We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Hotel Mawimbi, wonderful place on the island!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2008

From the friendly reception to the resident pups frolicking in the sand, Hotel Mawimbi is a warm, wonderful piece of paradise.

The hosts and staff are attentive, the drinks and food are very good and the rooms are simple, but clean and well-maintained. We stayed in the Jr. Suite, which was about the size of a typical US hotel room, which was twice as large as the cabanas with the kitchens. It was nice to have some space to come home to, but if you're ok with a little less space then the cabana or regular rooms will do just fine. Every room comes stocked with a 5 gallon water drum (like on a water cooler) so drinking water is plentiful. Neither of us experienced a single issue with food or water in 9 days on the island.

The hotel is owner-operated, and the owners' pride shows. The staff is friendly and attentive, and they keep the place immaculate. Every morning you walk out to a freshly raked beach, complete with multiple hammocks and extra-wide cushioned beach chairs. The sand in the ocean is so soft it feels like you're walking on flour. The beach has so many collectible shells on it every morning that you'll be amazed.

A really nice bonus was the outdoor bar (the "Bar-quito"), where the hotel serves breakfast, lunch, and happy hour drinks. the breakfast is wonderful. Their tropical drinks are incredible. Beers cost $1.25 US. How can you NOT love it here?

The hotel does not have telephones or televisions in the rooms, which was just fine with us. There is cell coverage on the island, so bring your 3G phone and a SIM card if you want to talk to people back home. The hotel has free WiFi, which was an unexpected bonus (I'm writing this review from the Bar-Quito using the WiFi).

Isla Holbox itself is a sleepy fishing village, and nightlife is limited to eating in one of the many good restaurants, or shopping in the tiny village stores. The restaurant called "Zarabanda" is a real stand-out, and the owner/chef tkaes the orders himself. If you love seafood soup, this place will knock your socks off. Other restaurants about, and two other favorites include a taco stand in the city square that seved up a cochinita pibil taco that was crack-like in its ability to hook me (I went back three times, tacos were $1.10 US), and the ceviches at the restaurant "Edelyn" were great.

Some folks talk about the mosquitos. The mosquitos are no worse than any non-urban location. Bring some bug spray and you'll be just fine. All of the rooms came with mosquito netting over the bed, but we honestly never had to use it. I didn't see one bug in our room all week.

Since we're dog lovers, it was really great to see all of the dogs running around the place (four tiny terriers, who were the coolest little guys in the world.) They only added to our experience. If I was a dog, I'd think Holbox Island was heaven.

We chose to rent a car and drive from Cancun, which took about 3 hours. The roads are very bumpy, and we passed through a number of tiny villages. We then parked our car in the city of Chiquila and took the ferry across to Isla Holbox. We rented a car from Alamo for $50 US for the entire week and the ferry cost $4 US per person, each way. That sure beat the $240 round trip for a taxi or private car.

Bottom line, if you want to sit on one on of the most pristine beaches in the world, sipping fruity drinks, and doing absolutely nothing for a few days, then stay at Posada Mawimbi. If you're looking for Cancun-style nightlife, then this ain't your place. It gets so quiet by 9 PM that you'd think the island was deserted.

We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ajung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2008

We had a fantastic week staying on the beach in this beautiful hotel. The staff and owners could not have been more welcoming, attentive and friendly throughout our stay. The attention to detail from the pick up at Cancun through to the day of our departure made the holiday and Mawimbi so special.

The breakfasts and lunches were great at the beach bar. The whale sharks trip was memorable and the Mawimbi guides were exceptional, and like everything else at the hotel, it was extremely well organised.

One day we shall return to this beautiful island and will have no hesitation in booking into the Mawimbi.

James and Family
London, UK

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JCALBRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Great location, wonderful hotelito and very kindly guys.
You can read positive review posted before and i want just agree. Just a thing. You can read everywhere about mosquito on the isle. I've benn there in august and i never use repellent. It's impossible go to holbox and do not swim with with whale sharks. I can recommend you the hotel staff. Alex and nati are great guide and awasome guys

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Luca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

So beatiful, peaceful and the people are GREAT!. Good drinks at the bar. Bar closes early which can be nice b/c it keeps it quiet in the evening. A/C worked well in the room. Naps in the hammocks are Divine. Arrange your Whale Shark tour through them and you get Alex, the best quide.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SLETexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

What a pleasant surprise this little resort and island were to us. We have been going to Mexico for over 14 years and Isla Holbox is a true gem. The hotel is so charming. Clean, comfortable, right on the beach and the staff are wonderful. The pictures on the website do not do it justice.
Alex and Naty with the whale shark tour were great. Very professional and easy going.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Peach0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I agree with all the great reviews, we enjoyed our stay, the bar/restaurant, whale sharks, etc. It’s all been well described by others. I just thought I'd add a few specifics about our room. So many of the reviews praised the junior suite so that I was a little hesitant to book a different room but the suite was not available. No problem. Our first night we were in the standard room without balcony. It was fine, clean, adequate size etc. If that’s all they have, take it. However, It’s on the ground floor and near the road. The golf carts were a bit noisy during the day but quieted later, even on a busy Saturday night. No view. Also, a little farther from the water cooler, a minor inconvenience.

Our other nights we were in one of the standard second floor balcony rooms, which was great. There was a nice breeze coming in the second story window (though we appreciate having the a/c part of the time). There is a wonderful narrow balcony that wraps around the building with a private hammock and small table. Great for being lazy as well as hanging wet bathing suits. There is a cooler with purified water, a community fridge and lending library just outside the door. Even if you are on a budget, I suggest spending the extra $10.

Both rooms had plenty of hot water, storage and charm. I’m sure the junior suites are wonderful but we were not disappointed with our room at all.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheArTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Good Location, everyone was nice, Laura helped me out with good advice. Love the dogs. Guides on whale shark tour did a great job. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wildlifeship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,191 reviews
0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: £53 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing