We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we hoped it would be.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our first trip to Holbox and we stayed at Mawimbi the last week of October. We were very happy with our decision to stay here. It's all been said in other reviews - friendly and helpful staff, beautifully maintained rooms and beach, and a perfect place to relax and leave the world behind. We found the food at the Mawimbi restaurant to be quite good and competitively priced with other restaurants in town. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank needtotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

amazing island anyways and then this little authentic hotel really just was the icing on the cake! it is set right in the picture perfect beach with a little bar, painted chairs, lovely rooms, cute handmade details. Absolutely perfect and probably one of the nicest places I have ever seen. Holbox is a bit off the track but its worth the trip, make sure you manage to see some whale sharks (only in the season). Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: if you are noise sensitive take the upper floors as you hear people walking upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mialana1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Utilized the Holbox transfer where a driver was right out the Cancun airport and after a two hour drive and a 30 minute ferry crossing and golf cart taxi you will arrive at the Mawimbi. You can have the hotel arrange this so that it really is a seamless experience. The Mawimbi is the perfect place if you want to get away,recharge and experience the simple life of a clean, friendly and peaceful property. The rooms and grounds are very well maintained. You will be able to rest with the AC or or under the room fan with the windows opened. The restaurant is open from morning to evening. Your breakfast includes a bowl of fresh fruit, toasted baguettes with jam and your choice of coffee, cappuccino or espresso. We had their guacamole with crispy tortilla chips in the afternoon next to the lounge chairs on the beach and pasta along with fish in the evening at the restaurant all served with a friendly smiling staff.. Stayed in the star room which had two double beds and two hammocks outside on the private deck. They have very good wifi both in the rooms and at the restaurant.

Can't wait to return and take a tour of the 3 islands and see the whale sharks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FRQNTRAVLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I had the perfect experience at Mawimbi. Small boutique hotel feel but a much better experience. The staff is friendly, the rooms are really well kept and the hotel is right on the beach. No need to bring much as the hotel is right on the beach so I went barefoot from my room down the stairs and was right on the beach. The hotel maintains a very good outdoor restaurant and the staff is very friendly and very accommodating and take a vested interest in making sure you are happy and comfortable. I went during low season so the beach was practically empty and I felt like I had own private beach!! Looking forward to going again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank giraffe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We visited Hotel Mawimbi a few years back right before I moved back to the USA. My Cancun roommates and I were ending our run in Mexico and decided to take a stay on Isla Holbox, far away from the craziness of Cancun! We were not disappointed by the tranquilty and beauty of the island. The entire staff was friendly at the hotel and the food was amazing as well! But the view from Hotel Mawimbi's beach was it... Just spectacular... I hope to go back one day and take my wife with me!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JskinnyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

this place is perfect. right on the beach, a reasonable price (there are a lot of pricey places in holbox), and an outstanding staff. a friend and i rented a room with a small kitchen so we could cook, which was a benefit as the food in holbox is both expensive and meh, not delicious. we had everything we needed, took two naps a day in the hammocks on the beach, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. chatting with onny, claudia and jeevhl was great: they are just lovely, hospitable, intelligent and fun people. at night, we sat on the beach with a bottle of wine under a million stars, and played in the sand with bioluminescent algae, which was a pretty impressive highlight (pun intended).

the great thing about the location of mawimbi is that it is just a block outside of town, so you get the privacy of places like las nubes, but can still easily walk into town for supplies. i totally recommend this hotel, and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: the double level room with small kitchen is right on the road, not on the beach (i mean, it's li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewer3252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We came to lovely Holbox durning our honey moon this September. Got to this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. Wow, this hotel was beyond!

Everything about Mawimbi is so accurate: the rooms, the service, the owner - Oni, The location, the view from the room. We loved it! Simply perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: £57 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing