We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great Hotel, extremly friendly and helpfull staff. Great Beach all for yourself. We loved it. Bungalows are great, loved the details and the hammock. Staff help us a lot with our mobile, which we lost in Campeche.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wwweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

My son and I stayed at this charming beachfront property for a couple of nights in July 2013. We honestly had not given much thought to our accommodations since we traveled to Holbox in order to swim with whale sharks (3-hour boat ride from the island) and were very excited. Well...that changed as soon as the taxi (a souped-up golf cart!) that picked us up at the port dropped us off at our hotel. Our jaws dropped as we stared at the empty beach with powdery white sand that stretched out for miles and a sparkling turquoise sea that looked like something I have only seen in travel ads for the Caribbean.

We stayed in cabana #3 that looks out onto the beach--a prime location! The thatched cabana was air conditioned (extra cost) and there were ceiling fans; a much appreciated creature-comfort since it was particularly hot/humid while we were there. Screened windows and mosquito nets over the beds helped keep out the island's notorious mosquitos. Purified drinking water was provided in a pretty Talavera water dispenser and a small coffee maker and coffee supplies were available guests needing a java fix. A safety deposit box in the bathroom/dressing area of the room has enough space for guests to store documents and cameras while out enjoying the island's attractions. The eco-friendly composting toilet looked just like a regular toilet, except for the absence of water to flush. The toilet bowl was painted a dark color so it was not possible to see what was going on inside and there was absolutely no smell. After doing your business (use tp as usual), just scoop in some of the wood shavings provided in an adjacent container (it helps with the composting process). The shower and sink had hot and cold water (solar water heating), bath towels and pool/beach towels were provided, and the bathroom had a small hairdryer. The room did not have a telephone or TV, but who needs that when staying in paradise? All cabanas have a small veranda with hammocks and chairs.

WiFi is available, free of charge, around the hotel reception desk/lobby. The small restaurant serves guests breakfast, lunch, and dinner and also doubles up as a bar. Meals were adequate though nothing fancy--fruit selection at breakfast was wonderful! Guests have access to an attractive pool that is surrounded by tropical plants and welcoming lounge chairs. A palapa near the pool has a ping-pong table where we enjoyed many a friendly game in between meals and pool visits. We noticed there was a facility for spa/massage services but we never had a chance to try it out.

The local town can be reached in less than 5 minutes by golf cart taxi (ask front desk to call you one if needed). Remember to bring lots of sunscreen and bug repellent. Mosquitos and sand fleas are persistent in the morning/evening hours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here a week in July 2013 to swim with the whale sharks. Paradise! The grounds and pool were beautiful. The cabanas were what I'd call "rustic comfort." We stayed in a beachfront cabana that had a/c, coffee maker and small frig. It was exactly what I was looking for in a hotel on Isla Holbox. Thumbs up to Hotel Villas Delfines for being a "green" resort with the composting toilets and solar water heating.

The staff was awesome and arranged our tours. Excellent service!

Now the bad part - the beds. They were so hard I couldn't sleep good. Woke up stiff and sore. Even a pillow top mattress pad would help the situation.

These are rustic cabanas and there are bugs and cracks in the wooden planks of the floor. There's good netting around the beds. If you are freaked out by bugs, stay in Cancun in a high rise hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in villas delfines for 2 days. The moment we arrived we were in aahhhh. We planned our wedding there but in the months before our weddingdate it looked like it was not going to happen the way we would have liked. Wilfrido, the manager, kept trying for months to fix something special for us but every time we had contact he had to tell me, i'm sorry. The moment we arrived he walked up to me and told me that he found somebody who would want to marry us. I can tell you, it was the most beautiful wedding you can wish for. Beautiful ceremonie in a perfect setting with Wilfrido as photographer. We are so thankfull for this day, all because off Wilfrido and the other members of the staff who work there. I don't think i've ever met nicer people then the the people from villas delfines. The park is beautiful, clean and peacuful and the bungalows are very romantic. They made our dream come true, we are never, ever going to forget that day and those people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed as a group with family and children of all ages. The island is a paradise and the pictures on their website are accurate – the place is absolutely beautiful. The beach and ocean were among the best we have seen, and the wildlife on the island is amazing. As long as you have sunscreen and bug spray, you will be in heaven!

The hotel staff was among the best I have seen. We stay at a lot of hotels, and the staff can usually make or break the experience. We can’t thank the staff enough for all the little things they did to make our stay special for even our youngest group members. They were truly a highlight of our stay.

We will be coming back to this resort!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitabontia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

If u would like to camp in Mexico this place is for YOU!!! The "huts" had holes in the ceiling so one night we came home to a dead bat on the floor that I stepped on bc it was dark. The bathrooms were INFESTED with carpenter ants that swarmed the floors and crawled up your legs when u walked in the room. Cockroaches crawled out of the drains of the sink at night and scattered when the lights were turned on. I'm not even going to spend a second talking about service or anything else bc after that, who even CARES how the service was. We made the best of it but it was HORRIBLE. And before management can send a reply that I didn't stay there (like they have seemed to say to everyone with a negative review) let me assure u I did unfortunately stay there and I also have a million welts from mosquito bites to prove it. What a total dump.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachel33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent two weeks here after a long slog of a Journey from London. Staff here are great, esp Jaun Jose and Renan. But all of the staff were great. The place is kept immaculate, the maids do an excellent job of keeping the rooms tidy.

It's serene setting, peacful atmosphere was perfect I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else.

Brendan

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#11 of 20 in Holbox Island
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range: £70 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing