We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My partner, daughter and I had a lovely two night stay at the hotel. The owners were welcoming, fed us well and suggested that we visit a nearby henequen hacienda (Sotuta de Peon) which turned out to be a highlight of our trip.

Izamal is a great base for touring Mayan ruins. We stayed one night at Chichen Itza and then moved on to Izamal but were we to do this over, we'd go straight from the Cancun airport to Izamal and use this as our base. We found the hotel at Chichen Itza to be too expensive, the food mediocre (at best). The only advantage was that we were at the ruins before the buses began to arrive at 11 am.

Next time we'll stay at the Santo Domingo. Our rooms were comfortable, the water hot, and the setting quite tranquil. The hotel has a nice pool and hammocks for relaxing.

We heartily recommend the Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    36
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
48
199
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

I can't add much more that hasn't already been said, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave nothing is too much trouble here. Our junior suite was spotless and the food superb, Izamal is delightful, don't be put off as you hit the outskirts of town, the centro is very pictureseque. An ideal base to see much of what yucatan really has to offer and a million miles away from the souless face of Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taks25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Live in playa del carmen and decided to do a road trip through the Yucatan, found this wonderful little town called izamal, when there went to internet place and did a search for hotels and found Santo Domingo. Stayed there one night it was so warm and inviting, the hosts were fantastic and so were the accomadations will be back, also the info for a place called Manne's Blergarten in Playa del carmen was excellent

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights at the end of march and cannot recommend this hotel enough! The hotel in izamal is well located to explore the beautiful town itself as well as all the well known ruins (chitzen itza, ditznup and el balam).. The owners and staff were helpful and genuinely nice people. The hotel is superb and we highly recommend you eat in when you can (the breakfasts are incredible and if you arrange a dinner it's better than anything in town)!! All in all, a very reasonably priced hotel, great service, lovely rooms... 5 stars!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuthandnothingbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Hotel Santo Domingo is a magical place in a magical city. We can only say the best about the hotel and the people. Our skillfully built junior suite had attractive, charming, very creative architectural details, air conditioning, an unexpectedly comfortable king size bed and open-air bathroom with separate toilet. The hotel is situated on a large peaceful acreage, just the right distance away from the city center. We enjoyed listening to the birds and the incredibly cute herd of sheep. The accommodation was gorgeous, the food delicious, and the owners and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Thank you Harold, Sonja, Reinhardt and Alde.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consuela1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metter, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2011

It is difficult to add anything to the great reviews that Hotel Romantico has gotten because they are all true. I stayed for two days in February when I was travelling with a friend and was so happy there that I returned alone and stayed almost two weeks. The stay gave me the opportunity to unwind from traveling so that I could return home rested, refreshed, and ready to resume everyday life. In other words travelling in the Yucatan followed by my stay at Hotel Romantico completed a perfect vacation.
It is difficult to describe how comfortable and welcoming this hotel/hacienda is but in a world of wonderful inns, B&Bs, small hotels,and guest quarters, Hotel Romantico and Izamal are not to be missed. And I add, breakfast is included in your stay and dinners are available by reservation.It is hands down the best food that I had on the entire trip. Sonja and Alde prepare all Mexican food by hand and Harald provides the European touch evident in the dinner menu. I even came home with some great recipes.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Ulis, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Everything was very good ! The room was very clean, the bedding confortable, good air conditionning, and possibility to put music in the room with choice of CDs. The owners were very nice, very open, very helpful. The madehome breakfast (close to a brunch) very good and generous! The swimming pool also good! No problems at all, very good location to have dinner intown. We recommand it !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty0685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.6 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.6 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Sacnicte
Hacienda Sacnicte
#3 of 5 in Izamal
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Property: Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing