We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great but they missed their opportunity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Could have been great but they missed their opportunity”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I had to think long and hard about this one to be fair and honest.
This hotel had a lot of good.
The property is one of the prettiest on Holbox, located convenient to walk to anything in town, right on the beach with a pool in an area with less biting bugs because they are void of the sand grasses. The rooms are unique, beautiful and clean. There is a Hostal next door and all that implies, so every evening is not so quiet and peaceful with music sometimes until the early morning hours.
We had a Master Suite and never find a photo and when emailed for one, we were told they did not have, so I posted many. They also confirmed it was not ocean view but it was and a very lovely view at that. You do have to climb two flights of stairs to access it and the second set is very open staircase made of small wood steps and branch railings, just an FYI to be warned. The fridge in the room was convenient but makes aloud popping sound every 20 minutes and we had to unplug at night. We would have let them know but when we told them they gave us a coffee maker that didn’t work we never received a replacement.
If you have breakfast included, the wait staff is friendly and you are offered three selections to choose from. The fruit cup with yogurt and granola, coffee, toast & homemade jam is yummy. The egg choices were over salted, every day. Otherwise eat in town, where your selection, quality and value are much better.
The beach area is lovely, fine white powdery sand, with water always three shades of Jade. You can walk out in the water for ages before your feet miss the sandy bottom. There are small ballyhoo, puffers and sand rays hanging close to shore but the visibility is good you will see them and they are not a bother. The beach furniture needs work. It is peeling, rusty, stained and splintering. A very petit girl from the Netherlands leaned back in her lounger and the back just broke, sending her to the ground shocked! The beach is also open to everyone and their dogs. FYI to be careful what you could step in.
The pool is small but nice and very welcome as you sometimes need a break from the saltwater and the sand. The drawback, even though there is sign posted for Hotel guests only, the employees use it, their families use and the guests at the Hostal next door use it. I am not a snob but for $200 a night I would like to use the pool.
The spa is wonderful, the treatments are wonderful and Benjamin and Julietta are wonderful! Make it a point to visit them for at least one treatment. You will be better for it. The Yoga with Nellie is also a treat!
The service was the problem. My boyfriend had a special evening prearranged with the hotel for a romantic beach side dinner with a local basket placed in the room for a special occasion. It never happened and when he questioned why not he was told he didn’t confirm it but I have seen the email stating from the Hotel “all set, 7pm, Wednesday the 22nd”. We waited daily to go the Whale Shark tour but would wake up (early to meet the boat) to a sticky note stuck on the door saying it was canceled, no one talked to us about it, we had to continually ask and then we called Cancun to find out what the problem was. We booked round trip transportation to and from Cancun but as we were settling our bill we were told we never booked the return and then had to pay more money, and we had the confirmation of the booking. We inquired to check out a day early because we live in an area where Hurricane Isaac was approaching and thought best to get back to take care of things, we were told that they would charge us the whole night even if we left, are you kidding??? It’s called Force Majeure and every hotel in the world accepts it. We had no apologies until we were putting our bags in the Taxi to leave. Then they were concerned we were leaving mad…… and yes we did. Leaving a bad memory to what could have been a delightful experience. I run a hotel and even if you think the guest is wrong they are not and when the guest is right you fall over them to apologize and make up for it, that is what you do. You don’t argue with the guest, tell them they are wrong and ignore them, because they will post it on TripAdvisor! Unfortunately for this I would not go back or recommend. The other petit hotels on other islands and locations of Mexico do it better!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Baxterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    125
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
148
481
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Let me state upfront that we received three free nights of lodging in exchange for making a video review for our website Travel 4 Wildlife.com while we were visiting Isla Holbox to swim with whale sharks. That said, we really did love our stay. If you want to check out the video review of the hotel, along with an article and photos visit: travel4wildlife.com/lodging-review-casa-las-tortugas-isla-holbox-mexico

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HalBrindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The staff are very friendly and professional. This beautiful boutique hotel caters to a variety of clientele, and they manage to please everyone - this hotel is great for travellers, families and/or romance! The grounds have a very intimate and tropical ambiance, and are perfectly kept, the rooms are clean and well decorated. The very enticing pool area and the beach hammock/chairs are also kept clean. The restaurant, which is on the beach, serves good food and the staff is great. They offer a variety of services onsite (yoga/spa) as well as setting up whale shark tours, birding tours, kiteboarding, kayaking, etc. They also arranged transportation to/from Holbox. This is a quiet, safe, friendly, beautiful relaxing place - enjoy! p.s. the beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: west facing rooms / beach facing rooms may hear music from beach bars/fiestas. all rooms are nice, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here at Hotel Casa Las Tortugas. The shaff were great and we really liked the pool and the nice little rooms. The first night we were way up stairs and the stairs were very steep and narrow and my wife had a knee problem. We asked about changing rooms, but they did not have anything else that night, but they were able to move us the next day. The staff were great and the service was very good. We came to the Island of Holbox for the Whale Shark Tour, which was fantasic. But we also wanted to sample the Island life. Very nice Island, with very nice and friendly people. If we ever come back here we would stay at Casa Las Tortugas again. A little more money than some of the other Hotels, but worth paying a little bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diver0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

Once again I trusted the recommendations in trip advisor and wasn't disappointed with the outcome. It's small and very cute hotel. The entrance already gives it a way. The pool has the right size to relax after sundown. The staff is very helpful and forthcoming. We stay 3 days in a normal suit and the last night in a pool view suite (which also has a partial beach view from one of e two balconies). To be honest in term of space we prefered the standard suite, because it is really big, has a fridge, a huge balcony and less sunny and noisy for a realxing good night sleep. The pool view suit is beautiful in terms of designand the shower is more powerfull, but it is noisier and in morning it gets really bright. All rooms (at least the once that we stayed in didn't have blackout shutters.
The restaurant is very good but very expencive for the amout of food you get. We just had dinner once and the dish I wanted was out. Breakfast is ok, but do be honest a bit thin. You choose between to variations of eggs and a fruit salat. It is not possible to get the eggs and the salat. At least not without paying extra. Coffee is ok and the bread is really good. It's homemade! Mmmm

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faltboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I had never written a Trip Advisor review before, but my experience staying at this hotel (and visiting Holbox in general) pushed me over the edge. I'm tempted to say that the island didn't meet expectations, that you are much better off staying in Cancun, and that you shouldn't stay at Tortugas, but that's only because I want to keep the island and the hotel all to myself.

Seriously folks, this hotel is pure paradise. My girlfriend and I stayed at Tortugas for 4 nights, and I have to say the whole experience was perfect:
- Spacious room (a second floor with another bed - are you kidding me?; 2 balconies, one of which has a hammock - insane; and, oh, by the way, ocean view).
- Delicious food (homemade pasta and fresh fish and vegetables plus an extensive juice menue for those of us who like that).
- Pristine and comfortable beach area with cabanas, lounge chairs, kiosks, and full service.
- Spa with 3x/week yoga lessons. (Of course, you should also get private lessons, which at $24 per person are unbeatable.
- Sweet, cozy pool.
- National Geographic-style private Kayak tour with wild flamingos and a crocodile (admittedly, we got lucky with the crocodile, but still)
- Most importantly, a staff that combines competency, professionalism and responsiveness with warmth and friendliness (only other place I've seen that at that level was at the French Laundry).

So, don't even think about it. Book the hotel, get to the island (Tortugas organized our transfer from Cancun, and it was absolutely flawless), check in (if you can, splurge and get an ocean-view room - totally worth it), enjoy the Happy Hour, get in the pool, visit the little town (and eat at Peleones, Viva Zapata and Buena Vista), and, oh yes, go on the Kayak tour.

To the staff at Tortugas, keep it up! Amazing.

Room Tip: Splurge a bit and go for the ocean-view room. Worth it! We stayed in Vanilla, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santiago60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I checked in on July 30th and stayed 4 nights for the beginning of our honeymoon. We couldn't have been happier! The room, spa, service, location, beach and restaurant were all wonderful.
The staff in the restaurant was great. if you are almost solely English speaking as I am, there was was a refreshing language barrier. I cannot say enough good things about this place. My wife and I want to come back many times and can't wait to being our family.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredstravelingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hol2Mex, Guest Relations Manager at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Hola!
We are so happy they enjoined your stay in our Hotelito!
We also want to thank you for the nice review.
Hope to see you next time.
Best regards
Staff Tortugas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
978 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing