We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming on first sight but filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Izamal B&B and Inns
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming on first sight but filthy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

On first site Macanche Bed and Breakfast looks very charming: romantic garden, nicely coloured outside walls. Sadly this impression is lost once you enter a room. The room we had was full of mosquitos, there were bugs in the toilet and the shower. The bed linen were old and stained and of some polyacryl. We had them changed, but the second set was no better! The shower did not really carry hot water - no matter how long you let it pour. We did not swim in the pool, as it was to dirty. We then wanted to sit in the chairs of the pool deck - but they were dirty. Then we tried the hammocks, but they were filthy.
The meal at night was quite ok but in comparison to the pollo pibil we had later in other places, it was poor as well.
A shame, as the guy at the reception was really friendly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SuMa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macanche, Manager at Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you Suzanne for your review and for bringing these things to our attention. We take pride in our place and our food and we will look into what happened during your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    86
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
148
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

A great place to kick back and relax. Beautiful gardens, nice rooms, friendly staff and a warm homelike welcome. Located within a short walk of downtown Izamal and the Convent. We really enjoyed this hotel. The lobby showed us the delightful garden and we enjoyed to play with the cats and the parrot!

This B&B is a good choice for those that wants to relax and take a break in the Yucatan. The B&B, itself, is an oasis with greats gardens. As soon as you get in you can smell the peace and the staff is very friendly and allways there to help you!

We had the Diego room, this is one of their new rooms, located in the ground floor of a beautiful building, Hacienda style, in the rear of the property. The painting on the wall is a replica of Los Alcatraces of Diego Rivera. We had 2 double beds, with air conditioning, ceiling and floor fans, a spacious bathroom with hot water and a shower with a bathtub of great size. We also have a terrace with a hammock and a view of the beautiful garden! GREAT CHOICE!!!

All that said, the breakfast was perfect and it gives you energy to go discover the amazing Yucatan!

Thanks to Miguel and all the staff to make our vacations unforgettable!

I hope to see you soon again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio_Mongelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and liked it very much. The staff was helpful (city map, places to eat, sights, supermarkets, ...). We decided to eat dinner at macanchés, which was a good choice. Good breakfast in the morning and just a few minutes from the city center. We enjoyed to chill in the pool and talk to the parrot and the cats. Wifi worked perfectly in the lobby. Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The heat of the day in the midst of the Yucatan makes the pool a must stop.The rooms are oversized in that way that some Norte Americos build in Mexico, though I'm not complaining. Upkeep to the grounds is constant and lovely. The restaurant serves an excellent Chilean wine and breakfast in plentiful. The WiFi doesn't really work; it seems to only click as one passes the proprietors' house. But, hey, we're in Mexico, and should be disconnected. This is a great spot for relaxing exporing the nearby cenotes, ruinas and other sites.

Room Tip: Get a new room in the back. Make sure it's not under construction. It wasn't when we were th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This place was in a lovely setting, with gardens and small porches on each cabin. However, the bedding was threadbare, porch chairs broken and dirty, and it all seemed a little run-down. Also quite a walk from town, especially in the dark. Free parking is pitch dark at night with no gate. It was the first time in our 2 week trip to the Yucatan where we felt unsafe. The breakfasts and one dinner were very good, like having a private cook just for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very charming bed and breakfast in a nice Mexican town. The food is excellent and the the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Do not expect great luxury but a cosy friendly family style B&B. Strongly recommended when you visit Izmalal!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was a great little hideaway in a quiet little town. The food at macan che was great and so were the facilities. I would recommend renting a bike in town and doing a bike tour of the 5 mayan ruins, we had several of the places to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylem77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izamal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Izamal
Hotel Hacienda Izamal
#5 of 7 in Izamal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle 22 x 33 y 35, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Macanche is your tropical oasis in the land of the Maya. We have 12 uniquely decorated bungalows scattered throughout our tropical gardens and 2 houses for big groups or long-term rentals. We serve a full breakfast every morning and also offer yoga, massage and other services. Surprise yourself in charming Izamal where the pyramids are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macanche Izamal
Hotel Macanche Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing