We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the island!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at Hotel Mawimbi for 10 days in March. I had a wonderful visit. The hotel is beautiful and I loved the attention to detail and the lounge chairs and beds on the beach. The staff went out of their way with great service. I highly recommend a visit to Holbox and Hotel Mawimbi!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

It was just wonderful! We stayed there 2 nights in April 2014. The service was really good, Hanna one of the host was very kind to us. The place in itself is wonderful, right on the beach, not crowded. The food is pretty good too, we had dinner one time there. The breakfast was simple but good some tartines with butter and jam and a fruit platter.
On the beach many mattresses and hamack also kayak to rent for free.
You can't go to Mexico without stopping at Holbox and especially at the Mawibi Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Mawimbi in March 2014 and it did not disappoint. After doing AI's for a while we were looking for somewhere different (Holbox) and a hotel where we could totally relax and Mawimbi delivered. It was peaceful, quiet with a good bar/restaurant that we had breakfast and lunch at most days ( I personally enjoyed the fish taco's on a few occasions). You will not find the spring break crowd there, and there is no morning rush to secure chairs in a good spot as they are all good and there are plenty. There is no nightly entertainment so the property is nice and quiet at night, perfect for a bottle of wine on the room patio. We did that most nights and just played some music from Songza on our iPad. If eating/drinking at the hotel you can run a tab at the bar and pay upon checkout so no need to keep peso's on you while on the property. Rooms are basic and clean with ensuite washrooms, no in room amenities such as TV, phone, coffee maker but there is good Wi-Fi around the bar area. Housekeeping did a good job as well and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We arranged our transfers to/from Cancun through the hotel and the process was seamless and effortless both ways.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, some a bit larger than others. Two have kitchenettes but these have no view...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank novak500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a small, authentic, family owned hotel. Rooms are a little small but have a king sized bed that is the most comfortable I've found in our many trips to mexico. Maids do a great job, very clean. Bugs are a problem in Holbox and I did get some bites while sleeping; however, we were in and out to the nice, private, balcony each room has and its impossible to keep mosquitos out. I brought my own shampoo and conditioner so the hotel only gave us one set..this led to my husband using mine and me running out... Our room had a hair dryer but no coffee maker (we brought our own). They open for breakfast at 7:30... we get up at 5am, so in room coffee is important to us. The location is fantastic..a two minute walk outside the town square, gorgeous beach but no waiter service. No problem, you walk over and order and they'll bring it out to you. Never had any problem getting a nice spot-really nice beach beds. Internet service was spotty and a little aggravating...but this is a sleepy little island with sand roads. It would have been nice to have TV service, especially for the weather channel... and since the internet was slow, but we didn't miss it that much. Nice towels and linens..after a week they brought us new beach towels...we could have gone to the lobby I suppose. New bath towels every few days... The rooms in the main hotel are all upstairs, they have louvers on the upper half of the door..make sure you close these because you can hear everything. The maids open them every day...probably to air the room. All the rooms open onto a small circular area..so privacy could be an issue. Nice library to borrow books...nice decor throughout. Food was good but they were out of something we tried to order every day (but not rum!). Its hard to maintain a good selection of fresh ingredients in a small hotel/restaurant, but I would rather see a smaller menu than be told something is not available every day. One day, I tried to order coconut shrimp and I was told they needed 3 hour notice.. there are other shrimp dishes on the menu (shrimp pasta is great) so I couldn't understand this. The included breakfast is REALLY good. Lots of fruit-kiwi, banana, melon, pineapple... Toast from fresh baked bread.. homemade jelly, generous servings!
All in all, I would stay at Mawimbi again...rooms are a little small but it is priced accordingly. The location is fantastic... Nice, very relaxing stay. Owners are unobtrusive and friendly, staff are nice.

Room Tip: Palm trees block the ocean view from the ocean front rooms. The oceanfront bungalows have a better v...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colleenfromalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Could not be better.We had the best vacation and this hotel is so amazing. The staff are so nice .The grounds are the best on the island .The rooms are a dream.Food is really good.We loved Holbox island.

Room Tip: all great rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sflovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Second time at Mawimbi Hotel and still the best on the Island. for us. Nice environment, clean inside and outside, nice friendly staff and owners.The best location on the beach for sure with yhe best sunchairs and beds.
We will for sure be back at our paradise island.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JillHallenskiold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Posada Mawimbi offers their guests a great location and is most definitely a charming little hotel. The staff work so well together to make your stay one of total relaxation. Smiling and happy to help. Jeevyl was very helpful to us and great to talk with about the area. The hotel has small well decorated rooms that offer everything you need to enjoy your stay in Holbox. Some rooms are kitchen supplied but getting meat on the island is not easy. We saw none and were told that there is suppliers who sell to the hotels so don't plan on cooking meals in if you expect to have steak dinner. There was no meat to buy in the stores other than processed lunch meats. The walk to town to eat is a short distance away or you can eat right there at the Barquita Restaurant. Restaurants are plenty and very good in Holbox. The beach is well tended to and other hotel guests came and used the beach at Mawimbi (for a fee) to sit on the beach or eat at the restaurant. The owners are on site and available if you needed or there was someone at the front desk to help. We had excellent internet access from our room. The wifi was strong but sometimes flickered on and off but signed right back on within seconds. The owners have four dogs who greet you and yet are not underfoot. Bring them dog snacks and you will be accompanied all day! There is no hair dryer so bring your own and the shampoo, conditioner and soap provided are all quality products that we enjoyed using. Bug spray is a necessity for not only the tiny mosquitoes but for the "no see'ems" and we were protected having sprayed ourselves every day and evening. We did see others who were covered in bug bites. There is a basket in the restaurant with bug spray and sunscreen left by other guests. We left behind our spray for others to finish. Mawimbi arranged our transfer to and from Cancun and the drive was interesting and efficient. Learning to speak some basic Spanish here is recommended although there is lots of English spoken. There are travelers here from all over the world and we heard different languages daily. The hotel also arranged for us to go out on a boat tour, fishing and to the cenote and bird island. They also supplied us with an alarm clock and box lunch to take when we had to leave early in the morning. They think of everything when you yourself may have forgotten. Our driver back to Cancun told us that Mawimbi is always filled and one can see why. It is a sweet spot in a wonderful location and highly recommended. Thank you Mawimbi for making our vacation one to remember. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sun4usOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,077 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: £56 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing