We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Beautiful grounds and very well designed rooms. I feel "rooms" is an inadequate description of the very large and inviting space that we enjoyed. The outdoor shower was fun and the sofas were very comfortable for watching tv or reading. A desk and cd player were also included. The morning breakfast was fabulous. The owners were very welcoming, kind and helpful. I loved the dogs and baby sheep. I just can't say enough good things about this relaxing accommodation. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco_1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    36
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
198
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

You wouldn't expext to find a place like this in Izamal!

The bungalows are located in a wonderful garden setting with pool and bar. The Junior Suite by far exceeds European standards regarding safety, cleanness and comfort and is beautifully equipped and decorated. The extensive and delicious breakfast included eggs of choice including local specialities, croissants and bread, a variety of fresh fruits plus fresh fruit juice and coffee/tea/chocolate. Our best choice was to have dinner there, too!

The owners and their staff were great. You can always have a nice chat with them and they do everything to make you feel at home.

Unfortunately, our route was already pre-planned, thus we could only spend one night at the Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo :-(

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We loved our 3 days there, on the outskirts of Izamal, maybe the first beachhead of the Spanish church on the Yucatan Peninsula. This is where Diego de Landa destroyed almost all the Mayan tablets then did penance by writing an excellent book on them. The Convent outside town is huge with various chapels and the Black Christ figure. It was built with the stones from two Mayan temples the Spaniards tore down in the early 16th century. The unrestored remains are still there, with residential streets running around them in this fairly small, but quite interesting town. It is only less than an hour from Chichen Itza and a major cenote where my wife bathed. quite an adventure. Our Romantico owner, Harold and his wife were terrific and he drove us for a reasonable fee to Chichen Itza, the cenote and then back to Merida. We had a very nice room with hot water at the edge of the sprawling property, with lovely tropical flowers and large trees and many birds that we could watch from the deck in front of our room, while eating the scrumptious, healthy included breakfast, served early. We would always stay here. Eat at least once at Kinich, wonderful exotic food and a big Sunday hangout for local family dinners. Wonderful service also. Day of the Dead was spent in Izamal. Wonderful. Don't miss buying a Pibil on the road! Also, rooms had CD players. No TV

Room Tip: There are few rooms but if you can, get one at the edge of the lush greenery, where you can take bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickginnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santdomingo, Owner at Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for you wonderful review, we appreciate very much your time to write about Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo and about your trip to Izamal. You have been great guests and we hope to see you again here in Izamal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My friend and I booked based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Nice room with excellent twin beds, good pillows, and plenty of hot water. Free wifi in bar and breakfast area. Breakfast with fruit, croissants, eggs, etc. All for a very low price. The staff was friendly and welcomed us with a beer and a glass of wine. Need to drive into the center of town, but that was easy and parking readily available.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I came to Izamal more or less on a lark for one night. I would have stayed weeks if I could. Being on a budget I requested and received their most inexpensive cabin. It was very elegant. My private bathroom was located about 20 yards away. I could happily have lived in that bathroom. It was like a Mayan temple. All the other suites and rooms have ensuite bathrooms and are incredible. I am so happy that Sonia & Harald have allowed space for the more budget traveller. Although I think the other suites are very well priced. They include a "continental" breakfast that I considered more than full. And the coffee alone would bring me back!
Sonia & Harald have created a magical garden retreat. It feels like you are truly in the middle of Mexican ranch country - but you are a five minute walk to town, although there is no need to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoDaisyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I can only agree with the other reviewers - from the genuinely warm welcome to the beautiful grounds to our fabulous junior suite with outdoor shower, the 3 nights we spent here were among the most memorable of our trip.

The hotel is perfect for relaxing (it was very hard to tear ourselves away from the pool & the hammocks) but is also in a perfect location for exploring the region. In fact, had we known how much we'd love staying here, we'd have booked for longer and used it as a base for all our travels.

We also loved the food; breakfasts were delicious and dinners were so good that we decided to eat there every night, including having a cooking lesson on our last night.

All in all, I can't recommend this hotel enough - lovely people, amazing service, peaceful surroundings and fabulous food!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel property is part of an old hacienda located on the edge of Izamal. This history gave the place a feel you just cant get from something newly built.
We sunbaked in hammocks looking out over native bushland, swam in a pool that used to be the haciendas water storage. The dinning pulapa was where we ate, talked with our hosts and swung in more hammocks for our afternoon siesta. Looking over the pool, this is where holiday hours were well spent.
Food and service was casual and plentiful and very special due to our hosts vast experience.
In no time we were relaxed and comfortable in our surroundings. The dogs greeted us with waggings tails and feeding the sheeps after breakfast was a daily routine.
Our family of six shared 2 'romantic junior suites' which were private, beautifuly presented and each with a unique open air shower our daughters loved. All mod cons such as TV, music and AC were available.
The town of Izamal is a treat. Small, easy and full of life. I experienced my first Mayan Pyramid, close to the centre of town, with only my family and a couple of locals taking a short cut.
Sonia, Reinhard and Harald your hotel and Izamal should not be missed when in the Yacatan

Room Tip: The hotel is small ( in its favour ) with plenty of land. Every room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaniskool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.6 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.6 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Sacnicte
Hacienda Sacnicte
#3 of 5 in Izamal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Property: Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing