We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Romantico, Attentive Owners, Good Food and Lush Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We loved our 3 days there, on the outskirts of Izamal, maybe the first beachhead of the Spanish church on the Yucatan Peninsula. This is where Diego de Landa destroyed almost all the Mayan tablets then did penance by writing an excellent book on them. The Convent outside town is huge with various chapels and the Black Christ figure. It was built with the stones from two Mayan temples the Spaniards tore down in the early 16th century. The unrestored remains are still there, with residential streets running around them in this fairly small, but quite interesting town. It is only less than an hour from Chichen Itza and a major cenote where my wife bathed. quite an adventure. Our Romantico owner, Harold and his wife were terrific and he drove us for a reasonable fee to Chichen Itza, the cenote and then back to Merida. We had a very nice room with hot water at the edge of the sprawling property, with lovely tropical flowers and large trees and many birds that we could watch from the deck in front of our room, while eating the scrumptious, healthy included breakfast, served early. We would always stay here. Eat at least once at Kinich, wonderful exotic food and a big Sunday hangout for local family dinners. Wonderful service also. Day of the Dead was spent in Izamal. Wonderful. Don't miss buying a Pibil on the road! Also, rooms had CD players. No TV

Room Tip: There are few rooms but if you can, get one at the edge of the lush greenery, where you can take bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickginnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santdomingo, Owner at Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you so much for you wonderful review, we appreciate very much your time to write about Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo and about your trip to Izamal. You have been great guests and we hope to see you again here in Izamal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

My friend and I booked based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Nice room with excellent twin beds, good pillows, and plenty of hot water. Free wifi in bar and breakfast area. Breakfast with fruit, croissants, eggs, etc. All for a very low price. The staff was friendly and welcomed us with a beer and a glass of wine. Need to drive into the center of town, but that was easy and parking readily available.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I came to Izamal more or less on a lark for one night. I would have stayed weeks if I could. Being on a budget I requested and received their most inexpensive cabin. It was very elegant. My private bathroom was located about 20 yards away. I could happily have lived in that bathroom. It was like a Mayan temple. All the other suites and rooms have ensuite bathrooms and are incredible. I am so happy that Sonia & Harald have allowed space for the more budget traveller. Although I think the other suites are very well priced. They include a "continental" breakfast that I considered more than full. And the coffee alone would bring me back!
Sonia & Harald have created a magical garden retreat. It feels like you are truly in the middle of Mexican ranch country - but you are a five minute walk to town, although there is no need to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JojoDaisyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I can only agree with the other reviewers - from the genuinely warm welcome to the beautiful grounds to our fabulous junior suite with outdoor shower, the 3 nights we spent here were among the most memorable of our trip.

The hotel is perfect for relaxing (it was very hard to tear ourselves away from the pool & the hammocks) but is also in a perfect location for exploring the region. In fact, had we known how much we'd love staying here, we'd have booked for longer and used it as a base for all our travels.

We also loved the food; breakfasts were delicious and dinners were so good that we decided to eat there every night, including having a cooking lesson on our last night.

All in all, I can't recommend this hotel enough - lovely people, amazing service, peaceful surroundings and fabulous food!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank staceyleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel property is part of an old hacienda located on the edge of Izamal. This history gave the place a feel you just cant get from something newly built.
We sunbaked in hammocks looking out over native bushland, swam in a pool that used to be the haciendas water storage. The dinning pulapa was where we ate, talked with our hosts and swung in more hammocks for our afternoon siesta. Looking over the pool, this is where holiday hours were well spent.
Food and service was casual and plentiful and very special due to our hosts vast experience.
In no time we were relaxed and comfortable in our surroundings. The dogs greeted us with waggings tails and feeding the sheeps after breakfast was a daily routine.
Our family of six shared 2 'romantic junior suites' which were private, beautifuly presented and each with a unique open air shower our daughters loved. All mod cons such as TV, music and AC were available.
The town of Izamal is a treat. Small, easy and full of life. I experienced my first Mayan Pyramid, close to the centre of town, with only my family and a couple of locals taking a short cut.
Sonia, Reinhard and Harald your hotel and Izamal should not be missed when in the Yacatan

Room Tip: The hotel is small ( in its favour ) with plenty of land. Every room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaniskool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Brilliant hotel, small but with great facilities and really warm owners, we felt well attended and helped, it would be a great place to base yourself for seeing many sites like Chichen Itza. The swiminh pool was relaxing after a day out in the sun. Breakfast was fantastic, and we really felt like friends staying with friends. In 3 weeks (tour of the peninsula) this was our favourite hotel, so thanks, and if we are back in the region, we'll stay again!

Room Tip: No preference, all rooms appear to be converted stables, clean, functional & with a sterio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have had three wonderful days and nights in this beautiful hotel. Built on an old ranch using the existing buildings standing in a large garden. The hosts Harald and Sonia have given us the best service during our trip through the Yucatan and especially the special attention was enormous. The set up of this hotel is unique. It is small which gave us the personal attention. We were surprised about the breakfast, but even more we were surprised by the excellent three-course dinner which was nicely given in the main building. We stayed one night at Casa Maya and two nights in two junior suites with our children. We have also seen the standard rooms. Everything here is tastefully decorated and that is shown in all details. We felt at home and with sadness we left our hosts, but we will be back.

Room Tip: Any room you choose is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.6 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.9 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#4 of 5 in Izamal
24 reviews
19 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#5 of 5 in Izamal
25 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Sacnicte
Hacienda Sacnicte
#3 of 5 in Izamal
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing