We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
Ranked #1 of 9 Izamal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The building has been beautifully restored and decorated. Our room was comfortable with a balcony overlooking the square (can be a bit loud in the mornings but you get a great view-it's a trade off). The only things we didn't like were that there was nowhere to put your clothes at all and the breakfast could have been much better than just toast. Despite this it was good value and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lingheadcrumple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PabloCastherr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Miguel Arcangel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thanks a lot for all your comments, we are glad that you had a great time. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We nearly didn't make it to Izamal as we missed the turning but it was definatley worth the detour we did. We parked on the town square to get something to eat andonly just noticed the well disguised sign for the hotel as we were driving away. We looked at a couple of cheaper options then went back and looked at a room. Very clean and well presented. Excellent quality linen, comfortable beds, central location. Breakfast ok, tea dreadful - hard to get a good cup of tea in Mexico but this was the worst! All up top stop, remains of ruins at back of property, helpful staff. Izamal town is just lovely too

Room Tip: We had Room 1 which was at the back on the first floor. No traffic noise but the dawn chorus from t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yachtbalvenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PabloCastherr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Miguel Arcangel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We are very greatful with your opinion about our hotel, we will definitly take the tea suggestion. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our beautiful town and Thanks for your comments, Have a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Izamal is magical in every corner and when we checked in at San Miguel Arcangel Hotel, the magic walked hand in hand with us inside this little jewel. The building is an old converted store house and the reception is located at the archway where the horsecarriages used to enter the property. Keep walking to the back of the patio and you´ll notice a hanging garden. The extraordinary thing is that the garden grows from the top of a massive mayan temple that can be visited by a passage way from the second floor of the hotel. However the surprise is not over yet as we found out that on top of the mayan temple, not only is there a large garden where to sit underneath a tree canopy, but a private area with a jacuzzi where one feels like mayan royalty in the times of Kinich Ahau. The magic is here under the stars and a bottle of cool Pinot Grigio. Salud!... Francisco Wimbledon.

Room Tip: Room 8 is my favorite for privacy, although room 3 is the one with the best view of the park and the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FranciscoW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PabloCastherr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Miguel Arcangel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We feel excited when we read that Izamal has been enjoyed in the best way possible. We will keep working in order to keep that feeling in our distinguished guests. Your comments are appreciated and we wont stop giving the magical service that you deserve.

Thanks for writting and greets from Izamal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel is right on the town square in Izamal, near the huge yellow monastery. The building incorporates parts of some historical buildings, both Colonial and Mayan, visible from the back balconies. Nice lobbies and sitting areas on both floors, even a koi pond inside the lower lobby. Parking on street only. Very large, nice, clean second-floor room with balcony. Air conditioning, plasma TV, hair dryer. Towels, soap and shampoo provided. But the shower barely worked with a tiny trickle of cold water, about 2 liters in 30 minutes. Enough for sponge bath only. No hot water in shower or sink. Free wi-fi in lobby, speed OK. Free bottle of water.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This budget hotel is a great find in downtown Izamal. The rooms are clean and well-equiped with wi-fi, TV, A/C, hot water, etc. Don't expect luxury, but it fits the average traveler's needs. Supposedly, breakfast is included, but we left around 7:00 a.m., so it must be served later in the morning.

Room Tip: The balcony room with a view of the plaza is worth the few extra pesos.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slaes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

A small town that's worth the time to stop in for a few days. From precolumbian to colonial, there's more to Izamal than yellow and you should stop by. Monestary/Convento is impressive, and if you ask the right people, there's more ruins in and around Izamal than most stops in the Yucatan. Good place to relax, somewhat quiet, not far from the Campeche side of the shoreline if you like migrating water fowl...but the Campeche side is not for the Caribbean snorkeling addict. The Hotel San Miguel Arcangel is right on the square a block from the Monestary, with a nice resturant, Los Mestizos, for the American tourist that needs to feel safe about what they eat...all on the menu is good, but the natives cook outdoors just around the corner and I would suggest that as well. The Hotel is very clean, staff is efficient, colonial style with all the room amenities. Izamal is small enough that everything happens on the square between the Hotel San Migual Arcangel and the Monestary. So check this place out.

Room Tip: Stay in the room with the second story balcony that overlooks the square.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Our room was clean, had "extras": cable TV, Wifi, soap, shampoo, hairdryer.. continental breakfast included. Modestly priced. Pleasant and professional staff. The hotel was converted from an old colonial mansion with a grand lounge area and large bedrooms overlooking the central square. The hotel is in the center of town overlooking the main plaza, next to shops and the market. Very convenient. The real secret of this hotel - they have a hot tub ON TOP OF A MAYAN PYRAMID!!! WOW - great after a day of walking to relax and watch the stars in complete privacy!.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cairn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izamal hotels
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.2 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#4 of 5 in Izamal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#5 of 5 in Izamal
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Ya'ax Ich
Posada Ya'ax Ich
#3 of 9 in Izamal
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Miguel Arcangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miguel Arcangel

Address: Calle 31-A no 308 entre 30, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Izamal
Price Range: £30 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Miguel Arcangel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Miguel Arcangel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing