We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel to beautiful Mayan City and find a small gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Izamal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently traveled to Izamal for the concert of Janni and decided to stay overnight. Not expecting to find reservations or a hotel, we were lucky to get a room at Macan Che. What a pleasant surprise. The B&B is very well laid out, the rooms are separate cabanas, quite, big and roomy, excellent beds, and a nice hot shower. Breakfast is excellent, food if you care for lunch or dinner is home cooked and very good. Drinks are of quality and a fair price. The gardens are very nice, and the pool very relaxing. It is an imitation of a Cenote. Service, could not ask for more, very friendly and helpful. The city is a real treasure, try to enjoy two easy days visiting, eating at local tipical restaurants which are a real treat, as are the Mayan ruins within the city. A visit to Don Esteban and his Jewlery made from palm fruit is a must. The small cities where you can buy tipical guayaberas and dresses are recommended, great quality, designs and prices. Enjoy, there is a lot to visit and live. Izamal is where Pope JPII came on his trip to Merida and Yucatan. The local destilleria makes one of the best licours from the pineapple of the Henequen maguey, well worth the try, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FDG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent only one night at Macanche B & B, but it was a night well spent. The grounds are a jungle, they are well cared for and beautiful. The grounds have a nice pool, a public area with wi-fi and cats to entertain you. The breakfast was good, with a nice selection of entrees. The employees are friendly and efficient. English was bit of a problem, so be prepared. The room we stayed in, Hawaii, was clean and comfortable. Be aware that the shower/tub is difficult to get into and out of, the tile floor can be slippery when wet. So, look at the bathroom in each room and decide if it fits your needs. We really liked the B & B and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Izamal. This is real Mexico, not the USA.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We loved this place. We slept so well on a great mattress. Our breakfast was delicious and service great. Enjoyed the pool and the well kept grounds. They kept us cool. Totally fell in love with Izamal and did a great day trip to some outstanding cenotes in Cuzama. We ended up staying an extra day here in Macan Che.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue cabana, Orientel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very nice place, excellent service, quiet tropical garden, nice swimming pool, plenty of cats, excellent breakfast and restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights in the Safari Suit for 94 USD / night (taxes included), with a large bedroom with 2 single beds and a queen size one for our two kids and us. The kids loved the place and really enjoyed exploring the garden, where they could get lost in total security. Would probably deserve some renovation at some point, and a change and in the themes (why a Safari in Yucatan, with girafs and all?) but overall it's very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at Macan Che for 4 peaceful nights at the end of August. The grounds are beautiful, lush, and jungle-y... which you'd never guess was hidden behind the door when standing on the outside of the property. Opening the door to this gorgeous setting was an incredible sight for sore eyes and travel-weary bodies.

The open-air registration/breakfast/lounge area is great respite from the heat or afternoon showers that may pop up. [Incidentally, I don't usually like to think of rain on vacation being a good thing, but these showers are actually quite welcome as they really help cool things off... in fact, I kind of missed it one of the days we were there and it didn't rain. Ha!] There's a natural rock bottom pool (with shaded hammocks off to the side) which is so refreshing for an afternoon dip. Each room on the property is unique and the staff can help you pick the one best suited for your needs prior to your arrival. With some exceptions, the rooms are on the small side, but A) are certainly sufficient and don't feel cramped, and B) with so much to explore, you shouldn't be spending that much time in your room anyway.

The staff and owners are very accommodating, are helpful in suggesting good things to do for the day (should you need ideas), and make a seriously delicious margarita. Also, the food was excellent! Breakfast is way more food than we would usually eat, but kept us full for hours as we explored around Izamal and climbed up to the top of Kinich Kak Mo (one of the ruins in town). They don't serve lunch, and request that you give them about an hour heads up for dinner as everything is prepared fresh. Yum.

All in all, Macan Che was a most excellent pick for our stay in Izamal. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were road weary and didn't want to stay in town although there a good little hotels there. We knocked on the door set in the high wall surrounding Macan che. and were wowed when it opened into a lush tropical garden. A thatched walk led us into the open-air lobby and paths amid burgeoning flora. We were shown a large comfy room next to the lobby. Very romantic with mosquito netting which proved a little daunting to get used to, but all part of the Mexican adventure. Next we decided to have a swim as it was hot and we had just driven from Merida. OMG it was a cenote pool surrounded by jungle. If you have never been in a cenote pool, let me say, its a real treat. Crystal clear and gently layered to the deepest end. Not a lap pool, but definitely made for Jane & Tarzan. there is a shady gazebo with heavenly hammocks at one end, loungers, and a clean changing and toilet room so you don't have to go back to your cabina. You can go to the lobby/restaurant and order drinks and tacos etc. to take out to the pool. We had planned to stay just one night, but stayed three days just hanging out by the pool most of the day relaxing after the rigors of cllimbing a couple of pyramids into and checking out the museum & convento. The food was most excellent also. Breakfast amid the jungle and with friendly cats was a delight. Dinner also. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Cenote pool worth the detour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernardette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We opted for the large jungle room with 4 beds with jungle print accessories and wooden sculptures. This was actually our 2nd time in 6 years. I love the tropical flowers, trees and exotic plants. The kids who are now between 10 and 12, still enjoyed exploring the grounds, seeing the parrots and cats, and swimming in the unique pool. A TV was not missed by the kids nor the adults. Breakfast was also a hit. They served a choice of hot chocolate, tea or coffee with fresh fruit and juice. Then we ordered the main dish. The service was efficient, polite and relaxed at the same time.
One 12 year old boy who was traveling with us said that he would tip the maids 3000 pesos because he thought it was a great room, that is if he had the money.
The hotel is a few short blocks from the town square. It is convenient to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yucataneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.3 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.7 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#4 of 5 in Izamal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#5 of 5 in Izamal
25 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Jose
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle 22 x 33 y 35, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Izamal
Price Range: £38 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Macanche is your tropical oasis in the land of the Maya. We have 12 uniquely decorated bungalows scattered throughout our tropical gardens and 2 houses for big groups or long-term rentals. We serve a full breakfast every morning and also offer yoga, massage and other services. Surprise yourself in charming Izamal where the pyramids are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macanche Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Macanche Izamal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing