We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tout fait à notre goût, great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tout fait à notre goût, great place!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is the kind of place and setting that we really fancy. The bungalows are specious and pretty. The place is very clean!!! The beds, pillows and sheets are very nice, good quality and good material. We slept so good each night (a very different experience than in Mahahual and the Qunito Sole). It is all eco friendly and it all works very well. We had a view on the side, which is always very pleasant, but the beach is approx 150 meters away. Service was good. Outside the bungalows there is a small table, two chairs and two hamacs, which is very pleasant, and useful to dry your beach towels ...
The village was a very pleasant surprise, it is very clean everywhere, there are plenty of small shops, prices are very reasonable, there is a good variety of restaurants, most are cooking very good food. It is very relax. The beach is very nice, ideal as well for a jogging or a long walk in the morning before breakfast.
The only disapointment was related to the restaurant, that was our worst experience in Holbox unfortunately. We tried twice (one lunch and one dinner) and it was far below average.
To give you an example, I did order a "Tuna Tartare" which usually is very good on this coast line (when available) and the staff came with a plate with 25 gr of tuna out of a tin, with some tomato slices and salad. They had to take it back. We received an apology but when the 2nd plate came it still was not fresh and raw tuna, but 25 grams of tuna that they had cooked a few minutes. The next day we went to a "real" restaurant and they served one of thre best tuna tartare I have had, and it was 300 gr.

Room Tip: A Sea view will not make too much of a difference, unless you intend to spend some time on the terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    172
    43
    26
    26
See reviews for
180
289
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This was my first time on the island and we picked the perfect hotel. Hotel Delfines has the best beach on the island. The service is great, the people are friends and everything is always clean. They even have compost toilets (which I have never seen and don't smell at all) which are pretty cool. The reception area has free wi-fi which comes in very handy. The only complaint is the restaurant does not have that great of food, but the town does so its ok:)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilibug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked a two night stay as part of a Christmas gift to each other on a trip to Mexico. So wish we hadn't bothered. The Island is beautiful, just found the hotel too quiet and joyless. Most of the staff seemed to be playing a part, when we walked past one of the waiters going off shift we got no reply, yet a few hours earlier he had been full of beans and fawning to serve us. The room was ok but the " toilet smell " became very strong by the second morning. I am not a fan of these eco toilets, maybe my sense of smell is just too sensitive. Saving the worst till last Oh my we were eaten alive by mosquitoes ! No sleep the second night, on fire from bites, even had one on my toe, the next week was spent in misery with itching angry red lumps, the worst trip of my life.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manneroo, Propietario at Hotel Villas Delfines, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are sorry, but we never had the opportunity to serve you. We do not know who you are and you defintly never stayed at Villas Delfines. We can prove it, but it also shows.
sincerely yours
Manfred Bertram
Owner
Villas Delfines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Beautiful!! Very romantic and very relaxing. Kind and helpful staff. Beautiful ocean and beach while also having a nice pool. I was here with 18 others on a class trip studying. Please pray for protection for the land and all the animals on and around it, thank you.
Helpful hint: mosquitoes and sand flies bite tourists! Ouch

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012

personal bungalows with lots of space and privacy, funky decor and design, three old friends were comfortable and happy at villas delfines. breakfast was simple yet filling, the servers at the restaurant friendly and professional. The pool is unique in design and refreshing. The greenery all around was a cooling alternative to the welcome heat of the beach. volleyball and kite boarding school on site, lots of hammock and lounge space, and right next to the beach! It is far enough from town to feel private yet not a long stroll on the sandy road or along the beach and sea. Rates were affordable in the off season. International guests all seemed relaxed, and the spiritual retreat held there seemed to enjoy the perfect location. Thanks for having us on Holbox, I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This was a beautiful Island and wonderful Hotel/Villa. The rooms were cleaned daily and housefkeeping put a swan made of towels and flowers on our bed each day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. A wonderful place to find quiet and restful relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have been in Mexico for three weeks. After a long flight with one year old baby we spent two nights there for relaxing. It was very quiteful and friendly resort. Everything was nice. The bungalows in the garden, the beach, pool, just ten minutes walk to the town. After that we have traveled to Yucatan Peninsula....to Chichen Itza, Valladolid, Ek´Balam, Rio Lagartos, Merida, Progreso, Playa del Carmen and Isla Cozumel and we decided that we spent last four days in Villas Delfines again because of friendly and peaceful atmosphere there. Our son had a baby cot with mosquito net :-) and he was really happy on the beach. The staff was great. We would like to recommend this place for everyone who wants to relaxing. In the town they make a great tacos and there are so many friendly people like at home. Enjoyed it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Property: Hotel Villas Delfines
Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing