We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“idyllic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zomay Hotel Holbox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zomay Hotel Holbox
Ranked #14 of 33 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Stayed here for a week and it was lovely, great location, great cabana, great beach.
Just a couple of points to mention - we negotiated *breakfast included" but the staff must have been told to try to give us the smallest breakfast they could get away with, still good for the waistline.
Also the guy (owner?) that showed us round told us there was no hot water in the cabana, which later was switched on for us by Rosy (boiler round back of cabana).
It was just a bit insulting that when paying £350 for a weeks accomodation the owner would try to scrimp on letting us wash in hot water and try to save a few pennies at breakfast time by starving us.
Overall though, it was great and we'd love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vespaloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    32
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We traveled to Villa los Mapaches over the holidays for rest and relaxation. We found the ideal location, with a friendly caring staff who provided us with a wonderful vacation. Our "villa" was ideal - well kept, clean, and comfortable. More than we had imagined from viewing the website. The hotel's location is the best on the island - beautiful beach and quiet streets, with a tranquil garden that inspires calm and well being.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

When I first arrived to Villa los Mapaches, it seemed like everything was going wrong. The whale shark dive was going to be more expensive than I had been told, then was canceled all together; I had been under the impression that the rooms had A/C (I'm not sure why I thought that) and they definitely did not. I was attacked by horseflies and mosquitoes while walking on the beach. And despite all of this, I can't wait to go back to Holbox. Rosy is fantastic- she's helpful beyond what I would've hoped for. We stayed in the blue room- it isn't quite spartan, but it is mostly just necessities. When I was looking for somewhere to visit, I wanted something away from the tourist trail. Villa los Mapaches (and Rosy!) provided the begining of the best vacation I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snizzlenort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Villas Los Mapaches is a quiet, beautiful property on the beach. We stayed inthe Dolphin Cabana, a small, immaculate and artfully decorated palapa located in the middle of a beautiful tropical garden with a fountain that was a cool-off spot for a variety of birds. The bed was comfortable, complete with a mesquito net. The beach was a very short walk down a lighted, white sand path through the garden. It was wide and clean with a variety of chaises, chairs and hammocks. The water is warm and clear. You could walk 20 feet in knee deep water. My husband swam out about 150 feet and found the water no deeper than about 6 feet.
What made out trip outstanding was the staff. Italo met us at the gate with warm greetings in his special language of Italian/Spanish/English. He made a point of greeting the guests personally every day and was available to give advise and answer questions. Sabina greeted us in the morning with her beautiful smile, breakfast and coffee. The food was great and her cappucino was to die for. She told us that some of the herbs and salad items were grown in her own garden and a lot of the rest of the produce was grown in a private garden on the main land. Lorenzo cooked and served our evening meal. He had our table set with flowers and candles. The food was delicious with an Italian flair and served beautifully. Rosie was the one that helped with our original reservation answering all of my questions promptly through Email. She helped us arrange a Kayak tour through the mangroves and cheerfully answered our questions about the Island. Tony greeted us every morning with a smile as he tended the gardens.
As much as I would like to keep this area a secret, I have to wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone that would enjoy a quiet retreat on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

The ferry got closer and Holbox looked unchanged for the most part. The golf cart was waiting to take us to our island home or what we see as our home, Villa Los Mapaches. We travel to relax, read, walk, see a few sites, and enjoy great food and people.

This was our third time visiting Liliana and Rosy and it was wonderful as usual. Quiet, only 4 beautiful thatched roof palapas and one apartment. They are all situated in a tropical garden that shows new facets each day with the changes of the sun. Patterns raked in the sand, an occasional coconut humping on the sand, flowers, and the ocean near at hand. Our own hammock and two on the beach beckon for our reading time. A beautiful beach with lounges and kayaks for guests. A supper at Mocambo was private, quiet and wonderful. Wish we had done it more than once.

The restaurants on the island offer great meals of fresh seafood and island fare. They are never crowded. The pace for meals is leisurely with the emphasis on enjoyment. The Calibri, on the town square, was our favorite for breakfast as you can sit and watch the town wake up and walk by. A beach bar at sunset is perfect to start the evening with.

Rosy arranged a trip to 3 Mayan sites in our own taxi that was $100 less expensive than the commercial tour and our taxi driver was great. True world heritage sites.

There is little night life, but an occasional band or the locals getting together for jam sessions maybe found. If you get a chance to hear Pie Desnudo you are in for a treat.

The island is not for the pampered, electronified, fast paced ninnies who haunt the tourist traps of the world. It is for people who want to take the time to relax, smell the flowers and be treated as guests and friends.

What I really need to do is Shut Up so the island stays our off the beaten path haven.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Our little bungalow was perfect. In the trees, plants and garden our little Dolphin room was great. The room was clean and well decorated and quiet -- it was just lovely I would highly recommend this place. Rosie was great not just on setting us up to stay but once we were there she was helpful and a real sweetheart. We used the kayaks and the bikes every day and loved sitting in the hammocks and reading one of the many books that were available in the rooms and at the front desk.

My only complaint was more about the restaurant than the hotel -- they weren't real together when we ate there and we ended waiting two hours for our fish dinner and they did nothing to compensate for that (perhaps offering a free something) so we didn't return for any other meals. We did find many other places to eat that were great.

Take the tour of bird island, etc. it was great as well.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoatgirlColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

We steer clear of the mega, all inclusive resorts; instead we prefer to vacation in out of way places enjoying laid back, comfortable lodging so after much internet research, reading the reviews on Holbox and Los Mapaches and many emails back and forth with Rosy (a gem of a gal who works part time at Los Mapaches) we knew that this quaint place would suit us just fine.

Like other hotels on this island, Los Mapaches is a small. They offer a few rooms over their reception area that back up to the street and 3 individual palapas in a spacious, beautiful, sand garden filled with palm trees and flowering bushes sitting on a shell laden beach at the quieter, west edge of the village. We arrived around 6pm to find most of the village's visitors and residents on the beach watching the sunset; something that is repeated every night with excitement. Italo arrived shortly at the reception area, quickly checked us in and made some recommendations on where to grab a quick, light, inexpensive meal. Los Mapaches is a short 5 minute walk to the Plaza where all the village activity happens. English is Italo's third language so he’s a bit difficult to understand at times but thru gestures and such we were able to communicate just fine.

We rented the Naranja (Orange) palapas with all around screens and shutters, 2 beds (one on the main floor and one in a loft accessed by a ladder) and a mini kitchen; it was just as advertised and very clean. The best part – our palapas sat on the beach facing the water with great views of the ocean from the 1st floor and the loft. Our only small complaint is that there is a fly fishing lodge very close to the Naranja palapas with their deck and stairs at the same level as the loft bedroom so privacy could be an issue at times when the shutters are open. There is a bamboo privacy wall on the property line that provides privacy for the first floor and porch; it would nice if they would extend it up to the roof height so the loft bedroom would have the same privacy. With the Naranja palapas being so close to the fishing lodge it can be a little noisy at meal times and when everyone is sitting around bragging about the fish they caught that day, so bring earplugs or your Ipod just in case.

We visited in August and it was hot so bring appropriate cool clothes. To benefit from the overhead fan in the loft bedroom; I slept with my head at the bottom of the bed and didn’t use the mosquito netting. The fan kept any bugs away and I slept comfortably cool every night even when there wasn’t an onshore breeze coming thru the windows. Speaking of bugs, I’ve rough camped in East Africa, Amazon jungle in Peru, Costa Rica, Mexico and Belize and these accommodations are far above any of those; very civilized and clean - we didn’t experience any excessive bugs inside. We appreciated the convenience of having a free 5 gallon bottle of drinking water in our room to fill our refillable bottles. Afternoons were spent taking turns napping in the hammock on our covered front porch and we ate lunch most days (picked up cheese & crackers at village deli and bakery) at the small table and 2 wooden beach chairs that were next to our palapas in the shade. Altho there was no hot water in the room, the water in the shower wasn’t all that chilly, but it was August the hottest time of the year. Actually I’m not sure why their palapas don’t have hot water because most homes on the island utilize solar for their hot water so it’s feasible.

Yummy, made to order breakfasts are cheerfully made/served by Tania in their small open air restaurant, Jardine. Some items can be ordered off the menu and some items do get substituted or are not available cause this is a remote small island and all food must be brought over by boat a few times a week. Go with the flow… Breakfasts were so large that the two of us shared a fruit plate and an egg dish each morning and it was more than enough food. A few days we packed up our extra fruit so we could enjoy it with our lunch.

The beach at Los Mapaches is the one of best of all hotels on the island! The water is a variety of blues and gradually drops so it's safe for kids, the sand is soft and white with tons of shells. They’ve smartly built their palapas/rooms set back from the water so their beach is private and deep and they’ve planted lots of palm trees for the shade lovers. There’s a beach palapas with 2 hammocks and 2 beach chairs however it gets claimed quickly so grab it early. But if the beach palapas is taken there are always enough lounge chairs in shade. Good news, I was told a 2nd beach palapas is in the plans soon. The best thing about the beach at Los Mapaches is it’s free of local fisherman’s boats offering unobstructed views and easy access to the water. Hotels further east down the beach may have wider public beaches but the locals moor their fishing boats on those beaches so the ocean views aren’t the greatest in the late afternoon/evening and access to the water and walking the beaches can be difficult with the mooring ropes anchored on the beach. Another good reason to stay at Los Mapaches - no golf cart beach traffic so it’s quieter. Yes the mosquitoes come out big time on the beach when the sun goes down or when there is no onshore breeze because of the nearby mangroves so bring your repellent, cover up or leave the beach for a few hours.

We booked our Whale Shark tour with Los Mapaches (using Banana Tours) and were very pleased with the tour. Due to the Whale Sharks moving much further east overnight, the local tour companies on the island pooled their money to hire a search plane to relocate them. This resulted in a surprise early wake up (with coffee, apologies and a smile delivered to our door) and our tour leaving 1 ½ hours earlier than originally planned due to a longer boat ride to their new location. It was quite an experience and well worth the long boat ride; snorkeling with over 100 Whale Sharks! Rosy at Los Mapaches was instrumental in negotiating a reasonable increase in our tour price due to the longer distance we had to travel to get to the Whale Sharks.

One day we rented a golf cart thru Los Mapaches to tour the island and Rosy once again came to our assistance and quoted a competitive rate and made the arrangements for the cart to be waiting for us at the hotel the following morning.

We can’t thank Rosy enough for all her help during our vacation; we love her! She is wonderful, friendly and so helpful.

Luckily, chain hotels/resorts and restaurants have not yet made their way to Holbox and we hope they never do; it would spoil the experience! ! Los Mapaches isn't a 5 star resort and doesn't advertise to be one so don't expect the amenities of a 5 star. It's the absence of those stuffy amenities that make this place so special, charming and relaxing. The key to any vacation is to do your homework first before you book so there are no surprises and for us there were no bad surprises; we got exactly what was advertised and expected and more!

We definitely will be returning to Los Mapaches again for another long, casual vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Root B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zomay Hotel Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zomay Hotel Holbox

Property: Zomay Hotel Holbox
Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zomay Hotel Holbox 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zomay is a small and peacefull resort of 6 wooden bungalows and 3 apartments on the seashore in the wonderful Island of Holbox, decorated in a Caribean style, in the middle of our beautiful and big tropical garden, you will find privacy and personal attention are what make this place unique: you can relax watching the wildlife from your hammock, grill the fish you have just caught, or walk barefoot on white sands.a place to feel safe from the noise and the rush of a big city. Here, you can finally leave the hurry and anguish behind and rediscover that old-fashioned rhythm of life long forgotten, in the summer you can meet the amazing and beautiful whale shark and spend what will be the vacation of a lifetime. More than 40 km of virgin beaches, clean air, abundant wildlife, Holbox is still one of the few places left where life continues at a slow pace with no worries. Our beach is equipped with lounge chairs and hammocks that our customers can enjoy and each bungalow at this hotel features kitchenette facilities and safe box. Exclusive guest services: Free WiFi at the main lobbyFree Kayaks and bicycles for rent to our guestsTours and transfer services from Cancún or MéridaWe can rent our place for weddings or any other special events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Zomay Hotel Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Mapaches
Los Mapaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing