We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xaloc Resort review”
Review of Xaloc Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xaloc Resort
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My wife and I stayed in Xaloc one week ago for our 2nd anniversary. Great location, delightful view from the bungalow.... (ask for the room #1!!), very nice service.... and the food.... wow... try some of the dishes-per-request only... delicious... I want to comeback, no doubt

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xaloc R, Director Comercial at Xaloc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad to hear teverything was great for you, Congratulations on your Anniversary so proud you chose our Resort for that matter. Number ONE can be yours again, just remember your Reservation Number and call us direct to the Hotel, Mention you are a repetitive guest and you can celebrate this year again!!!
Regards from Holbox!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in the hotel building, the rooms was nicely decorated and large, it had a balcony overlooking the resort andf the sea. The room hade both aircon and a fan, wich was good, as the aircon shut down every time you opened the door to the balcony!
We have stayed at other hotels that also let the aircon shut down when you open the door, but then it has started again when you close the door, here it just shut down, and you hade to start it again when you got inside.
The beach area was nice, but could do with some more beach chairs, we saw that the same people occupied the same chairs day after day, so we usually had to do without.
The breakfast is very American with peanutbutter and jam to go with your toast and very sweet cereals, some cheese or ham would have been nice for us Europeans, who are usually not that in to the sweet stuff.
You can order eggs for breakfast, any way you like them, and that was great!
The staff was very nice and always saying, hola! and smiling.
Over all We enjoyed our stay very much, there are just some minor details that We think could be improved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at Xaloc (pronounced "Ch-aw-low-k") with my brother in late January and can't say enough good things about the place. First off the location -- Xaloc is just far enough away from the city center that it feels relaxed and not too crowded. There are a couple of locations toward the city center that blast music but Xaloc was far enough away from those that it wasn't a problem. When you arrive via boat to Holbox it's about a 10-15 minute walk to Holbox straight through the city center but there will also be lots of golf cart "taxi's" waiting to transport you as well. One note about the boating -- while there is an official ferry schedule, there are also many locals with boats offering to transport you at 80 pesos a ride (the same cost of taking the ferry) providing you are ok with the trip lasting about 15 minutes longer (you usually also have to find a total of 8 tourists willing to jump into the boat before they'll take off too).

But back to Xaloc. The head of Xaloc is a man name Yuan -- great guy. Super friendly, speaks good English, and is always willing to go the extra mile to help you out. He probably single-handily made the stay worth while...there are some folks that make stays that much better and he is definitely one of them. Xaloc gets you good bang for your buck -- the breakfast is decent and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The Cabana's are definitely the way to go for couples (even though they are a little more expensive) -- very romantic and well spread throughout the grounds.

-Leon

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My bungalow was clean and comfortable; I had a partial view of the ocean from the hammock on the porch. It's quiet but within easy walking distance of town; at night, I could hear the ocean, which was lovely (it was breezy enough that I never used the AC). The continental breakfast buffet is satisfactory, and I had lunch in the restaurant a couple times, too. (There's a quesadilla with a local green that's wonderful!) The staff are friendly and helpful, too. One note: Few staff members speak much English. I didn't find this to be a problem or annoyance; I don't speak much Spanish, but I figure that's my problem, not theirs, and the staff were incredibly patient with me. But I know that some people become quite frustrated with this (which would be too bad, because it's such a lovely place to stay!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the area nearer to the "grown-ups'" pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Very friendly staff! Perfect location -- right on the beach. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is very quiet for a peaceful vacation. The price for the hotel room was the best value we could find on the island for the same, excellent level of quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Absolutely beautiful resort and location and very friendly staff. Alejandro has been very accommodating with our needs at the resort:) As honeymooners we love this place! Pool side cabana's give the relaxing ocean view with clean swim up bar a step away from your cabin door, a perfect mixture between authentic beach solitude and luxury accommodation! Highest recommendation, hotel also gives exchange at front desk, even better rate then in town!

Room Tip: Absolutely beautiful resort and location and very friendly staff. Alejandro has been very accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

i stayed at xaloc for 3 nights with my family , il was really calm , peaceful , enjoyable .
people very helpful and nice .area very quiet but still close from the small city center .
possiblity to rent bikes, 15 pesos per hour , to visite this small island,
don t miss the animal refuge , a woman owns it and take care of all the ill animals !!! don t hesitate to give somt tips ...
in 2 words : so good !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank so19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 20 in Holbox Island
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaloc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaloc Resort

Address: C Chacchi s/n esq. Playa Norte, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: £62 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xaloc Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xaloc Resort is a small ecotourism hotel located in a natural paradise of white sand beach near the small village of Holbox. Xaloc are in different environments to enjoy the charm and intimacy offered by the site, two pools, a lounge reading a terrace under the palapas where you can enjoy the breeze of the Caribbean Sea, a terrace on the beach where enjoy the sun during the day and admire the stars at night and "Maja'che" a restaurant where every dish is a specialty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xaloc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaloc Hotel Holbox Island
Xaloc Resort Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing