We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity on the sand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serenity on the sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is small, intimate and really representative of how big things some in small packages. The rooms are immaculate with sea breezes blowing in daily. The hotel is barely 200 feet from the water, no concrete and parking lots, just soft clean sand under your barefeet. If you are looking for lots of electronics and ammenities, this is not the hotel for you. If you like quiet, simplicity and reading in a hammock you can't beat Mawimbi. The restaurant on site has phenomenal food and any water tour you might be interested in will pull right in to the cove to get you. The only drawback is nightly mosquitos on the beach so bring your repellant. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marsha680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    58
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
84
365
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gambrills, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A wonderful place that one can easily forget all of their troubles and simply allow the beauty of this beach to make you feel as if your Life is renewed. The most difficult part is having to leave!

The hotel staff are incredibly friendly... the rooms are spacious and clean... the beach itself is maintained... and the restaurant/bar is a wonderful way to spend breakfast, lunch, dinner or after hour drinks while watching an almost nightly gorgeous sunset.

Did I mention that you really will not want to leave?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

What's not to love about Hotel Mawimbi and Isla Holbox? It's paradise! I've not been to Tahiti but I'm guessing the glaring white sand and clear turquoise/emerald ocean at Holbox is comparable.It's breathtaking! Every time I looked up from my beach lounge chair I was in disbelief. Had I just been dropped down to the ultimate tropical spot?

Mawimbi itself was perfect for my husband and me. We both needed a break from work and Mawimbi did not disappoint. We loved everything about the hotel: the peacefulllness (no booming music like at some Holbox beach hotels), the cleanliness (staff is always cleaning), the aesthetic of the rooms and hotel grounds-simply designed with Mexican decorations, the food and drinks, the clean beach (other beach front hotels had not bothered to clean the drifted seaweed), the friendliness of the staff.

Some reviews complained about the smallness of the rooms, but I couldn't understand the reason. How much time does one spend in a room when there's an amazing beach and ocean a few steps from your door? We thought the size was perfect and the room clean and lovely.

If you're looking for a club med type place with a lot of activity and noise, this is not the place for you and your family. There is kayaking, paddleboarding, and kite boarding nearby and boat trips to nearby islands (there's also one movie theater in town!), but all in all Holbox is quiet and reserved. Unfortunately, we missed the whale sharks and flamingoes, which Holbox is famous for, but we will return someday to see those novelties.

Town is charming, a few steps from Mawimbi, filled with many good restaurants, some simple and inexpensive, but some quite gourmet. Homemade pasta in Mexico? Yep, and outstanding too!

If you like to shop, there's enough to purchase on Holbox: jewelry, clothing, purses, trinkets, but I wouldn't say this is one of the features that makes Holbox so special.

We just returned and are still glowing from the experience. If you don't mind flying 5 hours from Northern California, taking a 2 hour bus ride, then a 30 minute ferry ride, you will be rewarded with a tropical paradise.

Room Tip: We had both an upstairs in the back and then a beach front room. Both were good. The upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sierra15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were staying for 4 nights in April 2014 at the Posada Mawimbi. The hotel grounds are lovely decorated, clean and well maintained, the hotel is conveniently located from the island’s centre with its restaurants and directly at the beach.

The beach is overall beautiful and the hotel provides spacious comfortable sun beds and hammocks for free; the beach was to our liking never crowded. The only minus, the broad and thick layer of seaweed which has to be passed through when entering the water was slightly disgusting. We understand that the local biodiversity needs seaweed to an extent, but I am not sure if that tremendous amount of it is necessary and for our point of view it would have been nice to have at least a small area where one could have entered the sea without walking through it. I can’t speak for all rooms, but our room (Flamingo) was clean, but basic, dark and small and the shower had no water pressure and hardly any water coming out. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful, it is fair to say that the Posada Mawimbi is overall good value for money.

My recommendation is however, to make sure that all valuables and even items which might objectively not be real valuables are kept at all times in the safe! I kept my MP3 player after charging in my headphone case onto one of the shelves by the safe and not in the safe as it was already an older and basic model, but sadly and annoyingly - as all of our holiday music was stored onto it - it mysteriously disappeared out of the room and despite me giving the room cleaner the opportunity to return it keeping her/his face by stating it might have fallen out of the case somehow and asking whether it has been found while cleaning already respectively if the room could be rechecked as knew for sure I did not take it out of this room at any time it has not been returned.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Angie-and-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawimbi, Gerente at Holbox Hotel Mawimbi, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for the good comments, however, it seems that you forgot that you realized that you lost your MP3, time after you left the hotel, it not dissapeared "mysteriously" from the room. I remind you that you sent to us an email with the next explanation: I realised that my MP3 Player must have fallen out
of its box which was slightly open.

So, your MP3 could have fallen out of its box that was slightly open in the room, in the taxi, or in the ferry. Is absolutely unfair to blame a person of theft.
As soon as we received your email, the room was checked and your MP3 wasn´t there.

We're very sorry you lost your MP3, but if it had fallen in the room, you can be sure, we would have sent it to you immediately.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at Hotel Mawimbi for 10 days in March. I had a wonderful visit. The hotel is beautiful and I loved the attention to detail and the lounge chairs and beds on the beach. The staff went out of their way with great service. I highly recommend a visit to Holbox and Hotel Mawimbi!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

It was just wonderful! We stayed there 2 nights in April 2014. The service was really good, Hanna one of the host was very kind to us. The place in itself is wonderful, right on the beach, not crowded. The food is pretty good too, we had dinner one time there. The breakfast was simple but good some tartines with butter and jam and a fruit platter.
On the beach many mattresses and hamack also kayak to rent for free.
You can't go to Mexico without stopping at Holbox and especially at the Mawibi Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Mawimbi in March 2014 and it did not disappoint. After doing AI's for a while we were looking for somewhere different (Holbox) and a hotel where we could totally relax and Mawimbi delivered. It was peaceful, quiet with a good bar/restaurant that we had breakfast and lunch at most days ( I personally enjoyed the fish taco's on a few occasions). You will not find the spring break crowd there, and there is no morning rush to secure chairs in a good spot as they are all good and there are plenty. There is no nightly entertainment so the property is nice and quiet at night, perfect for a bottle of wine on the room patio. We did that most nights and just played some music from Songza on our iPad. If eating/drinking at the hotel you can run a tab at the bar and pay upon checkout so no need to keep peso's on you while on the property. Rooms are basic and clean with ensuite washrooms, no in room amenities such as TV, phone, coffee maker but there is good Wi-Fi around the bar area. Housekeeping did a good job as well and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We arranged our transfers to/from Cancun through the hotel and the process was seamless and effortless both ways.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, some a bit larger than others. Two have kitchenettes but these have no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank novak500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Property: Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing