We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home. With family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

An excellent option for a calm getaway, privately and comfortably. Sonia and Carlos are great hosts. They will make you feel at home every day.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

During our roundtrip we stood for 5 nights at the Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo. It turned out to be an oasis in Yucatan that we can full-heartedly recommend to everybody.

Izamal is a small town, yet beautiful with many nice spots to discover and well situated for day trips. You should not miss to get the tips on your planned trips by your hosts.

We enjoyed a stay in a beautiful designed romantic junior suite located on the garden-like property. We experienced fantastic days in an outstanding accommodation. Remarkable attention and love is spent on each and every detail being design, cleanness, food, and service. Although we are not the guys being eager to dinner at hotels, here one should definitely make an exception - we ranked the food the best we had during our entire round trip. Delicious dinner prepared by Sonia and Alde covers Yucatecan, Mexican to international dishes. Just discuss with Harald or Sonia in the morning what might be a nice dinner for you.....

To Harald & Co: Many thanks for your hospitality and our fantastic stay!

To readers: Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTTltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Beautiful grounds and very well designed rooms. I feel "rooms" is an inadequate description of the very large and inviting space that we enjoyed. The outdoor shower was fun and the sofas were very comfortable for watching tv or reading. A desk and cd player were also included. The morning breakfast was fabulous. The owners were very welcoming, kind and helpful. I loved the dogs and baby sheep. I just can't say enough good things about this relaxing accommodation. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coco_1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

You wouldn't expext to find a place like this in Izamal!

The bungalows are located in a wonderful garden setting with pool and bar. The Junior Suite by far exceeds European standards regarding safety, cleanness and comfort and is beautifully equipped and decorated. The extensive and delicious breakfast included eggs of choice including local specialities, croissants and bread, a variety of fresh fruits plus fresh fruit juice and coffee/tea/chocolate. Our best choice was to have dinner there, too!

The owners and their staff were great. You can always have a nice chat with them and they do everything to make you feel at home.

Unfortunately, our route was already pre-planned, thus we could only spend one night at the Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo :-(

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We loved our 3 days there, on the outskirts of Izamal, maybe the first beachhead of the Spanish church on the Yucatan Peninsula. This is where Diego de Landa destroyed almost all the Mayan tablets then did penance by writing an excellent book on them. The Convent outside town is huge with various chapels and the Black Christ figure. It was built with the stones from two Mayan temples the Spaniards tore down in the early 16th century. The unrestored remains are still there, with residential streets running around them in this fairly small, but quite interesting town. It is only less than an hour from Chichen Itza and a major cenote where my wife bathed. quite an adventure. Our Romantico owner, Harold and his wife were terrific and he drove us for a reasonable fee to Chichen Itza, the cenote and then back to Merida. We had a very nice room with hot water at the edge of the sprawling property, with lovely tropical flowers and large trees and many birds that we could watch from the deck in front of our room, while eating the scrumptious, healthy included breakfast, served early. We would always stay here. Eat at least once at Kinich, wonderful exotic food and a big Sunday hangout for local family dinners. Wonderful service also. Day of the Dead was spent in Izamal. Wonderful. Don't miss buying a Pibil on the road! Also, rooms had CD players. No TV

Room Tip: There are few rooms but if you can, get one at the edge of the lush greenery, where you can take bre...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickginnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santdomingo, Owner at Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you so much for you wonderful review, we appreciate very much your time to write about Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo and about your trip to Izamal. You have been great guests and we hope to see you again here in Izamal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My friend and I booked based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Nice room with excellent twin beds, good pillows, and plenty of hot water. Free wifi in bar and breakfast area. Breakfast with fruit, croissants, eggs, etc. All for a very low price. The staff was friendly and welcomed us with a beer and a glass of wine. Need to drive into the center of town, but that was easy and parking readily available.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I came to Izamal more or less on a lark for one night. I would have stayed weeks if I could. Being on a budget I requested and received their most inexpensive cabin. It was very elegant. My private bathroom was located about 20 yards away. I could happily have lived in that bathroom. It was like a Mayan temple. All the other suites and rooms have ensuite bathrooms and are incredible. I am so happy that Sonia & Harald have allowed space for the more budget traveller. Although I think the other suites are very well priced. They include a "continental" breakfast that I considered more than full. And the coffee alone would bring me back!
Sonia & Harald have created a magical garden retreat. It feels like you are truly in the middle of Mexican ranch country - but you are a five minute walk to town, although there is no need to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JojoDaisyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.6 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.6 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#4 of 5 in Izamal
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#5 of 5 in Izamal
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Jose
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Sacnicte
Hacienda Sacnicte
#3 of 5 in Izamal
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range: £47 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing