We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superrelaxed in our seaview-bungelow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villas Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nederland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superrelaxed in our seaview-bungelow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Good vibe on the park. Hammocks on your own private veranda.
The bungelow is very neat, with a eco-toiletsysteem that doesn't smell at all.
The hotelteam was very helpful (the gardener gave us our first coconut with a straw when we just arrived,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvanspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    159
    42
    21
    19
See reviews for
169
265
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Villas Delfines is a nice hotel for a family, couples to enjoy peace, lovely green garden with lots of iguanas or just for a people who love to be away from city noise. As you wish to get into a Holbox nightlife, the Villas Delfines is maybe a little too far away from it, but you can rent a golfcar or a taxi. And a little walking on sandy roads of Holbox, where are no cars or big traffic and time does not matter, is fun also. In front of the hotels main house is a parking lot and a nice area for sunbathing with deck chairs and sunblinds and also big sandy beach is wright there. At the back from the main building are unique bungalows with wonderful green garden. But prepare for the moskitos in the evening! Bungalows are very nicely decorated and when living in one you forget everything else. Hotel stuff is very friendly and helpful. Only thing to complain about is the outside pool, which was in bad condition! It seemed like it had not been cleaned for weeks or maybe more. Probably thats why I did not see anybody swimming there. The food that Villas Delfines was offering was also plenty good. If you are not extremely demanding and enjoy peace and quiet time and chiling in the lovely getaway hotel, the Villas Delfines is a place for you with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriitK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

nature pur - great outdoors
wonderful place
sun - nice temperature
nice beach with palmes
nice bungalows within a nice"kind of" park
the stay seems timeless - very good to relax
the management and the hotelteam was very helpful and very obliging
the breakfast shows some potential for improvement

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is the kind of place and setting that we really fancy. The bungalows are specious and pretty. The place is very clean!!! The beds, pillows and sheets are very nice, good quality and good material. We slept so good each night (a very different experience than in Mahahual and the Qunito Sole). It is all eco friendly and it all works very well. We had a view on the side, which is always very pleasant, but the beach is approx 150 meters away. Service was good. Outside the bungalows there is a small table, two chairs and two hamacs, which is very pleasant, and useful to dry your beach towels ...
The village was a very pleasant surprise, it is very clean everywhere, there are plenty of small shops, prices are very reasonable, there is a good variety of restaurants, most are cooking very good food. It is very relax. The beach is very nice, ideal as well for a jogging or a long walk in the morning before breakfast.
The only disapointment was related to the restaurant, that was our worst experience in Holbox unfortunately. We tried twice (one lunch and one dinner) and it was far below average.
To give you an example, I did order a "Tuna Tartare" which usually is very good on this coast line (when available) and the staff came with a plate with 25 gr of tuna out of a tin, with some tomato slices and salad. They had to take it back. We received an apology but when the 2nd plate came it still was not fresh and raw tuna, but 25 grams of tuna that they had cooked a few minutes. The next day we went to a "real" restaurant and they served one of thre best tuna tartare I have had, and it was 300 gr.

Room Tip: A Sea view will not make too much of a difference, unless you intend to spend some time on the terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This was my first time on the island and we picked the perfect hotel. Hotel Delfines has the best beach on the island. The service is great, the people are friends and everything is always clean. They even have compost toilets (which I have never seen and don't smell at all) which are pretty cool. The reception area has free wi-fi which comes in very handy. The only complaint is the restaurant does not have that great of food, but the town does so its ok:)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilibug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked a two night stay as part of a Christmas gift to each other on a trip to Mexico. So wish we hadn't bothered. The Island is beautiful, just found the hotel too quiet and joyless. Most of the staff seemed to be playing a part, when we walked past one of the waiters going off shift we got no reply, yet a few hours earlier he had been full of beans and fawning to serve us. The room was ok but the " toilet smell " became very strong by the second morning. I am not a fan of these eco toilets, maybe my sense of smell is just too sensitive. Saving the worst till last Oh my we were eaten alive by mosquitoes ! No sleep the second night, on fire from bites, even had one on my toe, the next week was spent in misery with itching angry red lumps, the worst trip of my life.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manneroo, Propietario at Hotel Villas Delfines, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are sorry, but we never had the opportunity to serve you. We do not know who you are and you defintly never stayed at Villas Delfines. We can prove it, but it also shows.
sincerely yours
Manfred Bertram
Owner
Villas Delfines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Beautiful!! Very romantic and very relaxing. Kind and helpful staff. Beautiful ocean and beach while also having a nice pool. I was here with 18 others on a class trip studying. Please pray for protection for the land and all the animals on and around it, thank you.
Helpful hint: mosquitoes and sand flies bite tourists! Ouch

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Property: Hotel Villas Delfines
Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing