We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Low key and lovely”
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We just returned from a two-family trip to Holbox Island (booked last October), and after some research (what little we could find), we decided to stay at Villas Delfines. There were a few glitches, but we enjoyed it immensely. Given the relative scarcity of reviews, I wlil be expansive:

1. The setting. The location is wonderful -- about 1km from town and right on the beach. The landscaping is lovely and the whole place has a relaxed, intimate feel. As with everywhere on the island, the mosquitos emerge in droves between 5-7pm, so be prepared.

2. Management. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. However, the hotel turned out to be overbooked when we arrived, so our family was transferred for two nights to the neighboring, more upscale Paraiso del Mar (see separate review). We did not mind this, but other guests in the same position were unhappy.

3. Rooms. The rooms are all thatched-roof cabanas neatly tucked away throughout the property, giving the illusion that the place is much smaller than it really is. Most of the cabanas face the pool or the beach, and all have porches with hammocks. There is no air conditioning, but we found that the breezes and ceiling fan kept us cool. Our mattresses were ok. The beds had mosquito netting, which you need.

The eco-friendly bathroom (composting, no flushing) worked surprisingly well. If your room is malodorous, you should insist on being moved because that should not be a problem. (Our fellow travellers did encounter this, and were fine when given a new cabana.) The shower head is a conch shell with holes for the water to flow- don't expect much heat or pressure, but it's fine for a short period.

4. Food. The restaurant is a nice, screened in room (key for keeping out mosquitos). Breakfast was included, and was perfectly adequate, but service was erratic -- quick on some days and incredibly slow on others. The best meal was on Saturday night when the hotel grilled fish, lobster, chicken and steak on an outdoor barbecue. Don't miss it! There are some very good restaurants in town, including a wonderful Italian place (Pelicanos) right off the square.

5. Clientele. Another reviewer complained about the number of children. There were, in fact, a lot of kids staying at the property. We had four girls between us, so we were happy to be in a child-friendly place. A significant number of guests were from Europe, including France and Germany.

6. Things to do. Not much- come here to relax and unwind. The beach is outstanding for birdwatching and shelling. The surf is very gentle and there is sandbar almost immediately off the shore, which makes this a wonderful place for children to play.
We hired a golf cart for a day and explored, which was fun, and went out in kayaks and a motor boat as well.

  • Liked — the location/setting
  • Disliked — the mosquitos
  • Tips/Secrets — don't forget the insect repellent
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KarenfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    171
    42
    25
    24
See reviews for
179
284
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

We stayed at Villas Delfines for a week from 19th September as part of our honeymoon. Our hosts; Juan and Jorge were very accommodating and welcoming and made our stay extra special.
Good Points:
Tranquil, peaceful, stunning sunsets, ecofriendly accommodation, excellent hosts, amazing experience... loads more but you get the picture.
Bad Points:
Sand flies (pesky buggers!), remote location (this was actually a positive for us but for others may not be)

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank remotetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here in July. On the whole it was a very pleasant and fun visit, it only just falls short of 5 stars for a few minor details.

The hotel itself is a very nice set up, and the room we stayed in (deluxe oceanview) was very nicely put together and very spacious. The bathroom area was of a far higher standard than other hotels we've visited in Mexico. The porch area was lovely with 2 hammocks and 2 comfy deck chairs, and it enjoyed a great view through palm trees to the sea.

Our main gripe was that there were far too many young children. Perhaps this makes me sound like a grumpy old man (I'm only 28!), but there must have been about a dozen children between the age of 1 and 10 and they spent most of their time running around screaming and shouting. I realise it's a bit unfair to blame the hotel for this (especially with it being summer holidays) but perhaps some kind of age restriction would help. Maybe though it's just best to avoid the school holidays as to be honest the island itself does seem like a lovely place to take the kids.

There were other minor mishaps on departure when we were told the wrong time for our flight transfer to Cancun, and being at the end of the holiday this remains fresh in our memory. However I really don't want to dwell on these for on the whole the staff and management were very friendly, curteous and helpful throughout our stay.

Extras were easy to arrange. My girlfriend had a massage which she professed to be one of the best she's ever had. We also hired a golf cart for most of our stay (great fun and highly recommended). The aforementioned plane transfer had it's hitches but I hasten to add that they did not charge me for the service of organising it and I should accept some responsibility for not insisting on written confirmation of the time.

The restaurant was OK, nothing to write home about, but pretty much in line with the standard throughout the island.

To recap, a beautiful location, fantastic rooms, nice pool, friendly service. The minor gripes are probably individual to us and by no means would I wish to put you off trying it yourself. Having passed by the other hotels I would almost certainly go back to Villas Delfines if I was back in Holbox, so I guess that says it all.

I've written a general review of isla holbox under that heading if any of you wish to trawl through my further ramblings.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank sharmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 May 2006

We just returned from Isla Holbox. We were there for 8 days in the low season.
We stayed at Villa Delfines in one of the palapa rooms facing the ocean. It's a great deal at $108 per night booked on line on Isla Holbox website. The rate is cheaper here than booking directely through the villa delfines website. The staff is very nice and accommodating. We were looking for a quiet place on the beach away from lots of tourists and that is exactly what we got.
Overall, our vacation was very lovely. Isla Holbox is a quiet, slow-paced place. The beach is beautiful with fine white sand. We enjoyed looking for shells walking on the beach, taking boat tours to look at flamencos and dolphins, and just kicking back reading and relaxing. We rented a golf cart for one day and rode around a good part of the island.
It was very HOT from noon till about 4 or 5pm so we took naps after lunch. Around 5 or 6pm the air cools down and it's very pleasant. We enjoyed our beach walk into town in the evenings for dinner and loved the walk back under the stars.
There were a few things that weren't so nice. The pool at Villa Delfines was dirty. I don't think the filtration system was working at all. This was really too bad because our 5 year old daughter loves to swim in the pool rather than the ocean. The food at the hotel restaurant was not very good, breakfasts were tolerable. I was told they are updating their kitchen after the hurricane damage. Mosquitos were definitely feasting on us despite our efforts with the mosquito spray and wipes. There was a terrible rotting smell blowing in from the ocean the last two days of our stay. One of the fishermen told us it was due to lots of fish dying in the ocean caused by what they call the red tide. They say this is a natural event... The color of the ocean is a bit murky and does not compare to the beautiful carribean blue of Cancun. And on our last night, I was awakened by a steady flow of smoky air from a bush fire near by. It made breathing unpleasant and I was glad we were leaving. We saw lots of roadside bush fires due to heat and dry brush on our drive to and from Cancun.
Too bad we couldn't have the beautiful beaches of Cancun on the peaceful, uncrowded, low key hotels of Isla Holbox.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2006

If you are looking for simple pleasures, peace, relaxation, and nature then this is the place. Villas Delfines has separate casitas made of beautiful tropical woods. They have shady front terraces with hammocks, modern bathrooms although the toilets are different (eco friendly flush with wood chips). Accommodations are perfectly comfortable.

The restaurant is very good. We especially enjoyed the night they cooked outside on a big wood burning grill - fresh fish, shrimp, beef steak, carrots & chayotes, the best margarites, and coconut ice cream for dessert! The hotel has a small but really beautiful pool where colorful birds always came for a drink.

The hotel management is very friendly and helpful but relaxed and laid back. There was usually no one at the reception desk but you could always them at the restaurant or having a beer at a table in the sand. What a life!!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank DeborahATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 January 2005

We stayed at the Hotel from the 22 to the 23 of january. If you are looking for a great relaxed hideway the Villas Delfines is a great place to go.

The Hotel is right on a wonderful long beach. The beach is the best which i have seen around the Cancun and Rivierian Maya area. The Hotel is fine , but dont expect a 5 star Hotel. The food is fine, and there is a little Italian Restaurant in town which is pretty good. Try the golf car ( the only way to go around the island for a couple hours). You have to see the sunset which is great. On the way back from the island we saw dolphins jumping in the ocean in front of the boot.

This is a prefect hideway without traffic and noisy crouds.

Plaese be aware the mosquitos and bring a lot of spray.

Will be back.

Helpful?
32 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
978 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
683 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#12 of 19 in Holbox Island
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Property: Hotel Villas Delfines
Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing