We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!”
Review of Hotel Maya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maya Inn
Ranked #28 of 37 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed at the Maya inn hotel twice and enjoyed both stays. I am a pretty low key traveler. My friends had some reservations.
The potentially problematic (on my second stay with friends):
- the internet connection did not work at first. The staff was EXTREMELY accommodating and fixed the problem within 24 hours but if you HAVE to have the internet, for work or pleasure, this could be a problem.
- shower takes a while to produce hot water. On my first stay, my first shower was cold. The next morning, after letting the water run a bit it was warm. On my second stay, my first shower was cold. the next day, after letting the water for a while, it was warm. I did not mind. My friends did.

The great stuff about the hotel:
- on my first trip, I was pretty ill and checked in late. I was able to get food from the chef, who delivered it himself to my room. Since they make everything from scratch I believe that notice to the staff about your potential needs is key. I told them I wanted to eat something as I was checking in and gave them ample notice (1.5hours) to get it ready as i explore the island a bit. On our second trip, we had to get food outside of the hotel in the evening.
- the food was very good.
- you have access to a private beach, but from what I hear, it is a way's away. Still, a private beach!
- the eco friendly decor is inspiring and aesthetically very pleasing.
- the front desk staff is extremely courteous and accommodating. Say hi to Mercedes for me.
- you cannot beat the location especially if you like to take pictures at sunrise like I do. And it's walking distance from the ferry or lancha.
- there are "cabs" 2 minutes away to take you anywhere on the island.
- it is quiet at night and removed from the nightly fun of the "downtown" area of the island.
- it is on Holbox island. If you've been there, or are going there, you know that just being on Holbox island is a treat so que disfrutes!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AubadeWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We chose to stay here our last night on the island, for its convenience to the ferry terminal. This way we didn't have to try to find a taxi and/or haul our luggage across half the island during the pre-dawn. I think we got a cheaper rate due to the construction that was disrupting access to the front of the hotel, so it was quite reasonable.

Nothing fancy, but the room was simple and clean and adequately provisioned, and we thought all the seashell fixtures were pretty fun, especially the seashell shower head. The grounds were pretty nicely groomed, but we didn't spend enough time there to really appreciate the grounds. From the little contact we had, the staff seemed pleasant-enough. Very quiet setting on the marina side of the island.

The location would not have been super-convenient to the downtown or beaches, but would be a short-enough stroll. But for getting up early for a worry-free arrival at the ferry terminal (just a stone's-toss away) first thing in the morning, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: el hotel es pequeño cualquier habitación es perfecta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Omar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Simonetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vega3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Victor Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,165 reviews
1 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Inn

Address: Caleta s/n entre av.Juarez y Palominos | Beachfront near Holbox Main Pier, Holbox Island 77300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: £29 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing