We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We loved the Holbox Dream. Robert at the front desk was very accommodating and nice, which is wonderful after you have been traveling all day to get to Holbox. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was beautiful. It was clean and simple, with cute little shells and beachy touches. The location couldn't be better: right in front of the most beautiful white sand, calmest beach you could ever hope for. The pool is small but clean, and just right for the hotel. I mean, who needs a sprawling pool when you have the ocean "pool" at your feet? Since this hotel is above the $100usd range per night, there are a few suggestions/tips that we felt should be included to make this hotel simply THE perfect place to stay, and here they are:
1. Put coffee makers in each room, or, have a pot of coffee going downstairs in receptions from say 7-9am. A lot of us city dwellers don't function before coffee, and having to get up, get dressed, and walk a few blocks BEFORE that first cup is well, um, brutal. Even in paradise.
2. Have certain rooms assigned for a queen bed and others strictly for doubles. Don't do the "queen bed + twin bed room" situation. I want the queen bed, and so does my travel mate [we weren't a "romantic" couple]. We're both paying the same amount here, and one of us will get shafted with the twin cot.
3. Get a mixed-drink bar going. I mean, the beers next door at the beach shack are cool, but some people can't drink beer ALL day long without getting bloated. It'd be nice to get a piña colada or an ice-cold Daquiri here and there and get it right at our hotel. Not asking for the full restaurant, but maybe just a mixed-drink shack like the beer one next door? One can only drink so many beers...

This is really it. Everything else was just FABULOSO. I really mean that. I will definitely be returning to Holbox: loved the vibe!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    318
    67
    24
    18
See reviews for
209
442
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Holbox Dreams and we had a great time. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom are lovely. It has a great location, a few blocks from restaurants.The hotel has a beautiful beach and the staff were very friendly!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bird, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Hobox Dreams and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the upstairs Vision Room and totally loved it. The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious, it had a wonderful balcony, and we loved the bathroom and shower, best ever in Mexico. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We totally would have given this hotel 5 stars, except for one thing. Our room was up front, which was great because we were right on the beach and had a great view, but it was also adjacent to the pool area and courtyard. The afternoon of our third day, we saw a large group checking in together. By evening the drinks were flowing and the party was starting, out by the pool. By 10:00 it was in full swing, then by 2:00 AM it was really ramped up. These people kept us up until after 3:00 AM that night, partying, yelling, drinking, singing, etc. We are not opposed to folks partying and having a good time, but really, they should have moved it out to the beach so others in the hotel could sleep. Then the next night, it started up again, and we finally complained at 10:00 PM to the attendant on duty. Fortunately it quieted down by 11:00, but we did have to complain and felt like we shouldn't have had to.

So the suggestion for the hotel, if they want people like us to return (and we'd really like to as we loved the place) is they need to establish quiet hours, inform the guests of this, and enforce it. I noticed other people on Trip Advisor have complained about the same thing with this hotel. The courtyard and pool were wonderful, but it is conducive to this sort of thing happening.

Other than this, we heartily recommend the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The location is actually ON the beach, so for me it was perfect. Sunsets and looong walks along the beach in either direction was magic. Center just a few blocks away with restaurants and food stores. Last time I said I had to come back some day - and I did.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Waldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have to say the hotel is in a great location. Close to everything but no noise at night. The AC works once it gets warmed up. Beds are about as hard as they can get, but are clean and housekeeping does a great job. On a side note, just be aware that toilet paper goes in the trash can, not in the toilets. Have had it before but heard no mention of it before arriving.

There were me and my girlfriend and her 15 year old daughter so we picked the Ideal studio since the website said it sleeps 4ppl. Once arriving you can see it definitely can NOT sleep 4 people. I went and spoke to Ivan who was extremely helpful throughout the entire trip and he agreed that the website had led me astray. After looking at the size of the other rooms we did end up staying in the Ideal room since you could squeeze a third in better than the other rooms. We enjoyed this room, but the kitchenette set up was pretty useless for us minus the fridge. I did feel very safe and can not say enough about Ivan and Roberto. They are a great asset to the hotel and I hope management understands that.

Since the first night I stayed they have changed the Ideal room to 2ppl max on the website which is more appropriate. I would recommend this property but just be prepared for a firm bed and your room to take a little time to cool down. Other than that the pool is a nice addition and the water is calm and a great temperature.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcayias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mono, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The price - The best deal in my opinion, I don't think there was anything else we needed from the hotel.
The location - We could see the ocean lying bed out one window and the pool out the other, need I say more? But there is more... It's minutes to the square with all the restaurants and bars but far enough away from the the main dock.
The staff - Ivan, always friendly and helpful, right down to getting us ice for our cooler!
The cleanliness of the rooms - the sweet cleaning lady/girl always did a great job. Not one single cockroach all week (they ever cover the shower drains)We felt so safe there we didn't even bother locking ANYTHING in our safe and left everything (money, phones, passports, iPad) lying around without incident (not that I recommend this and you're probably thinking we're stupid but I knew it wouldn't be an issue)
The beach and grounds - Always immaculate! The gardeners/groundskeepers out there first thing in the morning raking the beach, wiping the chairs and so on, without disturbing any sleeping in!
However, this island isn't for everybody. It's very rustic and au naturel which is why I fell in love with it, that and all the fresh fish! There's not much to do but relax (at least when we were there because we were too early for whale sharks, too hot for biking and kite boarding schools were closed :-(
All in all one of my best vacations in a while!

Room Tip: We had the the Vision room on the ground floor. We chose it for the bar fridge, the hammock (which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFoxy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Holbox Dreams is great! The rooms are clean, attractively decorated (although minimal with furnishings) and comfortable. There is not much room to store belongings but you don't spend much time in there. The pool is in the courtyard and the beach is steps away from that. The hotel is convenient to town. While we were there, Ivan and Favian were there. They helped us with everything we needed--truly wonderful. Holbox is amazing and

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Property: Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwell, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holbox Dream, a place where time ceases to exist and the colors of the Caribbean Sea meet the calm waters of the Mexican Gulf. Named after the lifetime vision of the proprietors, Holbox Dream, portrays the image of a very comfortable hotel associated with heavenly scenarios.A mere 20 minutes boat ride from Chiquila Harbor will take you to a tropical escape that offers a stress free environment kissed by the sun, its white sand and shells of all kind. Enjoy 47 rooms with sea view, divided in 3 categories, pool and beach club. Enjoy suculent meals prepared with local seafood and an italian touch at Casa Nostra Restaurant - Holbox. Holbox Dream is a proud member of Xperience Hotels Collection, characterized by the "Infinite hospitality" service and philosophy. Xperience our paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbox Island Dream Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing