We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're going back!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas HM Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We're going back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just so you really know how genuine our report on last years visit was we have booked to go for another couple of weeks in May this year.

The journey from UK is not easy, 15 hours from airport to hotel, but it is worth the effort.

Can't wait for our 2nd trip to 'paradise'!!!

Room Tip: This is a real chillax resort. Do not expect to be entertained. Not really suitable for children/you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlyFarly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    228
    100
    34
    22
See reviews for
185
556
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The beach is swept every morning, and that is just the beginning of the service in this beautiful hotel. Room is spacious and clean. And romantic I must add. We didn't swim in the sea, for the pool was wonderfully..empty really. The walk to town takes you about 10 minutes, and for the rest, you just don't do anything except chill! Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. We loved it.

Room Tip: We think any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Villas HM Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for leaving your review.

Best regards from Holbox!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Last November, my couple and I got married at this wonderful hotel. We are two mexican girls who wanted to have a wedding as all women want. We were worried about being able to have it as not all the hotels and places are gay friendly. This hotel or more specifically her sales manager: Nicole helped us to plan our wedding. At the end, we had a wonderful spiritual ceremony and an excellent dinner. They created the perfect ambiance all combined with the nature and romanticism. We enjoyed every single moment at the hotel and at our wedding. All the staff was very kind with us. The room was amazing, always clean with all those nice details that made us feel special. We will never forget the wedding of our dreams!!!

Room Tip: We recommend you the master suite, it is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianaEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Villas HM Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Adriana,

Holbox truly is a very very special place to celebrate a wedding and we thank you for choosing our hotel for such a wonderful occasion, we are very happy that we were able to make your special day even more unique.

Thank you again and best regards from Villas Paraiso del Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was exactly what we were expecting. Wonderful, efficient and friendly service from the staff. Excellent food from the restaurant. The hotel is very comfortable and cosy with all the candle light. The views are absolutely stunning. After spending a week here we are feeling incredibly relaxed. The sun tans will eventually fade but the memories will be with us for ever.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a different hotel to all the ones we have stayed in ever! The hotel is perfect for a romantic stay and also for complete relaxation and staying away from the world. Not too much action unless you book one of the tours and we did not want to spoil our time so we only relaxed and enjoyed our nice room, the beach and the calmness because before coming here we were in Cancun so we had actually planned it like this. The people that work here are also add to the calmness of the hotel because they are very nice and helpful.Thanks Villas Paraiso del Mar.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JOWAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Villas HM Paraiso del Mar, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very happy to know that you took some good memories home.

Best regards from Holbox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife chose this hotel as she wanted to just lie in the sun basically and liked the idea of a small island instead of the run of the mill beach location.
The journey there involved more then what we are used to (plane/boat/car) but actually that made it feel more unusual and when we arrived it was more than worth it as the hotel is very special. Right on the nicest beach ever, with wild birds and picture perfect sunsets. The room was impressive with views across the ocean and it was extremely comfortable and had a fantastic bed. The onsite restaurant was much better than anticipated considering the remoteness of the location and the Mexican night was out of this world. I ate my weight in food I think! Staff did a good job of cleaning our room and the gardens, pool and whole hotel was spotless. The week went way too quickly and we only have good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The journey here is a long one and we had been looking forward to it for months.
Once there, the Island of Holbox opened up to be a dream place. The comfortable villa was bright, and well appointed. The maid service goes the extra mile, leaving flowers and small details are so lovely. The pleasant staff go all guns to make it feel like a tropical paradise and for us it really did. The furthest and most amazing place we've ever travelled to. The town is an interesting walk and the locals always smiled and said hi. Fresh, good food, loved the bbq wow, the taste was even better in the sea air. The whole thing was a wake up to such a different way of life. This is now setting us on the trail of finding more special places to go and we are looking on tripadvisor for something along the lines of this great holiday.
Worth giving up little treats all year to save for something this wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas HM Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas HM Paraiso del Mar

Property: Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Address: Avenida Plutarco Elias Calles s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Villas Paraiso del Mar)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas HM Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Villas HM Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Holbox Island
Hotel Paraiso Del Mar
Paraiso Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing