We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isla Holbox's own eco-friendliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

If you don't want to be hassled by crowded beaches on Isla Holbox, if there is such a thing, stay at Villas Delfines at the other end of the island. It is relaxed, easy and eco-friendly. And, the beach is the only thing that matters. And it shows.
Service is fine, breakfast could be a little bit more different and an exquisite restaurant is no option at Delfines. They offer nice kayak trips and help you out renting a golf cart. And, that's about it. What else do you want more as an Isla Holbox tourist? I'd say: 'nothing!'.

Room Tip: This is a place for people who seek for a quiet place. So, be quiet and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stekelenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We really liked the laid back relaxed atmosphere. This is what the Caribbean used to be 40 years ago. The huts are simple but clean and comfortable with hammocks on your private patio. The property is very much Eco friendly. It's a short walk to the village, about 15 minutes. No paved roads, lots of people walk around barefoot on streets of sand. Lots of little shops and restaurants and unlike Playa del Carmen, no one's trying to drag you in to their store. No one hassles you for anything. Yes there are Mosquitos, but hey, suck it up buttercup, you're at the tropics! Oh and did I mention the beautiful beaches and breath taking sunset? Warning!!! If you're into the all inclusive, eat and drink your face off till you drop crowd, this place may not be for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villas Defines for several nights in March. I am surprised by the couple of bad reviews that I see. We were very happy with our stay there. This property is very environmentally conscious and we liked that a lot. This island is tiny and could easily be damaged by the impact of tourists. We also thought that the included breakfast was generous and good -- coffee, tea, juices, milk, yogurt, toast and wonderful fresh tropical fruits! We were so full after breakfast that we only ate one other meal each day. Sometimes the bugs are a problem on this little island, but the resorts can't do much about that. Bring bug spray, just in case! The beds are covered with lovely white netting. This is a family business and they create a friendly, helpful vibe.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are pretty much the same here. This is a nice, quiet property at night regardl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel Villas Delfines for a week. The beach, sea, view and wildlife is all close and still appears to be natural. The Island is small and most people were friendly and helpful with the main centre of Holbox being a long walk or short taxi ride away. The Eco edge is present but I can take it or leave it, I realise this is very important to some. My kind of important is a good breakfast, the choice was poor, the tea tasted nothing like tea and if you fancy cereal you pay extra for the privilege. For the money I parted company with I would have liked some extras, this is the reason for my low score.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ntsonscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manneroo, Propietario at Hotel Villas Delfines, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

We are very sorry, but we never had the opportunity to serve you. We do not know who you are and you definitly never stayed at Villas Delfines. We can prove it, but it also shows.
Sincerely yours
Manfred Bertram
Owner
Villas Delfines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The Island looked a picture, arrived at the hotel very tired after the journey just wanted to go for a shower and sleep. Lots of garden around the pool which looks nice but even on the first evening I think this was my mistake as I was eaten alive by mosquitos. Unfortunately I am very fair skinned and tend to sit in the shade, big mistake, I arrived home with angry, red lumpy skin and the photos had to be taken at a distance. This ruined the holiday for me. The golfcarts are fun at first but I did miss all the mod cons. Couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manneroo, Propietario at Hotel Villas Delfines, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

We are sorry, but we never had the opportunity to serve you. We do not know who you are and you definitly never stayed at Villas Delfines. We can prove it, but it also shows.
sincerely yours
Manfred Bertram
Owner
Villas Delfines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Good vibe on the park. Hammocks on your own private veranda.
The bungelow is very neat, with a eco-toiletsysteem that doesn't smell at all.
The hotelteam was very helpful (the gardener gave us our first coconut with a straw when we just arrived,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvanspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Villas Delfines is a nice hotel for a family, couples to enjoy peace, lovely green garden with lots of iguanas or just for a people who love to be away from city noise. As you wish to get into a Holbox nightlife, the Villas Delfines is maybe a little too far away from it, but you can rent a golfcar or a taxi. And a little walking on sandy roads of Holbox, where are no cars or big traffic and time does not matter, is fun also. In front of the hotels main house is a parking lot and a nice area for sunbathing with deck chairs and sunblinds and also big sandy beach is wright there. At the back from the main building are unique bungalows with wonderful green garden. But prepare for the moskitos in the evening! Bungalows are very nicely decorated and when living in one you forget everything else. Hotel stuff is very friendly and helpful. Only thing to complain about is the outside pool, which was in bad condition! It seemed like it had not been cleaned for weeks or maybe more. Probably thats why I did not see anybody swimming there. The food that Villas Delfines was offering was also plenty good. If you are not extremely demanding and enjoy peace and quiet time and chiling in the lovely getaway hotel, the Villas Delfines is a place for you with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriitK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 20 in Holbox Island
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range: £69 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing