We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Great location, wonderful hotelito and very kindly guys.
You can read positive review posted before and i want just agree. Just a thing. You can read everywhere about mosquito on the isle. I've benn there in august and i never use repellent. It's impossible go to holbox and do not swim with with whale sharks. I can recommend you the hotel staff. Alex and nati are great guide and awasome guys

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Luca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2008

So beatiful, peaceful and the people are GREAT!. Good drinks at the bar. Bar closes early which can be nice b/c it keeps it quiet in the evening. A/C worked well in the room. Naps in the hammocks are Divine. Arrange your Whale Shark tour through them and you get Alex, the best quide.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SLETexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

What a pleasant surprise this little resort and island were to us. We have been going to Mexico for over 14 years and Isla Holbox is a true gem. The hotel is so charming. Clean, comfortable, right on the beach and the staff are wonderful. The pictures on the website do not do it justice.
Alex and Naty with the whale shark tour were great. Very professional and easy going.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Peach0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I agree with all the great reviews, we enjoyed our stay, the bar/restaurant, whale sharks, etc. It’s all been well described by others. I just thought I'd add a few specifics about our room. So many of the reviews praised the junior suite so that I was a little hesitant to book a different room but the suite was not available. No problem. Our first night we were in the standard room without balcony. It was fine, clean, adequate size etc. If that’s all they have, take it. However, It’s on the ground floor and near the road. The golf carts were a bit noisy during the day but quieted later, even on a busy Saturday night. No view. Also, a little farther from the water cooler, a minor inconvenience.

Our other nights we were in one of the standard second floor balcony rooms, which was great. There was a nice breeze coming in the second story window (though we appreciate having the a/c part of the time). There is a wonderful narrow balcony that wraps around the building with a private hammock and small table. Great for being lazy as well as hanging wet bathing suits. There is a cooler with purified water, a community fridge and lending library just outside the door. Even if you are on a budget, I suggest spending the extra $10.

Both rooms had plenty of hot water, storage and charm. I’m sure the junior suites are wonderful but we were not disappointed with our room at all.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheArTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Good Location, everyone was nice, Laura helped me out with good advice. Love the dogs. Guides on whale shark tour did a great job. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wildlifeship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Mawimbi is beautiful and wonderfully maintained. All of the people who work there are kind and professional. Onny is a rare and very special person. You are very lucky if you meet many like her in your life time. We went there for whale sharks -- they are awesome--- and left with visions of a hammock,soft breezes, and a Modelo in our hands as we listened to a great selection of music. You will note that the only negative response is from someone who never went there. At the risk of having you get my room I say---give your self a treat

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank watabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

others have already said that this is paradise on earth and i can't agree more! there are definitely not enough stars to rate this hotel. my husband and i stayed here for 4 nights last week...we were originally booked to stay only 3 nights, but decided to extend another night because we loved it so much on the island. my favorite thing was the hammocks that were everywhere on the property, including our 2nd floor balcony. i think i tried out every hammock on our stay at the mawimbi. laura the manager was really nice and responded quickly when i corresponded with her via email to make the reservations. the owner onny was very friendly as well and we liked playing with her 3 doggies. the whale shark tour was awesome and so was our guide alex and boat captain. the hotel was just a few shorts minutes walk away from town. we went there every day to eat, but the hotel bar on the beach was also very good for snacks - try the nachos and mango smoothie. the hotel had a little bookshelf upstairs right by our room which had some novels - i caught up on some reading while enjoying the hammocks. the hotel was clean and comfortable...the only thing i would have done differently was to spring for the beachside junior suite - next time then! we will definitely return - and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopyjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,139 reviews
0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: £56 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing