We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villas Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here with our two children for a week in July and couldnt fault it.
The location is perfect, away from the 'busy' pier end and a nice 15/20 minute stroll along the beach, useful after eating out.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. All transfers ran smoothly. We rented a golf buggy a couple of times and they arrived in minutes. The kayaks were taken on to the beach within seconds!
We had a beach hut which was lovely but wherever you are located they are all beautiful. The eco toilet is brilliant, simple and odourless.
Breakfast is quite simple, toast and cake unless you order off the menu. We did, the food was delicious and reasonably priced. We always ate out at night.
The mosquitoes were bad the first day but I think it had rained just before we got there and we had also gone off exploring in the buggy in to the lagoon area. After that they didnt seem to bother us we just kept the door shut at all times.
The hotel has a lovely relaxed feel about it and all the locals we met on the island, in the hotel or on trips, were very genuine, friendly and kind.
Tips: Don't hang light colored clothes on the balcony as the wood stain comes off, we have ruined a lot of clothes this holiday!
Take a travel kettle and tea bags if you like a cup of tea as they only serve coffee.

Room Tip: Room number 7 is the on the beach front and closest to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tosutoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    160
    42
    21
    19
See reviews for
169
266
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

My partner introduced me to the island of Holbox and we went there for a romantic getaway in February and I don't regret a single second. Holbox is about a 2 hours drive north of Cancun - you will have to leave your car at the ferry station in Chiquila and take the ferry to Holbox, which takes 18 minutes to cross - best of it all, the ferry ride is only 5 dollars. Once in Holbox, the taxis are painted in yellow and are actually golfcarts - I have never seen such a charming town before. The hotel my partner has chosen turned out to be one of the best hotels on the island. We stayed at a Garden Bungalow, which was beautifully decorated - I have never slept so well under a Mosquito net. Don't worry about some of the reviews re: the eco toilet ... it's actually really a nice concept - odorless, you just don't flush. The water in the shower runs into a big shell - nice touch.

The service at the hotel is outstanding and the food at the restaurant absolutly great. I loved the breakfast in the morning. European and Mexican choices, which is very nice.

Overall this has been one of the best 2 days I have ever experienced. I highly recommend going to town for dinner (Los Pelicanos is an excellent choice) and walk back on the beach to the hotel - you have never seen the stars like this before - it's truly a planetarium :-) I found the location of the hotel great - it is about a 20 minutes walk to town - for some this might be too far, but believe me, your stay at the Villa Delfines is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

We stayed at Hotel Villa Delfines for 10 days from the end of April to May. and everything was great. We booked online from a third party website and got a good deal with no mishaps. Our transfers from Cancun were booked through the hotel and everything went smoothly.

Overall Hotel Villa Delfines is a lovely and relaxing environment. We found the staff at Villa Delfines to be really friendly and helpful when you needed, but mostly hands off. It's not a place to go to and be waited on constantly. They take a more passive approach to service which was okay with us. We had lunch by the pool most days and we booked a boat trip and golf cart rental through the hotel and everything went as expected with no complaints.

We rented a Deluxe Bungalow which was situated nicely on the beautiful grounds. The room was ample size, with two beds, a mini fridge, coffee maker, table and chairs and a good sized bathroom and deck. The beds themselves weren't the most comfortable and the towels and linens were a bit worn. This didn't bother us much because we weren't expecting a 5 star hotel amenities and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Otherwise, it was clean and presentable.

One complaint ( and this is not the hotel's fault) was the biting bugs. We came armed with bug spray after seeing other warnings about the mosquitos, but we were still feasted on the entire time. We even bought more spray on the island thinking that they would have better bug repellant, but it didn't help us at all. We got bit by everything! Sand fleas, mosquitos, flies, etc. I don't know if it's better at other times of the year, but April/May was bad. Be prepared to be feasted on.

One of our absolute favorite things about Villa Delfines was their dog Villera. We are "dog people" so having her around was a major plus for us—especially since we were missing our own dog. Villera is quite frankly, the sweetest most friendly dog I have ever met and I owned a dog walking company! We would return just to see her again.

Hotel Villa Delfines is not for everyone but we had a great experience and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackiefourpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

In the hotel, they sold us a boat trip, offering it for our family alone, and the day of the trip, changed the deal, blaming us for the confusion, and the worst part was the manager of the hotel who would not help, just watch the argument. (5 hour trip to the whale shark for 5 people, $400 dls.)
The place is full of "tabanos" a big biting fly (aprox. half and inch in length) that did not leave us alone at the beach, even when in the pool, they would get into our ears and noses.
The service at the hotel was awful, they overcharged for everything, the heat and humidity overwhelming. The beach was nice, but the water in the sea is not transparent like in the riviera maya or cancun, and with the flies biting you, it is not a nice experience. We rented a
golf cart for a day, and that was more than 100 dls. Extremely disappointing...and expensive...

  • Liked — solitude
  • Disliked — bad service, no air conditioner, biting flies, humidity
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apoyotecnico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

We had to move to Hotel Villa Delfines (where the other two couples on our holiday were staying) after a week in the lovely Xaloc Resort Hotel because they were booked out for our second week. We had all booked just the first week's accommodation on Isla Holbox so we wouldn't be tied down. Delfines was almost as nice as Xaloc, although there was a slightly less luxurious feel to the bungalows, that was more than compensated for by the lovely, obliging staff. Special mention for the very charming manager George who couldn't do enough for guests and would graciously organize anything you want. The restaurant is more casual here than Xaloc and a good lunch spot (nice food). The big chef was great plus they showed the entire football World Cup in the restaurant which was fun as the different nationalities on the island gathered there to support their teams while eating breakfast, lunch or dinner. They do a fantastic BBQ night in Delfines (fab food & good value) and worth booking as soon as you land on the island regardless of where you are staying. The gardens here are gorgeous but we stayed in a bungalow down the back (farthest away from the beach) and were savaged by insects, after not a single bite in the beach front bungalows in Xaloc. The pool here is lovely also and bigger than any other we saw. If you book online on an island website (holboxisland.com) they must first honour these bookings, so may give you a better bungalow than you have paid for if you are lucky. They have eco-toilets here, while more hygenic & smell-free, just take a bit of getting used to (no flush). Delfines organised gentle horse riding for us with Alexander (you couldn't meet a nicer or more obliging local) which was a great way to see parts of the island and the mangroves.

  • Liked — The staff & the use of as many natural materials as possible in very clever ways.
  • Disliked — There seemed to be more insects down the back of their beautiful gardens.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Neetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2007

We ( 50's couple, no kids) stayed 5 nights in a beachfront cabana. This is the best hotel in Holbox. Big cabana, king sized bed, good 24 hour solar electricity, fresh shower water, a nice big jug of drinking water refilled daily, composting toilet (no smell), and mosquito net on bed. It has a nice, big shady deck with hammocks, chairs and table. Mosquitoes were not a big problem except at dusk. Sand fleas on the beach were bad, though, but you won't realize you were bitten until you get a rash a few days later. The cabanas are well spaced apart. The beach offers calm, wave free swimming. There is a nice little pool, which we didn't use, as it was generally the play space for small children. There were several children, from toddlers to teens there. Generally,. the families on both sides of us did a good job of keeping the kids occupied, not running amuck through the hotel grounds. If you don't want kids right next to you, then book a garden cabana in the back, they are cheaper, too. There is a nice, palm shaded area with lounges in front of the cabanas. Villas Delfines is set back nicely from the beach, with good landscaping all around. Do be aware that there is steady stream of sometimes loud motor scooters and gas powered golf carts up and down the beach at almost all times. On Fridays, there are joyriders every 30 seconds from afternooon until late at night. This is the one bad thing about Villas Delfines. You have to cross over the "beach highway" to get to the beach to swim. You can walk down the beach (east) past the hotels. and get away from everybody, and we walked the beach west of town, which was deserted and almost no scooters, etc. It is a hot, but easy 15-20 minute walk to town from here. No need to rent a golf cart if you have 2 good legs, there is nowhere to go, anyway. We didn't do any boat tours, etc., just went for lots of walks, swam, read...The restaraunt was marginally okay food, convenient, same prices as town, didn't come for the cuisine. We rented a car in Cancun and parked in a nice, safe fenced lot on the right, behind the little store in Chiquila. It cost 30 pesos per day. We just missed the ferry, but a man with a very nice boat ferried us over for 100 pesos ( 4 people) and another man with a bicycle and cart carried our luggage for us. This was much cheaper than the car transfer from Cancun and we were able to travel to Tulum via Coba for the rest of the trip.

  • Liked — Spacious villas, nice swimming, quiet atmosphere
  • Disliked — scooters driving on the beach
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaisycatWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2007

While planning a vacation to Cancun and doing some internet exploring came across Isla Holbox, a small island as the crow flies not far from Cancun. It's a 21/2 drive from Cancun to Chiquila, well worth the sometimes bumpy ride, you park your car near the ferry and take 1/2 boat ride to Holbox. As you get off the boat and look around it's not real impressive as it's a small fishing village with sand streets and almost no cars. The fun is exploring the island, eating at the restaurants, and seeing the incredible sunsets while relaxing with a cocktail or two on the beach. The one night we were there we stayed at the Hotel Villa Delfines. It is a unique, beach front hotel with a pool, restaurant, and direct access to the beach that's a five minute walk to village area. There are no planned activities by the hotel, just relax, read, enjoy the beach and explore the island. You stay in your individual bungalow with a palm roof and an open deck with a hammock. Each unit is free standing with electricity, shower, and compost toilet. We had breakfast & lunch at their restaurant with no complaints. Make sure you rent a golf cart and do some exploring while you're there, you can find your own private beach. The sand bar in front of the hotel has to extend at least a 1/2 mile into the ocean and you can walk way out and only be up to your waist. The local fisherman may yell at you as they boat by if they think you're too far out but it's not exactly an international shipping lane. This is the complete opposite of Cancun in so many ways but to summarize it's a nice break from the busyness & noise of Cancun.

  • Liked — beach front, quiet, out of the way
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ball82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#9 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Property: Hotel Villas Delfines
Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing