We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and perfectly formed hotel with great beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small and perfectly formed hotel with great beach location”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staying for 7 nights at Hotel Casa las Tortugas we fell in love with everything from its beautifully artistic architecture and décor, its relaxing ambience, the delicious breakfasts and the hospitality of all the staff.
Our suite Canella was enormous, comfortable and the main balcony with its hammock had an amazing position overlooking the beach. The beach itself had groomed white sand and perfectly placed swinging double beds and relaxers.
The restaurant was welcoming and relaxed but most importantly the food was probably the best on the island. Fine dining with a beautiful outlook.
We did not use the spa or go wind kiting but made the most of the beach location and fabulous sunsets.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual so check out interiors online before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    124
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
146
476
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in March 2014! We found this petit hotel on the Internet and had quite high expectations on the hotel as well as the island as such!! We have to say that our stay was far beyond our expectations; cozy, calm, hospitality, good food, boutique, clean, lovely beach, comfort......! Cannot see any reason not choosing this hotel among others if it just fits your budget! Amazing hotel and Holbox is our best stay in Mexico (been to Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, Tulum)!
Highly recommended! We will come back!
Jan & Jeannette / Sweden

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjahnSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had the privilege of staying at Casa Las Tortugas for 10 days earlier this month and I must say that we expected it to be lovely but the moment we stepped into their hotel we realized it would far surpass what we thought. From the initial contact with Carolina who kindly guided us through the property explaining each detail, to the room (Toucan) which had such a lovely feel, and the restaurant who's staff (including Gonzales and Martina) offered top notch service and quality. The beach location is the best among all properties on the island, offering a great relaxing atmosphere, good swimming area and located so close to town. The staff were helpful, friendly and worked extremely hard keeping the grounds perfect and all of our needs met. We enjoyed yoga every morning with Luchi and it was a fantastic way to start the day. Breakfasts were really nice - the two options available never failed to satisfy us. Drinks and sushi at the bar upstairs watching the sunset was a perfect way to end the day. And their newly launched beach bbq gave us a great lunch option. All of the rooms are decorated with such thought and detail and the beds, linens and cleanliness were absolutely wonderful. Honestly I could go on forever on how impressed we were. We have travelled a lot through Mexico and Central America and Holbox is a magical secret that is still so untouched. For anyone looking for a relaxing retreat where the clock stops and you can soak up culture and sun, stay at Casa Las Tortugas - but don't tell too many people as we need to keep this place as secret as we can!!! We are already planning our return trip!!!

Room Tip: All rooms offer unique character and as the property is so small, they are easily accessible from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accord, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Casa Las Tortugas exceeded our expectations in every way. The immaculate and comfortable room, over-the-top service and beautiful beach were just what we needed for our escape from an upstate NY winter. And here's a special shout-out to Carolina at the front desk who is a delight!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the beach - there's nothing like stepping out of your door into the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and returned jut yesterday. We had an amazing 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Hotel definitely set on the best part of the beach and it is close to town without feeling too crowded. We loved being able to order drinks on the beach and take in the sunset from the rooftop bar. This is a perfect mix of resort and hotel without being too overwhelming. We stayed in Azucar (poolview) the first night and Canela (oceanview) the next nights - both were lovely. We especially enjoyed being able to sit out our balcony in Canela and look at the beach. Overall fantastic trip and we cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmurphyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is my 3rd visit to Casa Tortugas in 4 years and it felt like coming home, albeit a very lovely home where you have no worries and the biggest decision is what to have for lunch or whether to cool off in the sea or the lovely refreshing pool. When you are poolside it feels as if you are in exquisite jewel. The decorations are beachy , not tacky, tasteful. . The staff is friendly and helpful and a number of the people at the front desk and the kitchen have been there since I started coming making it even more of a "homecoming" . The grounds, pool, restaurant, rooms and beach front are all kept exquisitely clean and fresh. I brought a couple of friends with me who have also fallen under Tortugas' and Holbox' spell. At the same time I want to keep this place a secret, as too many people, I fear, will spoil the ambiance both of this hotel and the island or force the owners to enlarge . It is the family friendly feel of this hotelito that makes it special. Any bigger and it will lose that special feeling. I certainly hope to return.
My only minor complaint would be that the cupboard in the pool-view rooms need to have a bar for hanging ones clothes not just shelves.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a 'bad' room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank flygurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

back to las Tortugas!
still peaceful, quiet, more than beautiful and so tidy!
the prices of the restaurant get higher but it's worth the price considering the quality of food. the new terraza of the bar offers incredible view of the sunset.

the staff is still very helpful and kind, despite the fact I regret we had less interactions than at my first visit, certainly due to the fact the hotel was almost full. but a warmer welcome (and goodbye) would have been appreciated .

We stayed in Vanilla room , overlooking the beach, at the 2 nd floor , ad it's a beauty! be sure to bring earplugs if th enoise disturbs you beacause you basically hear everything in the others soom, but i's not annoying as everybody is here to relax and have a good sleep. No loud music here!

I hope Las tortugas will keep their spirit of peace of mind and care to their customers.
Hasta pronto!

Room Tip: Vanilla is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecile l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing