We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lille, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France
Level Contributor
1 review
“Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

When we got to this hotel, our very first impression was that this was a place where you immediatly feel at home, with a sense of well-being everywhere you go. Everyhing was beautiful, everyone was incredibly nice. This is THE place to be if you feel like a few days of resting, relaxing...
We had the honeymoon package, and if you are a couple and considering it, don't hesitate ! The half board plan was amazing, because the restaurant offers incredibly delicious food. The massage was bliss... And we also came at the right time of year to go on the whale-shark tour, and if you can, do not miss it, the experience is too unique and amazing !!! (And this is coming fro someone who was afraid of boats and generally of everything that lives in the water...) Take a waterproof camera with you, we didn't have one and were very jealous of those who did.
The beach is small but is very agreable, with its many hamocks, suspended beds, and seats, the water is basically as warm as a bath, which is also the case of the pool, very nice when you get tired of sand and salt.
Our room was beautiful, but our absolutely favourite place was the restaurant, open on the beach, we basically tried out every table and seat, and also every smoothie or fruit juice or "aguatherapia" on the menu...
Careful ! This is one of those places in mexico where you cannot throw used toilet paper in the toilet, but you have to throw it in the bin instead, don't be surprised even if it is quite strange for some of us...
If we could, we would love to come back, but it's a bit far unfortunately...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatachaCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    119
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
143
471
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Either you are planning to travel in couple or with your family this could be the place to remember in years to come. Casa las Tortugas has the level of service of a larger beach hotel with the boutique hotel ambiance. The surroundings (beach, town) also gives you the exact feeling of unspoilt and pristine that you might be seeking for. The rooms are excellent and you can actually step right out at white sandy beach if you choose the first row rooms. There, at the beach, awaits different palapas with confy chairs and hamacas to rest in. The hotel has also an excellent restaurant both for an inspiring start of the day breakfast or a romantic evening dinner, and on top of that the Hotel has different services around SPA, Yoga, Kite-surfing, fishing, shark whale sightseeing and scuba diving.
To get there... many ways.. but i chose; rent a car in cancun airport, drive two hours to coast town, park the car in long term parking (very cheap) and from there take fisherman boat (you also have the ferry but not as cool...) for 30 dollars... 25 minutes later he will drop you off at the beach in front of the hotel...
I believe this is it!!!

Room Tip: Front row rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

What a great place to stay. Run by a really nice bunch of people. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. In the restaurant the level of service and the standard of food were excellent. Spending a day on the beach on one of their day beds was complete relaxation. Some of the day beds have their own plug sockets for charging phones and laptops which made keeping in touch with the office easier.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameskelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

My best friend and I traveled from different countries and met in Cancun at the airport. The transfer had been arranged by the hotel and was waiting as expected. We arrived at the ferry, tickets were waiting for us, when we arrived at the other side there was the golf cart and a short ride down the sandy streets took us to Casa Las Tortugas. Easy peasy!

Upon arrival we were given two shells for our welcome drink, shown around the property and up to our room. We had booked an oceanfront room with the two bedrooms. It was up a short flight of stairs and opened into a lovely bedroom with adjoining bathroom and a balcony with a hammock that overlooked the beach and ocean. I took the upstairs room which was a loft room also with a balcony, although this overlooked other rooms. The architecture is big, broad beams, rustic but beautiful. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms kept very clean. There are not "blackout" curtains, but frankly I loved the white, breezy drapes we had, it was wonderful waking up to the soft sunshine in the mornings. The bathroom was amazing - a rough walled shower with a rain shower head and glass doors. Be mindful that almost everywhere requests toilet paper go into a small wastepaper bin instead of the toilet. Truly it's not a big deal. The only "negative" thing about the rooms is that they are not particularly soundproof, so that the little kids running around in the room next to us may as well have been in our room. But that's really a guest issue, not a hotel issue. The bathroom amenities are organic and can be bought at reception also as souvenirs.

The hotel is literally a two minute walk to "town". I was out by myself late a couple of nights and never felt at all unsafe. In fact the island has a sort of laid-back hippy feel to it, lots of "travelers". No-one bugging you for anything.

We ate at Mandarina a number of times. The food was very good. We ate breakfast every day - there was always a fruit selection or a choice of two hot dishes (usually eggs). These are served with coffee, freshly squeezed juice (melon, pineapple, strawberry) and a basket of toast with butter and homemade preserves. I read an earlier review complaining that you couldn't get eggs AND the fruit dish. As someone who ate the fruit breakfast at least half the time, I can honestly say I don't know how anyone could manage both. It's a lot of food.

A special mention for the Mexican night we ate at. Everything was cooked beautifully - octopus tacos to start, grilled fish with potato and asparagus, finished with a chili stuffed with chocolate grenache. It was probably the best I've ever eaten.

The beach was not busy so that we were usually able to stroll down at 9am and find our "spot". There were couples and families visiting while we were there. The beach is full of shells, so don't go expecting miles of soft sand to stroll on. Although the beach DOES stretch on for miles, with almost no-one on it. Also the water off shore is shallow for a long way so that the ocean is really warm!!

Please take note of previous comments about bug spray. As a northern Ontarian from Canada, I figured I was pretty much immune to bugs. Wrong!!! Even at the height of summer, the sand flies and mosquitoes were tougher than I was. Pack bug spray.

There is WiFi at the hotel but locations can be a bit hit-and-miss. I found the best spot is right next to the Kite boarding school.

Above all though, the STAFF were really amazing. Everyone - the reception, wait staff, maid, grounds keepers - everyone was so nice and so welcoming and so friendly. That is what sets this place apart. We felt that they were being genuinely nice and friendly just to be nice and friendly. I have often thought that about traveling in Mexico generally, but especially here.

Part of me wants to keep this hotel, and indeed the island, to myself, but Casa Las Tortugas deserves the recognition. Already planning my trip back.

While you're there, stroll down the beach to Raices and have a beer with the locals. Awesome beach bar!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mymillymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I had to think long and hard about this one to be fair and honest.
This hotel had a lot of good.
The property is one of the prettiest on Holbox, located convenient to walk to anything in town, right on the beach with a pool in an area with less biting bugs because they are void of the sand grasses. The rooms are unique, beautiful and clean. There is a Hostal next door and all that implies, so every evening is not so quiet and peaceful with music sometimes until the early morning hours.
We had a Master Suite and never find a photo and when emailed for one, we were told they did not have, so I posted many. They also confirmed it was not ocean view but it was and a very lovely view at that. You do have to climb two flights of stairs to access it and the second set is very open staircase made of small wood steps and branch railings, just an FYI to be warned. The fridge in the room was convenient but makes aloud popping sound every 20 minutes and we had to unplug at night. We would have let them know but when we told them they gave us a coffee maker that didn’t work we never received a replacement.
If you have breakfast included, the wait staff is friendly and you are offered three selections to choose from. The fruit cup with yogurt and granola, coffee, toast & homemade jam is yummy. The egg choices were over salted, every day. Otherwise eat in town, where your selection, quality and value are much better.
The beach area is lovely, fine white powdery sand, with water always three shades of Jade. You can walk out in the water for ages before your feet miss the sandy bottom. There are small ballyhoo, puffers and sand rays hanging close to shore but the visibility is good you will see them and they are not a bother. The beach furniture needs work. It is peeling, rusty, stained and splintering. A very petit girl from the Netherlands leaned back in her lounger and the back just broke, sending her to the ground shocked! The beach is also open to everyone and their dogs. FYI to be careful what you could step in.
The pool is small but nice and very welcome as you sometimes need a break from the saltwater and the sand. The drawback, even though there is sign posted for Hotel guests only, the employees use it, their families use and the guests at the Hostal next door use it. I am not a snob but for $200 a night I would like to use the pool.
The spa is wonderful, the treatments are wonderful and Benjamin and Julietta are wonderful! Make it a point to visit them for at least one treatment. You will be better for it. The Yoga with Nellie is also a treat!
The service was the problem. My boyfriend had a special evening prearranged with the hotel for a romantic beach side dinner with a local basket placed in the room for a special occasion. It never happened and when he questioned why not he was told he didn’t confirm it but I have seen the email stating from the Hotel “all set, 7pm, Wednesday the 22nd”. We waited daily to go the Whale Shark tour but would wake up (early to meet the boat) to a sticky note stuck on the door saying it was canceled, no one talked to us about it, we had to continually ask and then we called Cancun to find out what the problem was. We booked round trip transportation to and from Cancun but as we were settling our bill we were told we never booked the return and then had to pay more money, and we had the confirmation of the booking. We inquired to check out a day early because we live in an area where Hurricane Isaac was approaching and thought best to get back to take care of things, we were told that they would charge us the whole night even if we left, are you kidding??? It’s called Force Majeure and every hotel in the world accepts it. We had no apologies until we were putting our bags in the Taxi to leave. Then they were concerned we were leaving mad…… and yes we did. Leaving a bad memory to what could have been a delightful experience. I run a hotel and even if you think the guest is wrong they are not and when the guest is right you fall over them to apologize and make up for it, that is what you do. You don’t argue with the guest, tell them they are wrong and ignore them, because they will post it on TripAdvisor! Unfortunately for this I would not go back or recommend. The other petit hotels on other islands and locations of Mexico do it better!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Baxterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Let me state upfront that we received three free nights of lodging in exchange for making a video review for our website Travel 4 Wildlife.com while we were visiting Isla Holbox to swim with whale sharks. That said, we really did love our stay. If you want to check out the video review of the hotel, along with an article and photos visit: travel4wildlife.com/lodging-review-casa-las-tortugas-isla-holbox-mexico

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HalBrindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The staff are very friendly and professional. This beautiful boutique hotel caters to a variety of clientele, and they manage to please everyone - this hotel is great for travellers, families and/or romance! The grounds have a very intimate and tropical ambiance, and are perfectly kept, the rooms are clean and well decorated. The very enticing pool area and the beach hammock/chairs are also kept clean. The restaurant, which is on the beach, serves good food and the staff is great. They offer a variety of services onsite (yoga/spa) as well as setting up whale shark tours, birding tours, kiteboarding, kayaking, etc. They also arranged transportation to/from Holbox. This is a quiet, safe, friendly, beautiful relaxing place - enjoy! p.s. the beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: west facing rooms / beach facing rooms may hear music from beach bars/fiestas. all rooms are nice, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing