waste your time or money. I don't think anyone is really running this place any longer, seems to me they are resting on a reputation made in the past before they had real competition.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinsunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest: We would like to thank you for your review, we understand CasaSandra may not be for everyone, our service level and quality of our restaurant are backed up by many pleased guests, we sincerely regret you were not one of them. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

CasaSandra is a great place to stay in Holbox, it's one of the few hotels on the island that understands and transmits the peaceful and quiet state of mind to people coming to relax to Holbox.
The staff is wonderful, everybody treats you like family and make you feel home.
I would recommend CasaSandra to people I love.
Thank you, Eva, for your kind attention and warm welcome, the hotel wouldn't be the same without you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsalgadov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Daniela,

Para nosotros fue un placer haberlas tenido en casa, nos da gusto que se haya sentido parte de la familia CasaSandra y que hayan disfrutado cada día de su estancia.Las vimos muy bien, la verdad es que son una pareja encantadora. Eva les agradece su comentario. Esperamos verlas muy pronto.

Saludos de todo El Equipo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Amazing place. Stayed for 5 days in mid May. Perfect setting just away from the village but a short walk.

The service wass great from being collected at the pier and taken to the hotel, to the welcome drinks and the excellent food. The room was fantastic and the staff were amazing.

Great people, great pool, great food, great cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrashall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Mr Ashall,

Only 1 month of your visit and we still missing you, was so nice your stay with us! We appreciated your comments, thanks a lot ! Please advise when you decide to come again, we will waiting for you

Regards from CasaSandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaSandra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Property: CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle de la Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77730, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaSandra Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a long time owner, Sandra, wanted to write by the sea. She went in search of a remote world, quiet, where the blue was obvious. One day, she landed in Cancun and the attraction of the Mayan land was overwhelming. She took a small plane and flew over the island of Holbox.Nothing was more attractive to her than the Feast of the colors of nature, barefoot fishermen with their gold teeth, women weaving hammocks or sheathed with their heels in the sand. "I want to do something here, " she said and began to imagine in her head this project now called "the hotel with a human touch" on this very beach.The land of more than 150 species of birds, whale shark, or Damero world's largest fish, mangroves in each corner, all were an inspiration to this artist.Then she wanted to welcome friends from around the world and to express, through a hotel on the island of Holbox, a point of view on life: "peace and art are a great treasure for humans. " Because of this she thought of a place that is romantic, sexy, creative, where the personalized, warm, rustic atmosphere in a luxurious twenty rooms that look to the sea, where one could meet the privacy and whims of its guests. All done out of love and passion. The same place where one can dream and create, and in the best case, where one can rest.The joy of giving and expressing a new way of caring for guests, has been the commitment of the hotel. Every detail has a reason: from the small art gallery with paintings by renowned artists to the beautiful furniture that inhabit the halls.Feelings, emotions, poetry, touches of color, aromas of black coffee, hammocks, fabric on the balconies, fluffy sheets, the sea at every angle, and romantic evenings create the magic of the "place of your dreams." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your CasaSandra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sandra Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Sandra Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing