We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to go Back! Amazing and so Peaceful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ready to go Back! Amazing and so Peaceful”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

What a pleasant surprise this little resort and island were to us. We have been going to Mexico for over 14 years and Isla Holbox is a true gem. The hotel is so charming. Clean, comfortable, right on the beach and the staff are wonderful. The pictures on the website do not do it justice.
Alex and Naty with the whale shark tour were great. Very professional and easy going.

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — nothing-it was perfect!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Peach0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    64
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
390
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I agree with all the great reviews, we enjoyed our stay, the bar/restaurant, whale sharks, etc. It’s all been well described by others. I just thought I'd add a few specifics about our room. So many of the reviews praised the junior suite so that I was a little hesitant to book a different room but the suite was not available. No problem. Our first night we were in the standard room without balcony. It was fine, clean, adequate size etc. If that’s all they have, take it. However, It’s on the ground floor and near the road. The golf carts were a bit noisy during the day but quieted later, even on a busy Saturday night. No view. Also, a little farther from the water cooler, a minor inconvenience.

Our other nights we were in one of the standard second floor balcony rooms, which was great. There was a nice breeze coming in the second story window (though we appreciate having the a/c part of the time). There is a wonderful narrow balcony that wraps around the building with a private hammock and small table. Great for being lazy as well as hanging wet bathing suits. There is a cooler with purified water, a community fridge and lending library just outside the door. Even if you are on a budget, I suggest spending the extra $10.

Both rooms had plenty of hot water, storage and charm. I’m sure the junior suites are wonderful but we were not disappointed with our room at all.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheArTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Good Location, everyone was nice, Laura helped me out with good advice. Love the dogs. Guides on whale shark tour did a great job. Rooms were clean.

  • Liked — People, cleanliness, price, location
  • Disliked — I love the topless woman, but with little children around they should go to a more secluded area.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wildlifeship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth,va.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Mawimbi is beautiful and wonderfully maintained. All of the people who work there are kind and professional. Onny is a rare and very special person. You are very lucky if you meet many like her in your life time. We went there for whale sharks -- they are awesome--- and left with visions of a hammock,soft breezes, and a Modelo in our hands as we listened to a great selection of music. You will note that the only negative response is from someone who never went there. At the risk of having you get my room I say---give your self a treat

  • Liked — very quaint
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank watabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

others have already said that this is paradise on earth and i can't agree more! there are definitely not enough stars to rate this hotel. my husband and i stayed here for 4 nights last week...we were originally booked to stay only 3 nights, but decided to extend another night because we loved it so much on the island. my favorite thing was the hammocks that were everywhere on the property, including our 2nd floor balcony. i think i tried out every hammock on our stay at the mawimbi. laura the manager was really nice and responded quickly when i corresponded with her via email to make the reservations. the owner onny was very friendly as well and we liked playing with her 3 doggies. the whale shark tour was awesome and so was our guide alex and boat captain. the hotel was just a few shorts minutes walk away from town. we went there every day to eat, but the hotel bar on the beach was also very good for snacks - try the nachos and mango smoothie. the hotel had a little bookshelf upstairs right by our room which had some novels - i caught up on some reading while enjoying the hammocks. the hotel was clean and comfortable...the only thing i would have done differently was to spring for the beachside junior suite - next time then! we will definitely return - and hopefully soon!

  • Liked — everything!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopyjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holbox
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

on the 15th of july a friend of mine and me left Italy to search some beautiful palce where was possible relaxing ourselves....
we decided to go to Mexico, in a little peace of paradise called: HOLBOX ISLAND in front of Cancun....
here we finded a really exciting hotel: Posada mawimbi (www.mawimbi.net) where we finded all we were looking for: lovable and friendly people, a very good service and an amazing place..... the Posada has 11 rooms all in the tipical Mexican style, the beach is the most beautiful in the island with a lot of coconut palms and the most amazing sunset i've ever seen!!!!
they also have 3 funny dogs: Niky, Tommy and Leo: i miss theme a lot!!!!
i think we really finded the Earthly Paradise here....... so i suggest all of you to visit Holbox Island.... and Posada Mawimbi....

thank a loto to Onny, Laura, Carmelo, Niky, Tommy, Leo, and all of their friends we met there........

Benedetta

  • Liked — all!!!
  • Disliked — nothing!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank benedettalapilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logans2008
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

Married in Cancun in a 5 star hotel we were looking for a getaway from everything except eachother. We looked at hotels for months then found this gem. The town is so sweet and you really get to know the culture and people even with just a few days there. They made the trip so special and helped us with anything we needed. We leared the scariest thing in Holbox is the kids driving the golf carts and the "beasties" that come out in the evening (mosqitos) but play a game of bocce ball with some Scotsmen with a drink then go to your patio and watch a sunset and your day has ended well. This is not for someone wanting a "pamper me trip" but for couples who want to walk up and down the beach, get to know your neighbors over a beer and lay in a hammock....nothing more. Breakfast was great and very inexpensive. We plan to go back for years to come.

The room had a charm and for a Hotel Manager this is alot for me to say that I could not have wished for more! The housekeepers keept the rooms very clean. There was a refrigerator in the room, we went into town (maybe 1 block away) and bought a case of Sol for $10 from a teenager running the beer stand, I think we woke him up from a nap in his hammock, and filled up our fridge.

The owner would go out in the evenings and play with her dogs by blowing up a balloon and running it up a palm tree and the dogs would chase it, very cute. Going out for dinner you have a few good restaurants to go to but more of the experience is walking around the square seeing all of them and knowing you are in a whole other world.

Make sure to buy the mosquito repelant the locals tell you (not Off) and you will be fine, as they joke they are huge but we did not get bitten too much as long as we put on the spray.

Please do not go to Mawimbi we want to keep this to ourselves!

  • Liked — Nothing could have been more perfect
  • Disliked — Bed was a little hard
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Logans2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Property: Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing