We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay made special by the lovely service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
SF
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay made special by the lovely service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family stayed here for a week recently and had a wonderful time at the hotel.
Rooms: We were fortunately upgraded to a Suite as we stayed a whole week. The room was large, fitted an extra bed for our daughter comfortably and had a private balcony with a hammock and table. The bed was lovely, the bathroom clean and spacious and the amenities just right, without making the room too crowded. The service to clean the room was fantastic.
Food: We had the included breakfast, a couple of lunches and a dinner at the restaurant. The food was excellent, contemporary, and well flavored. The breakfast was large, numerous "pan dolce", cakes, savory breads, fresh fruit and eggs cooked to order. The Chilaquiles were amongst the best I have had. The salads at lunch were fresh. The dinner we had was wonderfully flavored.
Ambiance: The hotel had a very upscale ambiance, well appointed accessories without being stuffy.
Service: The hotel excels here, every member (but one) goes out of their way to make your stay a dream. Carla who will carry the fresh coffee up to the room in the morning, the bar staff who are ever ready with a cold beer and the office staff. There is always a mile and happy greeting awaiting you. They never say no.

But here are a few things that can be improved:
Wireless -- get a better wireless router, it costs nothing. The wireless connection si limited to 15 feet maximum, a pain.
Front office communication by email -- after our reservation we received nothing. They "forgot" about booking our connections from Cancun and it was a pain. Please communicate by email better.
The one staff member, the older gentleman in the mornings was just grumpy. He did not know how to make a latte, and would pour us regular coffee when we were not looking. His response on the day we left almost marred the whole experience. the taxi showed up late, so we asked him to call and make sure they were on their way, he replied that he did not know who the driver was. So we asked him to call someone of the office staff, he replied that they only come in at 7 so he could not. So I asked him what we should do, meanwhile my wife is waiting outside to flag a taxi down as we have 10 minutes to catch the boat, he replied, "NOT MY PROBLEM!"
This is the only reason this hotel gets 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guests: Thank you so much for your review, we love to hear our guests enjoy CasaSandra and the wonderful Holbox destination. We take all of the comments very seriously as we consider them opportunity areas to serve you better. Please do visit us again we well be happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    88
    37
    26
    19
See reviews for
95
242
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was everything that worths in our trip to the island, so beautiful and all the staff treats us really great, so nice and gently, they made our trip to one of the best experience thank you guys

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeah5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guests: Thank you so much for your kind review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I would definitely recommend the hotel. The hotel is beautifully decorated and very well taken care of. But the most most impressive part was the staff. Special thanks to Eva who is a wonderful host and is always trying to make you feel at home, to Elian who is always willing to help with everything that you need, Israel who is a great bartender and very nice to kids, Martin for his patience with all the requests that we had for breakfast, Carla who never stopped smiling and to Victor and Julio who provided a great service during dinners.
The restaurant menu was awesome!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guests: Thank you so much for your review, we will make sure all personnel is aware of your comments, these will for sure make them all feel they have done their part. Please do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recommendations:
Have a piña colada and take a bike to Punta Cocos or Punta Mosquito.
Talk to the people that work at the hotel, they have really good restaurant and activity recommendations and stories you will enjoy hearing.
Go fishing and let Casa Sandra’s chef cook it for you. Delicious!


We wrote an article about this hotel at www.walkingmexico.com

Room Tip: I loved the rooms that are on the second floor. They have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fercalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest: What a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A beautuful and exclusive hotel whith an incredible view of the caribean, even in the room out back, enclosed in an amazing island full of jungle, wild life and intresting places.

The rooms are incredibly beautiful down to the las detail and the service is incredible

Room Tip: rooms in the back have a wonderful view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFReguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest: We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and also that your expectations were met, please do visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Two weeks before arriving at CasaSandra I emailed the reservation staff and requested room #12 because of positive reviews on another site. I was told that the room was already booked. When we did arrive we were told that our room was not yet ready and waited for two hours and two very good margaritas.

We were pleasantly surprised to find that we were booked in room #12. The room was spacious and comfortable. The private deck outside looks out onto the ocean and the road that passes the front of the hotel. The palm trees partially blocked the ocean view but also provided privacy and reduced noise from the road. The bed was large and comfortable.

The staff at CasaSandra was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure that our needs were met when asked. One suggestion we would have for the hotel would be to have a small refrigerator and/or coffee maker in the rooms. We found that the free breakfast provided with the room was just fine. Additional menu options for purchase were available but we found the breads, fruit and eggs (cooked a couple of ways) to be sufficient. The menus for lunch and dinner were very good although we chose to seek out different and less expensive options. We did eat at the hotel on "Cuban Night" both of our meals were excellent.

The pool and pool bar were nice places to relax during the day. While the bar is closed by the pool at night it was nice to take drinks out there and enjoy evening breezes.

We would suggest either bringing bug spray or use the repellent supplied in the rooms. Once the sun went down we were bitten by both mosquitos and noseeums.

We will look forward to returning to Holbox and hopefully CasaSandra.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed the space and privacy of #12. We were told by other guests that the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guests: Thank you so much for your comments, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, please do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Located far enough away from town so you're not in the middle of everything, but close enough to get to everything in a quick walk. Rooms were nice, beds super comfortable with soft cotton sheets and great assortment of pillows. Towels in bath were worn and thin.

Basic (eggs, coffee, fruit, breads) Breakfast was included and very good. Other options were available for purchase. Didn't have dinner at the hotel, but fish tacos for lunch were great.

The staff are really great, lots of younger people doing internships from Spain and Argentina. A little bit of Spanish will help you immensely.

I do agree with previous posts that the rates are a bit high. On the other hand, it keeps the younger, often louder, pierced and tattooed group in other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1sandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear guests; Delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at CasaSandra. Hope to have the pleasure of meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaSandra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Property: CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle de la Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77730, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaSandra Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a long time owner, Sandra, wanted to write by the sea. She went in search of a remote world, quiet, where the blue was obvious. One day, she landed in Cancun and the attraction of the Mayan land was overwhelming. She took a small plane and flew over the island of Holbox.Nothing was more attractive to her than the Feast of the colors of nature, barefoot fishermen with their gold teeth, women weaving hammocks or sheathed with their heels in the sand. "I want to do something here, " she said and began to imagine in her head this project now called "the hotel with a human touch" on this very beach.The land of more than 150 species of birds, whale shark, or Damero world's largest fish, mangroves in each corner, all were an inspiration to this artist.Then she wanted to welcome friends from around the world and to express, through a hotel on the island of Holbox, a point of view on life: "peace and art are a great treasure for humans. " Because of this she thought of a place that is romantic, sexy, creative, where the personalized, warm, rustic atmosphere in a luxurious twenty rooms that look to the sea, where one could meet the privacy and whims of its guests. All done out of love and passion. The same place where one can dream and create, and in the best case, where one can rest.The joy of giving and expressing a new way of caring for guests, has been the commitment of the hotel. Every detail has a reason: from the small art gallery with paintings by renowned artists to the beautiful furniture that inhabit the halls.Feelings, emotions, poetry, touches of color, aromas of black coffee, hammocks, fabric on the balconies, fluffy sheets, the sea at every angle, and romantic evenings create the magic of the "place of your dreams." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaSandra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sandra Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Sandra Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing