We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best papadzules ever tasted”

Los Mestizos Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Izamal
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
“Best papadzules ever tasted”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Is a restaurant with perfect Yucatán food and service.
The place does not look as good as it tasted,but the food is exelent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
509 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Vegetarian friendly, and more "good" than average”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I don't know why Tripadvisor doesn't offer a "good" rating option, but that's what this place is. The woman who greeted me confirmed that they could accommodate vegetarian requirements, and even offered to substitute vegetables and rice for the egg that normally would have come in my stuffed tortillas! The food was good, and the service was friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“delicious, and original yucatecan food”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

No place, no place we have eaten in the nearly 3 months we've been in the Yucatan, caters to our no-red-meat needs. But this little restaurant does - it provides chicken alternatives to the traditional pork-based Yucatecan regional specialties. Its sopa de lima is excellent, too.... as are the margaritas. we had poc-chuuc (77 pesos), two sopas (40 pesos each), and a margarita (48 pesos). 10% service charge is automatically added.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LMilich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ouch ... shouldn't have ordered the drinks ...”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Ummm... so the service here is absolutely great. Lovely people, but the agua fresca (watermelon) really nailed us and we were out of commission for a good day or two. Too bad, we missed out on exploring the area as we had to be very near the restroom for 36 hrs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 23buglight23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
213 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Average restaurent nothing special”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Reasonable restaurant, food was ok, service fair, the restaurant lacked atmosphere, not a particularly memorable dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Mestizos Restaurant also viewed

 
Izamal, Yucatan
 

Been to Los Mestizos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing