We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remote get away with attention to detail...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Remote get away with attention to detail...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Mawimbi last week based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. The central location on the best beach in the hotel zone made it ideal to walk to everything. The staff and the owners went out of their way to make you feel like you are at home. Holbox is more rustic than Cancun but if you want to get away from the world this is the place.
Whale Shark season is in June July and August and it is a must, Mawimbi has the fastest and one of the newest boats on the island and when you are going far off shore speed and reliability should be considered. We had the most amazing time at Mawimbi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdotchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    59
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
84
370
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Isla Holbox is a very rustic, mellow Mexican community and Hotel Mawimbi keeps it low-key and natural. Beautiful setting, funky but tasteful artisan design. Very good food and drinks. Very quiet, peaceful island...Very calm waters good for kids. Mosquitos on the island are present in am and pm so bring lotion. If you are a big chain hotel type then this is not the place for you. This is off-grid island life as it should be. Staff was very accommodating when we had to change travel plans!
Note: we went to Holbox for the whale sharks but bad weather closed the port, postponing tours for several days...so watch the weather.

Room Tip: The hotel bungalows are all very close to one another and all within steps to the beach. Our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here and enjoyed everything from the personal touches of the owners decor,food and drinks to the amazing ocean beach.It was a comfortable homey feeling.You cannot miss their Whale shark excursion,Wow,nice boat and professionals politely in charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Mawimbi is a quaint, relaxing, delightful hotel.
Service and friendliness are amazing. Everyone was gracious and very helpful.
We did the whale shark excursion with them (not to be missed!) and got back after checkout. They generously allowed us to use a room to shower and freshen up.
We will absolutely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropicalfan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

An absolutely wonderful place to stay for relaxing and unwinding. The staff are very friendly and helpful, our room was quite comfortable. We loved the hammock on our balcony and the ones throughout the property. The palm trees on the beach are lovely, although we would have liked a couple of palapas for more shade. It's a very short walk to all of the restaurants. And their Whale Shark trip is reportedly the best on Holbox. Their boat was fast and clean and the guide very helpful. We plan to return to Mawimbi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

After two wonderful holiday vacations at Hotel Mawimbi, we eagerly await our return this year. Each time, we have booked our next trip before we left the island! The staff is amazing ---friendly and helpful, but never intrusive. After our first trip, we had fun choosing our favorite room for the next time: the Crab. This is definitely not the largest room, as it has a double, not queen, bed. However, we enjoy being on the 2nd floor overlooking the bar area. There are other rooms on this floor that are larger. We both need to bring work with us whenever we travel, and this room has provided us with reliable wifi. In addition, many people bring their computers to the bar area. The bar/restaurant is just the right size ---not so large that it draws big crowds, but big enough to have many interesting and delicious choices. We have tried a number of restaurants in town, but we generally eat our meals at the hotel ---no need to dress up. We spend all day on the beautiful and well-cared-for beach and have lunch there as well. We have discovered paradise and we plan to return every year!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui_and_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The best thing about Hotel Mawimbi is its location. It is on the prettiest stretch of sand, with the most palm trees, and best beach chairs, beds, and hammocks, on the island. My husband and I walked up and down the main stretch of beach and nothing compared to the beach at Mawimbi, except the beach at Casa Las Tortugas, which is right next door. Walking towards town, the water and sand is not nearly as clean or clear and there are many boats and piers there. Walking away from town, the beaches are equally nice but there are no palm trees or palapas to sit under. The hotels in that direction (away from town) have beautiful landscaping and swimming pools, but their "beach areas" are set way, WAY back from the water, whereas Mawimbi is just steps from the water. That is Mawimbi's biggest advantage over other hotels on this beautiful, peaceful, laid back island paradise.

Other advantages include the people that work at Mawimbi. Claudia, Onny, Jeevyl, Francisco, and all the employees make you feel like family. They go the extra mile to see that your every need and desire is fulfilled while you are on the island. They will make phone calls for you, translate for you, advise you on the best tours to take and who to take them with. They really care that your vacation is all that you dreamed it to be.

The only reason I did not give Mawimbi 5 stars is because of the bed. Oh my gosh, it was like sleeping on a concrete slab! At first it made me really sore, but I started taking an Alleve before bed and that helped to reduce the pain of waking up in the morning after sleeping on a hard mattress. We stayed in an oceanfront room and there was an extra twin bed in the room that was softer so sometimes I slept on that.

Everything else about Mawimbi was perfect---great food, good AC, friendly people, beautiful ocean and beach, and a great value. Would we stay there again? Absolutely! But, I would take some egg crate foam to lay on top of the bed next time to soften it up a bit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice--we looked at others besides our own, which was oceanfront, while we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makin-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Property: Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing