We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Friendly Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Place, Friendly Owner”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here for a week and the owner, David, was very kind and ran the place well. We didn't find it noisy at night. There was only one night when people were home late and partying but they were only loud for about an hour. David closed the bar to keep the place with a relaxing vibe and he urges others to party elsewhere.

There is a good communal vibe here too. Definitely recommended.

The hut was very nice as well. 350 Pesos for ours. Ask for the Huts without the sand floors, their a bit nicer and less mosquitos!

Room Tip: Take a room without sand floors. I believe deluxe cottage their called or something #7 Use hostel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    71
    26
    16
    12
See reviews for
22
121
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great little find in Holbox - incredibly clean, very friendly, lovely atmosphere with everything you could want: hot water 24hr, wifi, 24hr electricity, the social aspect of staying in a hostel, with very chilled atmosphere, 2mins from the beach, 5min walk into town, and an onsite cafe serving breakfast and dinner - amazing food, home-cooked cakes (thank you Donatella and Antonio!). We stayed in an ensuite cabana, spacious and dreamy (we had our own padlock so could use the locker in the room). Bring the strongest mosquito repellent you can find with you and put it on the boat - Holbox is mozzie land! I will definitely stay here again, and I suggest you do too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We came by ferry to Isla Holbox on a rainy day, a guy was waiting for us at the terminal, and since we were 5 people (3 adults, 2 kids) waiting, we took two of the picturesque yellow cab golf carts to the camping/hostel. We were met almost instantly by David and Sasha who showed us around as our cabaña was being cleaned (early morning arrival, but that is to expect when you arrive early at any hotel). The place is beautiful, has a very nice restaurant (which we didn't try, though). About 150 meters to the main beach of Isla Holbox, and a 5-10 minute walk to downtown Holbox. We rented the big cabaña which comfortably sleeps 2 couples (two queen beds), has a complete kitchen, a nice bathroom and a beautiful loft where one of the queen beds was. The other was in a makeshift room with bamboo walls - so if privacy is your thing, this ain't the place for you. Me and my wife slept "upstairs", my brother slept on the second queen bed and our two kids slept on a cot that was brought in and a hammock.

On the only negative part, is that we had only one cot for our two kids, so they took turns sleeping (or trying to) in a hammock. It takes some learning to sleep in a hammock, so every other night one of the kids didn't sleep well at all. However, that doesn't take away the experience of the place. I would definitely go back there anytime!

However, Holbox is probably not a place to take kids (ours are 10-12), unless they are the adventurous kind. :)

Room Tip: We rented the big cabaña, sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Not too much privacy, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeoLekare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It was our first stay on a oneway trip, we are on a budget and this place suited us down to the ground. Welcome to paradise! The manager of the place is brilliant (was robert at the time), makes you feel at home and is easy to talk to and ask questions about the island. We had a cabana with the shower, toilet it was at a brilliant price. took a while to get used to the sand floors but we loved it, and the showers are great with the conch shell diy shower, pure genius. A short walk to the town centre, might need a torch at night. Was a awesome stay and we will return. Could stay 3weeks to a month here

Room Tip: pop down to hotel tortuga, buy a coffee and use there beds all day for free, well in october it work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

First impression after long travel from D.F. was that "this is paradise" and it was. The cabanas were super cute and clean. Lovely relaxing areas and nice kitchen. Nice and helpful staff. Only 1 minute walk from the beach, 5 minute walk from the center. Only minus was that in 2 out of 3 nights the electricity and water was cut.. and with those temperatus, the nights were rather awful. However, I think electricity problem was with the whole island.. (?)

Room Tip: Price different between dorms and privates are rather small so we went with a private. Perfect littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We arrived to Hostel & Cabanas early morning and must say that first impression was really good. How bad! We had to wait for a room quite a while because some other people just checked out and had to be cleaned. Hostel is relatively far (for Holbox standard) from the sea side but we don't mind walking so that wasn't an issue.
Room was attached to the kitchen and from the early morning till midnight we HAD TO listen other people shouting, cooking noises and music we didn't want to listen to but had no choice. No one never mentioned that is so noisy when we were offered the room. After short discussion with the guy in reception - I suppose he was managing this place - he said that kitchen will be closed from 10pm. They closed kitchen for our good as we could finally sleep a bit but announced to everybody that kitchen will be because of our complaint. We could hear conversation from our room and even recorded it ;)
Next day when I told him that this is not the way of doing business as from the morning people were giving us deadly looks, he denied everything and called me a liar! After that what happened I asked for refund of the rest of my stay but he refused and offered me room which was actually worse than the first one. We obviously left this place loosing money and will never come back there again! Ever! I hope he will be eaten alive by mosquitoes and sand flies which are everywhere on the site!
Never been treated this way! This happened to me before from Panama to mainland Mexico lovely people and fantastic hostels!
Holbox is gorgeous but if you want to enjoy it STAY AWAY FROM THAT HOSTEL as management has no manners or respect to their customers. Horrible experience!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Be P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolboxHostel, Manager at Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
HI guys, thanks for the review. I agree with you that the room close to the kitchen is noisy if people are looking for even silence. However, few guests complained for that because the kitchen always closes at 22.30. We understand your point but have to precise that you knew that before taking it because the kitchen was already there when you checked in. Additionally to that, as we found out together the next day, none of our employees made the comment, it was another guest. If you are scared by "deadly looks", you cannot come along with them and you wish other people to get eaten alive by mosquitoes I feel is a good decision to not come again here. Our hostel is made of piece, love and social sharing. You were from the beginning not part of that world and maybe this is the reason why you insult and are so angry about the whole situation. By the way, the money you decided to loose it because you did not want to stay, neighter change room. Both options were suggested to you. Anyway Pinocchio, from my side I wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Isla Holbox is a beautiful island and Ida Y Vuelta camping is a gorgeous looking place to stay. Reception staff and cleaning staff were lovely and helpful.

I can only say be wary of booking your whale shark tours through the accommodation, and paying more for the 'guarantee' of 'better service' than what is offered by tour agencies in the town.
We raised concerns with the manager regarding this and can honesty say we have never been treated so rudely and disdainfully as we were here. .. Taking into account we had been backpacking through south and Central America for 7 weeks prior to staying here.
Stay tuned for managements rebuttal of this review as we were informed he would 'fight it hard' and can see from previous negative reviews that Criticism is not taken constructively...
I also see that a fellow traveller has reported something similar.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ARN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolboxHostel, General Manager at Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hi guys, same as for your friends that wrote on the 18th of July, we feel sorry about what happened in the tour you four had but at the same time we are happy that you liked the hostel (check it out for memories www.holboxhostel.com).

It's funny because you write like you don't know each other while you were together, on the same boat. We talked to you more than one hour after you explained your feelings, trying to put again a smile on your face. Unfortunately we did not manage. Hope somebody else does. Don't get angry, enjoy your holiday and forget about the inconvenience. Except asking you sorry like we did, these is the only tip I can give to you. At the end, your girlfriend told me personally that this experience was really nice except the detail of the box lunch and few others. You saw Whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins, flamingos, turtles, Punta mosquito Point, Cabo catoche, the river of Boca Paola and much more… here is our tour if you don’t remember http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNE7ys6CFkQ.

Please, don't see only the tree in front of you, look at the forest behind the tree :-) Sometimes, even though you try your best things don't go like you wish. We cannot go back to change what went wrong but we can learn from it. And we did!

I agree with you in many aspects, but I still believe is not fair from your side telling lies to make your point. In fact we always answer negative reviews according to our feelings and experience and we are always keen on criticism as a boost for our improvements. We always evaluate bad situations carefully, seeing what could go wrong and what could be improved. If it is possible we shape our operational management so that these problems never occur again. Sometimes is just about expectations and nothing can be changed in the product, only in the selling procedure. We will do that as well!

I talked to you quietly, respecting your point of view, for more than one hour. I therefore don’t understand why do you lie telling that I spoke rudely and disdainfully. That’s a bad attitude and too much personal in my opinion. That is your way of handling reviews, "fight hard” to get more public. You did quite well in explaining the issue and you could have avoided getting childish. I am almost convinced that once you will be relaxed and more in piece with the situation you will understand that your words are far more heavy than what you wanted. We are not the only one that must learn something. Everybody does! And you are not an exception. Reviews are important to help businesses to improve but must be objectively true. Lies are part of the game but we do not deserve them. Anyway, thanks guys for helping us out improving our services or at least one aspect of them: expectations.

Take care. Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,010 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#19 of 19 in Holbox Island
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Property: Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping
Address: Avenida Paseo Kuka | Entre Robalo y Chacchi, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hostel consisting of ten cabins, located near the beach, city center and all services. Surrounded by coconuts, mangroves and palm trees has a rather broad garden. An appropriate atmosphere in which to hang a hammock and take a "sacred nap," where people can socialize and enjoy their vacation within nature. Warm and comfortable, the hostel offers to backpackers the chance to sleep in hammocks or beds in small wooden huts protected with mosquito net or pitch a tent on soft sand. Some bungalows palafito style with private bathroom to please couples and honeymooners and a fully equipped house, favorite option of families and small groups who want a bit more of privacy, are available as well in the property. Finally, guests can profit from restaurant, bar, hot water, fans, kitchen, small snack bar, tour desk, free Wi-Fi and relax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping Hotel Holbox Island
Hostel And Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing