We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Place - Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at this little slice of paradise on Holbox Island. We originally booked 7 days and extended it to 10 and would have loved to stay longer.
The owners, David & Sylvi are a wonderful couple and together with their great staff they made us feel relaxed and at home. Just what we were looking for to end our 2 years backpacking.
Our bungalow was a real gem. My wife loved their attention to the little things in the room and bathroom. David & Sylvi have set up the property so you can pretty much look after yourself. They and their staff are around should you need them.
It has a nice little kitchen. A great area to relax in hammocks and read your book or chill out when you need a break from the mid day heat. Its only 2 minutes walk to the beach and is great value compared to everything else on the island.
We highly recommend this place and are already trying to work out when we can go back :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ida y Vuelta is a fantastic place to stay David and the rest of the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I stayed in one of the cabanas which was cleaned daily and can highly recommend them for comfort and cleanliness.The rest of the site is beautiful with big palm trees to shade you while you hang out in one of the hammocks through the heat of the middle of the day. The beach is just a one minute walk away and the centre of town five minutes with loads of great places to eat. Isla Holbox is a beautiful island unspoilt by large developments with a very relaxed atmosphere and friendly locals Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: The cabana number 6 by the road was quite from around 10 pm onwards very comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyCarroll2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Best hostel i've ever been to. We slept in a beautiful private cabana, and were woken up every morning with the sun filtering through our yellow curtains and the sounds of the birds. It was definitely like paradise. The staff at the hostel were very friendly too, especially Antonio, the chef. He was a sweetheart, very helpful with questions, and prepared delicious low-cost meals. The second night he grilled a fish called corvina on the fire, and it was really amazing.The hostel is only a 2 or 3 minute walk from the beach. The whole island is beautiful and feels very safe. I hope to stay here again sometime!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YlimeemilY100938q092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I loved my stay at Ida y Vuelta. A friendly staff, excellent food and drink and a perfect location to see the Island. A perfect place to meet the intrepid traveler and enjoy what Isla Holbox is all about. Can't recommend it enough!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pbenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great experience. Dorm beds for about $10. There's hammocks and a great restaurant with cheap meal options, but also a shared kitchen with lots of space and dishes! Hot showers (make sure to use the stalls on the far side of the bathroom with two knobs). The staff cleans bathrooms and kitchen every day!! Live music sometimes.

Room Tip: Any of the cabana rooms are beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here for a week and the owner, David, was very kind and ran the place well. We didn't find it noisy at night. There was only one night when people were home late and partying but they were only loud for about an hour. David closed the bar to keep the place with a relaxing vibe and he urges others to party elsewhere.

There is a good communal vibe here too. Definitely recommended.

The hut was very nice as well. 350 Pesos for ours. Ask for the Huts without the sand floors, their a bit nicer and less mosquitos!

Room Tip: Take a room without sand floors. I believe deluxe cottage their called or something #7 Use hostel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great little find in Holbox - incredibly clean, very friendly, lovely atmosphere with everything you could want: hot water 24hr, wifi, 24hr electricity, the social aspect of staying in a hostel, with very chilled atmosphere, 2mins from the beach, 5min walk into town, and an onsite cafe serving breakfast and dinner - amazing food, home-cooked cakes (thank you Donatella and Antonio!). We stayed in an ensuite cabana, spacious and dreamy (we had our own padlock so could use the locker in the room). Bring the strongest mosquito repellent you can find with you and put it on the boat - Holbox is mozzie land! I will definitely stay here again, and I suggest you do too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 20 in Holbox Island
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Address: Avenida Paseo Kuka | Entre Robalo y Chacchi, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Holbox Island
Price Range: £13 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hostel consisting of ten cabins, located near the beach, city center and all services. Surrounded by coconuts, mangroves and palm trees has a rather broad garden. An appropriate atmosphere in which to hang a hammock and take a "sacred nap," where people can socialize and enjoy their vacation within nature. Warm and comfortable, the hostel offers to backpackers the chance to sleep in hammocks or beds in small wooden huts protected with mosquito net or pitch a tent on soft sand. Some bungalows palafito style with private bathroom to please couples and honeymooners and a fully equipped house, favorite option of families and small groups who want a bit more of privacy, are available as well in the property. Finally, guests can profit from restaurant, bar, hot water, fans, kitchen, small snack bar, tour desk, free Wi-Fi and relax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping Hotel Holbox Island
Hostel And Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing