We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living a Dream”
Review of Hacienda Sacnicte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Sacnicte
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Living a Dream”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stumbled upon this dreamy Hacienda quite by accident but it turned out to be the highlight of our visit to the Yucatan. We stayed there on the way back from Merida to Cancun and couldn't believe our luck. The 10 room Hacienda is situated on the outskirts of the quaint Mayan town of Izamal. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens attended to by a local Mayan couple, Paco and Hermita who live on the property. Bougainvilleas, hibiscus, lime and orange trees, bananas and tamarind trees fill the beautiful landscape. The Hacienda itself makes you want to stay there forever. 10 rooms, each with its own unique architecture, decorations and finishes are available for a memorable stay. As it happened, the Hacienda was between groups of European guests when we arrived and we had the entire place to ourselves. We were greeted by Carlos and Orlando, the two local Mayan employees who took care of our every need. Immediately upon arrival we settled in our room, the gorgeous Poppy room in the Hacienda's main house and were invited to sit on the covered porch with a tall glass of freshly made Tamarind cooler prepared and served by Carlos. We were taken on a tour of the Hacienda, the grounds and each of the rooms (each with it's own name), and were shown images of the Hacienda's history and reconstruction.

Sacnicte is owned by a lovely couple, Nadia and Phillipo, Italian and French, respectively. They purchased the crumbling structure, overgrown with weeds and without its current glory a few years ago and restored it with the help of local craftsmen, builders and artists into a perfect place to invite guests for a memorable Hacienda experience. Architecturally it's a masterpiece, with natural materials used in beautiful, unexpected ways. Soaring high ceilings, spacious, gorgeous bathrooms, rain showers and huge stone sinks are but few of the features. Comfortable furnitures throughout the main house and porch invite leisure and reflection.

The beautiful artwork and most of the wall finishing were done by the Belgian artist Peter Terrin who lives and works in Puerto Aventuras on the Mayan Riviera (terrinart.com). Take note of how they preserved the old murals in the dining room (a chapel in a previous life), to maintain the historical integrity and continuity of the Hacienda (read about it on the Hacienda's website).

I highly recommend a stay at this dream of a place. And when you are in Playa del Carmen stop by for dinner at Da Gigi, the Italian restaurant owned and run by Nadia and Phillipo, the Hacienda's owners, to say hello and enjoy their fabulous cuisine.

Room Tip: I enjoyed staying in the main house in the Poppy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveOilandLemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is truly one of the biggest surprises on my Mexican journey.I recently stopped here for a night on my way to Merida.I ended up staying here 3 nights.The place is amazing.My room was a piece of art.I havent found anything symilar than this.The taste level of the owners is beyond believe.I asked if i could see some other rooms and they turned out to be as wonderfull.
Later on i got served delicious food.The owners,Philippe and Nadia happenend to be around and they made my stay even more special.On the large dinner table i was enjoying the company of other guests and all of us got entertained by the friendly couple.The evening turned into night and we still were sipping wine outside the patio.
I will come back here for sure.Thank you for those amazing 3 days.I will personaly recomand your place to all of my friends.I hope u can welcome many more guests and i hope u will entertain them as u did when i was staying there.Nadia and Philipe,i am giving u the highest points here on trip adviser.U deserve every bit of it.
Hope to see you again one day.
Peter Terrin

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Agree with all the previous reviews. A really elegant, beautifully designed hotel. All the finishing touches elevated this property to another level. We just wish we had forgone Playa del Carmen and spent more of our time here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Wells, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This small boutique hotel is a former 200 year old plantation hacienda beautifully restored by the owner/operators Phillipe and Nadia (french and Italian) who obviously have exceptional taste with these type of properties. We were fascinated how they were able to balance form and function which produced our wonderfully comfortable room by combining modern with old world sophistication. The personal service and dining were first rate due to the owners well trained staff and the owners extensive experience operating other exclusive small hotels in exotic locals. We could feel the history of the hacienda (Pope once visited 100 years ago) when wealthy plantation owners frequented this region. The nearby colonial village of Izamal (the yellow city) is charming and has not been discovered by tourist (but soon will be). We found secret cenotes in the jungle as well as other adverntures. If your looking a sophisticated yet advernturous experience I would highly recommend Hacienda Sacnite.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raym0nd45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Q.Roo Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I spent three wonderful days with my mamy in the middle of the nature. The hacienda is absolutely charming; the quiet is amazing, the service is like be at home. Nadia and Philippe (the owners) were always take in care of us: clearing, restaurant, tips and every thing you may need do in your holiday. Nadia made for us a delicious "tagliolini" for dinner one night.........what do you need more! Be sure we'll see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Hacienda Sacnicte is tranquil, beautiful and only 5 minutes away from the historical center of Izamal [by car]. The rooms are spacious, the shower is wonderful and the setting romantic. There is a very nice pool in the middle of a well kept luscious garden. At night we enjoyed a candle lit dinner at their intimate restaurant. The service was friendly, impeccable and discreet. The owners are charming. A fantastic experience ...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdsd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

It would be wrong to describe Hacienda Sacnicte as a hotel; it is an experience - and a most delightful one at that.

This converted hacienda is the brainchild of the vivacious and welcoming Nadia and the talented and creative Philippe. Pale pink buildings are reflected in the calm of the swimming pool and enhanced by the palms and lush tropical plants in the gardens. Everything is on a grand scale with each room and individual area more like a film set than a hotel. This doesn't mean that there is anything impersonal about the Hacienda; the opposite in fact. From the moment we drove through the old wrought iron gates and into the grounds, we were engulfed by the warmth of the welcome and the continuing care and attention from Nadia and her staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

A late afternoon swim and relaxation around the pool were a prelude to a delightful evening meal in what was the original hacienda's chapel. Nadia's Italian influence shone through in the menu, the cooking and the wines. I can still feel the texture and savour the taste of those zabagliones!

We stayed in the Rose suite which is spacious and beautifully appointed. The bathroom, in particular, was spectacular with a shower area large enough for a football team and huge pieces of local stone dividing it and the toilet from the rest of the room. Just wish we had a large enough bathroom at home to emulate the idea.

The Hacienda is within an easy drive of Izamal, a tranquil town of ochre coloured buildings, ruined pyramids and a low-key but interesting son et lumiere in the Franciscan monastery.

We've stayed in some pretty upmarket hotels in our time but Hacienda Sacnicte is something special. Having spent the previous four weeks travelling around Mexico, it provided the perfect balm for body and soul. Perfect bliss. We didn't want to leave.

Thank you, Nadia and Philippe, for everything.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeandJohn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.2 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
25.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
#2 of 2 in Tixkokob
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Sacnicte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Sacnicte

Property: Hacienda Sacnicte
Address: Carretera a Tekal de Venegas Km. 5, Izamal 97541, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Sacnicte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Sacnicte (white flower) is a truly unique, contemporary, luxurious, hip and secluded resort.To strike the balance between the 17th century and today, Philippe & Nadia have created an unforgettably serene atmosphere, to offer you a new reality of sophisticated vacations to spend with your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Sacnicte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing