We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Quiet, and Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet, and Unique”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Myself, my husband, and another couple arrived on 6/25 to Villas Delfines for the 2nd half of our trip (Stayed about PavoReal in Tulum for 4 days prior). We arrived and were greeted very warmly by Christine who took very good care of us for the duration of our stay- along with Juan Jose. We were helped to our bungalows, where we discovered neither couple had AC in their Bungalow despite our request to our travel agent to request a room with AC. We brought our concerns to Juan Jose who had another room prepared for each couple almost immediately. The AC unit in our Superior Bungalow and in our friends' Beach Front was helpful and cooled the room/took the humidity out, but could never get the room super cold--but comfortable. The mini fridge worked okay, again never super cold. The shower was only hot sometime between 10am and 7pm (never bothered us). The toilet was AMAZING! No smell what-so-ever! Beds were comfortable and there was no need for the mosquito net. Very unique and beautiful bungalow. Garden/Landscaping on the property is very beautiful, lots of birds and iguanas. 20 minutes up the road walking away from the city is where you can see Flamingo's feeding early in the morning around 8am and then later in the afternoon around 1 or 2ish. We were able to take a Kayak out for a little while which was nice. Bugs (mosquitos and sand fly/gnat) are bad at night and in the morning if there is not breeze. Basic baby oil seemed to help.

The beach was great, the sand so soft and the water very calm and clear- a lot like Destin, FL. There was a lot of stinky sea grass from high tide, but i was told that where the sea grass washes up depends on what way the winds blow. The other side of the island which is uninhabited/undeveloped had slim to no grass on the shores. The pool was amazing, too.

Our friends had an emergency the first night and had to leave the following morning and Juan Jose took good care of them. He was able to get them a some of their money back for the unused nights. Juan Jose made very good recommendations for places to eat and places to grab some snacks.The town is beautiful and safe with lots of options for food. We ate at Los Peleones, Carioca's Pizza, and Viva Zapata--probably the best, freshest food we've had for great prices. The Hotels food was good...stick with the quesadillas, guac, and breakfast...the Fajitas were okay but too sweet, almost tasted like a lot of soy sauce had been added...and the carbonara pasta didn't taste like much.

Overall, a great unique place to stay. It's simple, but there's nothing wrong with that. Amazing. Thank you Juan Jose and Christina! We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed meeting and talking to you.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room or Ocean View if you want AC because the Garden rooms don't have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    171
    42
    25
    24
See reviews for
179
284
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were suppose to go to another hotel, but it had exploded! Taxi drive suggested Villas Delfines. We are indebted to our driver. The service was excellent, everything sparkled. Wanted to take a pillow home with me! It was on the beach, but centrally located for in town activities. We made use of the resturant a couple of times. Can't remember when I was so relaxed. A note to others coming in, no t.v. And hardest on us, no internet in individual villas. Loved hotel staff, especially Christie.

Room Tip: Any room you choose has hammocks and small table and chairs on veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just returned from a great week at Villa Delfines. I am surprised at some of the more negative reviews, as we really enjoyed this hotel.
The bungalows were large, very clean and with proper hot water, and the first eco toilets I have used that actually work! The gardens are beautifully landscaped, and full of birds and iguanas. The staff at reception are especially nice, in particular Cristy. Contrary to several reviewers, I really liked the breakfast, as much fruit (amazing mangos), toast, cake, ham, cheese, coffee, granola and yoghurt as you can eat. The eggs etc... are only a little extra.
All the family loved the ping pong table and the pool, and the free use of kayaks. The beach area could do with a bit of an update (new loungers/those draped big beds the other hotels use), but this is a small complaint. The best thing about this hotel is how friendly, relaxed and sociable it is - all the family made friends - we will be back !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanorwatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Beach front hotel in a very nive area outside the main town, but with in walking distance.

What we liked:
the rooms
the beds
the pillows
beachfront
enough infrastructure for the guests even though it was completely full.
The service of the staff and a special mention for Cristi at the front desk who was very helpful (and by the way I owe you a caguama ;-) )
the pool
The whole layout of the hotel.

What could be improved:
Food quality and portions for the price paid.

What we din't like:
mosquitoes (but this is nothing the hotel can do anything about)

We would definitely come back, we love Holbox!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I returned to Delfines for the fifth year in early March. Our bungalow on the beach had a great view. We were 30 seconds from the water. The staff at the desk and in the restaurant were extremely nice and accommodating. Cleaning staff did a great job, too.

We're already picking dates for next year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It is a very nice location with great view from the bungalow (we had a beach Bungalow) spacious and comfortable
Eco toilets were great
Breakfast was rather poor and every day the same
Service in the restaurant was not inviting
Do not book the transfer from the airport to the hotel at the hotel, it's rather expensive. I recommend Holbox adventure

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misha54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed there for two weeks, with our kids. The hotel is an ecological, friendly place. Delfines has really nice service, and comfy rooms, though they could use some maintenance. Holbox itself is paradise, and really really good for people with kids like us: safe, lovely, and with lots of beaches and sand. The catch is if you have hyper kids or techno kids... this is not the place for you. The one catch to the place is sandbugs. Especially in the morning they can be troublesome. But if you cover yourself in baby oil (watch out for sunburns, I combines sunblock and oil) you are more than fine. We really loved both the hotel and the place. Oh yeah, stay away from cement, crowds, and the scams of Cancun.

Room Tip: The ones with a view of the beach are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
982 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Property: Hotel Villas Delfines
Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing