We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! The perfect retreat.”
Review of Hacienda Sacnicte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Sacnicte
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!! The perfect retreat.”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Style and Sophistication in the Yucatan. We found the Hacienda Sacnicte to be an amazing mix of a classic old hacienda but updated to today´s standards. The location is perfect to see the old Mayan ruins as well as the historic cities of Izamal and Merida. But you hate to leave the hacienda because it is so comfortable. Great food, great hospitality and the atmosphere is enchanting. This is the way to see Yucatan.

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanDiego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We have stayed with Nadia and Pilipe at Mata Chica in Belize and love everything about it.
We are just as impressed with the Hacienda. WOW.
Can't wait to get back for a stay. They have done it again, it's a special place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank germangirlSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We'd never heard of Izamal but we knew if Nadia and Philippe, founders of Mata Chica in Belize, had chosen this spot for their hacienda it had to be special. We were not disappointed.

The quaint City of Izamal, washed in pale yellow, with horse drawn "taxis" and warm smiling faces welcomed us. The smiles broadened when we mentioned Hacienda Sacnicte, eagerly pointing us to the "Hacienda Sacnicte" signs through the narrow streets lined with waving children and flower vendors.

In no time we were on the steps of this shining gem, our luggage whisked away and a delicious welcome cocktail in hand. This was just the beginning of an amazing 4 day stay where we were pampered with exotic spa treatments, ate scrumptious meals and relaxed in massive hammocks a stone throw from the inviting pool.

Congratulations Nadia and Philippe - you have once again provided a unique escape where every detail is attended to in seamless harmony.

Selfishly, we would like to keep this "the Yucatan's best kept secret" to our selves, but know this is impossible!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaxkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

A group of friends and I recently travelled to Hacienda Sacnicte. We had been to Mata Chica Resort in Belize a few years ago. We heard that the original owners, Philippe and Nadia, restored a hacienda in Izmal, Mexico. We had to go. We booked 3 rooms. What a stunningly beautiful place in this small quaint "yellow" town. Perfect service, advise on tours, food. Bravo!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Traveling has a single man, I was looking to discover a part of Mexico that was less tourist and more like we would imaging Mexico 200 years ago. I was told about the city of Izamal. Their history dates back to the Mayans and into the 15th Centry by the Spaniards to today.
I had the good fortune to also discover a very special oasis Hacienda Sacnicte. This boutique hotel made my 4 day stay a dream. From the food to the ambiance was an amazing pleasant surprise to find in this very accident city. What a great mix.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJLavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

we took a trip to Izamal, Mexico. Hacienda Sacnicte is a beautiful resort near the Izamal village deep in the jungle. We hicked in the forest, and explored all the natural wonders of mexico. Beaches are not exacly erasily accessible but not far away of you need a change of scenery. The food was excellent, and highly trained prfessionals that know mexico like the back of their hand took us on various expeditions. You can visit the caves which are called Cenote , go to diving and snorkeling spots that remain unknown to the mainstream resorts.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naminator69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2010

we wanted to try something else from the usual crowded mexican beach resort and we ended up in the most unusual of places. It is quite a find in the Yucatan peninsula. A very hip and relaxing hotel with personalized attention. All the rooms were like your own private apartment . You might say at first sight that the decor and the surroundings are of a typical old fashioned hacienda but the space, the colors, the furnishings, the music, the food and the people are the opposite of traditional. The ambiance made us feel like we were so cool. ..We felt the warmth and the desire to please of the owners who paid close attention to our well being. Even though all we wanted was to stay put in this oasis we went to visit the charming village of Izamal nearby with its quaint arcaded main square and artisans boutiques and we loved it . The food at the hotel was so good that we ate there everyday and we appreciated the first class presentation. The atmosphere was unique and we definitely were with the in crowd. A stay to remember and to cherish.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.2 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
25 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
25.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
#2 of 2 in Tixkokob
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Sacnicte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Sacnicte

Property: Hacienda Sacnicte
Address: Carretera a Tekal de Venegas Km. 5, Izamal 97541, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Sacnicte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Sacnicte (white flower) is a truly unique, contemporary, luxurious, hip and secluded resort.To strike the balance between the 17th century and today, Philippe & Nadia have created an unforgettably serene atmosphere, to offer you a new reality of sophisticated vacations to spend with your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Sacnicte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing