We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, tried to leave after the first night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas HM Paraiso del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing, tried to leave after the first night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I should say at the outset that Holbox is an incredible island which should not be missed on a trip to this region. The food, the people, and the beach are amazing. Unfortunately, this hotel proved to be highly disappointing. I stayed three nights with my girlfriend, but we both wished we'd stayed somewhere else.
The good: the rooms are nicely decorated, and some have a nice view of the ocean. The staff at reception is also very friendly.
The bad: The worst thing about this hotel is that it is not right in front of the beach. In between the narrow beach and the hotel there is a dirt road through which motorcycles and golf carts drive by all day long. So if you want to sunbathe, you'll have vehicles whizzing by right in front of you. You're better off going to one of the hotels nearer to the town (which will be busy, but in front of the beach), or one of the more removed hotels (which will be closer to the beautiful sand bar in the sea). The hotel should also think about investing a little more in its furniture and general cleanliness. The bed was rickety, the sheets and towels provided by housecleaning were often stained, and the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The atmosphere of the hotel is also ruined by their "all inclusive" option, which gives guests the option to have their meals and some drinks included for a $70 fee per day. This means it attracts the type of guest who likes to stay at the hotel all day (often with children), taking up all the space in the communal areas. Don't even try to get a seat by the tiny pool, as it's always crowded. The quality of the restaurant food and service also suffer as a result of this policy.

I would definitely return to Holbox, but next time to a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonkeyLudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    227
    100
    33
    22
See reviews for
185
552
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Searching for a peaceful place to go is getting more difficult. We liked the way reviews mention how organic Holbox is and picked this hotel for our vacation. The scenery and beaches are the most beautiful we've been to and the welcome and service attitude from the staff was great. We ate well and being able to just step onto the beach was a real bonus and boost to our souls. Our search is over, this Island with it's wild animal life and relaxed attitude will be our go to hideaway whenever we need some R&R.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Traveled as a couple and we stayed here 1 week. The island is quite remote but the standard of this hotel was very high and as good as any 5 star we´ve ever seen. The beach side location is more impressive in real life than the photos and the hotel feels very exclusive. The staff greeted us well and our room was just perfect. Great bed, bathroom and views. The restaurant served a good selection of freshly prepared dishes and the staff were always around to help should you need it. It is a comfortable stroll into town and the locals seemed super friendly. Very relaxing all round and a nice change from the typical chain type hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 202DCDALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 6 night stay and we loved it!! I've read some reviews stating the establishment was rundown slow or rude people.wrong. This is a small island without real roads and everyone on the island lives modestly.this a beautiful romantic get away.the staff was great and very helpful. The rooms are sweet and sure there a few things that weren't perfect but this is a small island an dost people don't have much. So to me the place was perfect and grateful to have such a amazing stay and experience another culture,be grateful for what you have it more then others. We used holbox travel for are transportation to and from island Rene the owner was great. I'd suggest renting a golf cart for a day it's a great way to see all of the island and it's fun.the city starts being active at nightso plan your shopping and eating then. The resort had a wonderful lodge area in front of the ocean. We had room 104 which had a balcony. I'd suggest getting the rooms with balconies. Overall this place is romantic and sweet. All inclusive was a great option and good food. Staff was pleasant. Go for it and stay here

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lioneyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were blown away when we arrived by the natural beauty of the place. The atmosphere was really tranquil, our room was clean and the view was amazing. The front of house staff were so friendly you couldn't have asked for anything more. I've been planning this trip for the past year and it was well worth the wait. There's nothing like pulling back the curtains to find a pristine beach awaiting you. I find it difficult to switch off and enjoy quality time with my partner so we wanted a romantic getaway just to relax. If you have an hour to spare take a walk and enjoy the wildlife, it`s such a beautiful Island and we can´t wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overtherainbow888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

There were 4 ladies in our party, all friends for years, and we just wanted to totally relax and enjoy the beach and sunshine. This beautiful hotel was the right choice and we felt at home immediately! I had read so much about Holbox and about the natural charm it had and it was all true. The hotel is positioned right on the beach, which is why we chose it, and you feel very privileged to be able to wake up every morning in such a special setting. It truly is a breath of fresh air to get away from all the hustle and bustle of day to day life and the week flew by. The staff were very attentive and looked after us very well. The restaurant served delicious food and nothing was too much trouble for the waiters. I've never eaten so much fresh fish in my life! I saw people doing things like windsurfing and going out on fishing trips so you can be active if you want. Oh, and the rooms are impeccable. Gorgeous beds and sheets and the wooden floors add a touch of luxury. Really there is nothing I would change about this hotel. We all loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Let me preface by saying it all depends on what you're looking for. We stayed here for 3 days.

The GOOD:
The hotel is beautifully designed, the open lobby, the pool, etc.

The REST:
The general attitude of the hotel contradicts the whole concept of a place like holbox. It's a lot of little things the amount to lackluster experience. If I can summarize it in 1 sentence, it's this: you get the feel of the opposite of generosity in every aspect.

The location of the hotel is a little,far from the town center, and it feels as though the hotel squeezes every penny out of you just because they know you have no alternative.

The rooms are laid in 3 stories huts. Staying in the 3rd floor is pretty unacceptable, having to climb 3 stories in a narrow spiraling rickety staircase. Want to grab something from the room twice a day? You better be ready to work for it.

The pool looks really nice, but in reality has a total of 10 available places to sit, and as this hotel is pretty greedily overcrowded (see the 3 floors architecture), you almost never have a place to sit when going to the pool.

The beach is beautiful, no thanks to the hotel. What the hotel does offer is a lot of laying chairs with no viable shading. If you're a tan-maniac you might find this ideal.

It's all about the EXTRA MONEY:

Need a towel? The hotel provides them by giving you a plastic card that says: in case of loss, 300 pesos penalty.

Every station where there's a staff member, has a big bold tip jar.

Need laundry service? We got a 50 dollar bill for roughly 4 shirts, 2 pants and a few socks.

The service:
The staff is very "stiff". They are cordial and smiling, but do very little to assist you. Needed something from them, called them on the phone (didn't want to go down those stairs a fourth time that day), they asked to come to the lobby, then when I get there asked me to wait 20 minutes

Needed a cushion for laying on the side of the pool, asked the reception, they literally smiled at me for 2 minutes saying sorry, if there is no cushion available there there's nothing we can do. Eventually gave me one after a long deliberation between them.

There are much better alternatives, we moved after 3 days and had a wonderful time for the rest of the trip there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lior B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas HM Paraiso del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas HM Paraiso del Mar

Property: Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Address: Avenida Plutarco Elias Calles s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Villas Paraiso del Mar)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas HM Paraiso del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Villas HM Paraiso del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Holbox Island
Hotel Paraiso Del Mar
Paraiso Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing