We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Sacnicte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Sacnicte
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from an amazing stay at the hacienda. This place left me speechless. My husband and I travel quite a bit and have stayed in many 5 star hotels and this place really knows how to do it. VERY CLASSY and suburb service. If you are looking for relaxation and comfort this is the place to stay. It has such a magical feel to it. It is not stuffy at all and you really feel right at home. The entire staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is wonderful. The food,is outstanding and any special requests are welcome. My husband and I both had a massage and it was GREAT!! Orlando, Nadia and the chef were all super helpful and sincere, you could tell they really cared about making your stay the best. Rooms are super clean and comfortable and the whole hacienda is beautiful. If you are planning to visit the area this is the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem9574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We absolutely loved every second of our stay at this lovingly restored Hacienda. As soon as we arrived we knew this was going to be a very special experience. We were pampered by the friendly staff from the second we arrived until we reluctantly left 5 days later.

The text on our wall "Listen to your eyes" immediately caught our attention and set the tone for the remainder of our stay. Our suite, Black Orchid, was beautifully appointed - dramatic yet warm and inviting. The hammock on our patio was perfect for afternoon naps after a cooling dip in the pool.

I can't say enough about this gem....the food was devine, the staff were wonderful, the music was perfect. We loved this place and we look forward to coming back next year with our friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My friends and i chose this amazing place because we wanted a type of out of the urban life theme...As we saw this on the internet we called right away...The staff were very well educated and good service. When we got there they received us in a way like no other, with fresh mint towels, welcome drink and joy. The rooms were beautiful and had scented candles and clean, very well decorated, i might add. We didn't think it would be so nice for being and hacienda., we have been to many and well this one has a magical touch too it and it is not the typical hacienda theme, which people do like a difference. The food was amazing and everything was perfectly fresh and home made. Everything in this place was exactly how we saw it on the internet and how they described it to us and will come back as many times as we can. It is something that needs to be experienced.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamii_bibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We chose Hacienda Sacnicte for our winter vacation because they have a great website, and the reviews in TripAdvisor are very favorable. But as soon as we got there we realized we had been duped by a great photographer. Reality is very different from the pictures posted in their website.
The Hacienda does not have a real garden. The entrance is also the parking lot, which is side by side to the swimming pool. From there you see the parked cars and the road which is a few hundred meters away. Although is not a main road, you do feel like in a motel. The rooms are nice and well decorated, but because of the humidity, that leave marks in the walls that perhaps some people may find “cool" or "vintage", they smell terrible. We attach some pictures of the place.
We didn't want to stay. However, the man in charge, Orlando, a very nice guy, had no power to confront the fact we had given a 50% deposit and the rules in the web site are clear: no cancellations are allowed, and the other half of the deposit will also be charged. We had to call (from our cell phone) to the owner… After some argument we were forced to o stay 2 of the 5 days we had booked, at the cost of losing part of the deposit that guaranteed 2.5 days. At the end we even had to pay extra, because they charge you 10 per cent extra of service for the whole account, room and food. The latter, by the way, is nothing close to what they state at their website. They do not even have decent tortillas.
We love the Yucatan peninsula, and we have stayed at several haciendas. This one is by far the worst. For 425 US (plus taxes and service charge) you can find something much better, as we did for the rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stumbled upon this dreamy Hacienda quite by accident but it turned out to be the highlight of our visit to the Yucatan. We stayed there on the way back from Merida to Cancun and couldn't believe our luck. The 10 room Hacienda is situated on the outskirts of the quaint Mayan town of Izamal. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens attended to by a local Mayan couple, Paco and Hermita who live on the property. Bougainvilleas, hibiscus, lime and orange trees, bananas and tamarind trees fill the beautiful landscape. The Hacienda itself makes you want to stay there forever. 10 rooms, each with its own unique architecture, decorations and finishes are available for a memorable stay. As it happened, the Hacienda was between groups of European guests when we arrived and we had the entire place to ourselves. We were greeted by Carlos and Orlando, the two local Mayan employees who took care of our every need. Immediately upon arrival we settled in our room, the gorgeous Poppy room in the Hacienda's main house and were invited to sit on the covered porch with a tall glass of freshly made Tamarind cooler prepared and served by Carlos. We were taken on a tour of the Hacienda, the grounds and each of the rooms (each with it's own name), and were shown images of the Hacienda's history and reconstruction.

Sacnicte is owned by a lovely couple, Nadia and Phillipo, Italian and French, respectively. They purchased the crumbling structure, overgrown with weeds and without its current glory a few years ago and restored it with the help of local craftsmen, builders and artists into a perfect place to invite guests for a memorable Hacienda experience. Architecturally it's a masterpiece, with natural materials used in beautiful, unexpected ways. Soaring high ceilings, spacious, gorgeous bathrooms, rain showers and huge stone sinks are but few of the features. Comfortable furnitures throughout the main house and porch invite leisure and reflection.

The beautiful artwork and most of the wall finishing were done by the Belgian artist Peter Terrin who lives and works in Puerto Aventuras on the Mayan Riviera (terrinart.com). Take note of how they preserved the old murals in the dining room (a chapel in a previous life), to maintain the historical integrity and continuity of the Hacienda (read about it on the Hacienda's website).

I highly recommend a stay at this dream of a place. And when you are in Playa del Carmen stop by for dinner at Da Gigi, the Italian restaurant owned and run by Nadia and Phillipo, the Hacienda's owners, to say hello and enjoy their fabulous cuisine.

Room Tip: I enjoyed staying in the main house in the Poppy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveOilandLemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is truly one of the biggest surprises on my Mexican journey.I recently stopped here for a night on my way to Merida.I ended up staying here 3 nights.The place is amazing.My room was a piece of art.I havent found anything symilar than this.The taste level of the owners is beyond believe.I asked if i could see some other rooms and they turned out to be as wonderfull.
Later on i got served delicious food.The owners,Philippe and Nadia happenend to be around and they made my stay even more special.On the large dinner table i was enjoying the company of other guests and all of us got entertained by the friendly couple.The evening turned into night and we still were sipping wine outside the patio.
I will come back here for sure.Thank you for those amazing 3 days.I will personaly recomand your place to all of my friends.I hope u can welcome many more guests and i hope u will entertain them as u did when i was staying there.Nadia and Philipe,i am giving u the highest points here on trip adviser.U deserve every bit of it.
Hope to see you again one day.
Peter Terrin

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Agree with all the previous reviews. A really elegant, beautifully designed hotel. All the finishing touches elevated this property to another level. We just wish we had forgone Playa del Carmen and spent more of our time here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.2 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
#2 of 2 in Tixkokob
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Sacnicte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Sacnicte

Property: Hacienda Sacnicte
Address: Carretera a Tekal de Venegas Km. 5, Izamal 97541, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Sacnicte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Sacnicte (white flower) is a truly unique, contemporary, luxurious, hip and secluded resort.To strike the balance between the 17th century and today, Philippe & Nadia have created an unforgettably serene atmosphere, to offer you a new reality of sophisticated vacations to spend with your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Sacnicte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing